advertisement
Ecology 亚博棋牌平台
November 10, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Researchers Develop DNA Approach to Forecast Ecosystem Changes

The rapid, low-cost technique is the first to analyze DNA left behind in animals' feces to map out complex networks of species interactions in a terrestrial system. It could help redefine ...

Dolphins Ride out Dietary Ups and Downs

More evidence has emerged to support stricter coastal management, this time focusing on pollution and overfishing in the picturesque tourist waters off Auckland in New Zealand. A study of common ...

Climate Change and Food Demand Could Shrink Species' Habitats by Almost a Quarter by 2100

Mammals, birds and amphibians worldwide have lost on average 18% of their natural habitat range as a result of changes in land use and climate ...

Eradicating Black Rats on Palmyra Atoll Uncovers Eye-Opening Indirect Effects

The black rats weren't supposed to be there, on Palmyra Atoll. Likely arriving at the remote Pacific islet network as stowaways with the US Navy ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:07pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

The Ecology of Crop Pests

Ecological theory provides insights on pesticide use in ...

Eco-Engineered Tiles Enhance Marine Biodiversity on Seawalls

Marine ecologists have found that the eco-engineered tiles can increase habitat complexity on seawalls in Hong Kong, thereby effectively enhancing the marine biodiversity. The Hong Kong study is part ...

Coral Larvae Movement Is Paused in Reaction to Darkness

A new study shows that coral larvae swimming in seawater behave in such a manner so as to temporarily stop swimming due to reduced light, especially blue light. Researchers think that this behavior ...

From Nitrate Crisis to Phosphate Crisis?

The aim of the EU Nitrates Directive is to reduce nitrates leaking into the environment and to prevent pollution of water supplies. The widely accepted view is that this will help protect threatened ...

Decades-Long Effort Revives Ancient Oak Woodland

Vestal Grove in Cook County, Illinois, looks nothing like the scrubby, buckthorn-choked tangle that first confronted restoration ecologists 37 years ago. Thanks to the efforts of a dedicated team ...

Wildlife Flock to Backyards for Food from People

A new study helps explain why some animals are sometimes more often found in suburban areas than wild ...

Land Management in Forest and Grasslands: How Much Can We Intensify?

Intensive land-use reduces beneficial effects of biodiversity on ecosystem services. It assessed the effects of land management on the links between biodiversity, ecosystem functions and ecosystem ...

The Uncertain Future of the Oceans

Marine food webs and biogeochemical cycles react very sensitively to the increase in carbon dioxide (CO2) - but the effects are far more complex than previously thought. Data were combined from five ...

Hidden Losses Deep in the Amazon Rainforest

New research shows that animal patterns are changing in the absence of landscape change, which signals a sobering warning that simply preserving forests will not maintain rainforest ...

Shifts in Flowering Phases of Plants Due to Reduced Insect Density

A research group has discovered that insects have a decisive influence on the biodiversity and flowering phases of plants. If there is a lack of insects where the plants are growing, their flowering ...

Metal Deposits from Chinese Coal Plants End Up in the Pacific Ocean

Emissions from coal-fired power plants in China are fertilizing the North Pacific Ocean with a metal nutrient important for marine life, according to new findings from a research team. The ...

Soil Fungi Act Like a Support Network for Trees

New research is first to show that growth rate of adult trees is linked to fungal networks colonizing their ...

Declines in Shellfish Species on Rocky Seashores Match Climate-Driven Changes

Mussels, barnacles, and snails are declining in the Gulf of Maine, according to a new article by biologists. Their 20-year dataset reveals that the populations' steady dwindling matches up with ...

Tiny Beetles a Bellwether of Ecological Disruption by Climate Change

New research shows that as species across the world adjust where they live in response to climate change, they will come into competition with other species that could hamper their ability to keep up ...

Trees Bring Benefits to Society, Regardless of Their Origin

Trees planted in urban spaces provide a multitude of ecosystem and social services. At the same time, trees can be a source of inconveniences. Scientists have analyzed trees found in the Geneva ...

Australian Carp Virus Plan 'Dead in the Water'

Plans to release a virus to reduce numbers of invasive Common Carp in Australia are unlikely to work and should be dropped, researchers ...

Fuels, Not Fire Weather, Control Carbon Emissions in Boreal Forest

A team has found that the amount of carbon that burns in wildfires in western boreal forests depends more on available fuels than on fire weather such as drought conditions, temperature, or ...

Environmental Impacts of Pot Fishing

The findings of new research go against previous thinking around the damage caused by pot fishing to the ...

Crayfish 'Trapping' Fails to Control Invasive Species

Despite being championed by a host of celebrity chefs, crayfish 'trapping' is not helping to control invasive American signal crayfish, according to new ...

Rainforest Model Offers Glimpse Into Future of the Amazon

Tropical Forests may be more resilient to climate change than previously thought, according to ecologists. The results help solve an ongoing debate about the mechanism responsible for declines in ...

Monday, November 9, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020