advertisement
Floods 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Mass Extinctions of Land-Dwelling Animals Occur in 27-Million-Year Cycle

Mass extinctions of land-dwelling animals--including amphibians, reptiles, mammals, and birds -- follow a cycle of about 27 million years, coinciding with previously reported mass extinctions of ...

Temporal Crop Diversity Stabilizes Agricultural Production

Securing food supplies around the globe is a challenge facing humanity, especially in light of the predicted increase in the world's population and the effects of climate change. Greater crop ...

Once in a Lifetime Floods to Become Regular Occurrences by End of Century

Superstorm Sandy brought flood-levels to the New York region that had not been seen in generations. Now, due to the impact of climate change, researchers have found that 100-year and 500-year flood ...

Jaguars Robust to Climate Extremes but Lack of Food Threatens Species

Researchers lead a world-first investigation into the chances of wild jaguars surviving climate extremes with six scenarios modelling the behavior, mating, births of cubs, competition, illegal ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:37pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Polar Ice, Atmospheric Water Vapor Biggest Drivers of Variation Among Climate Models

Researchers have found varying projections on global warming trends put forth by climate change scientists can be explained by differing models' predictions regarding ice loss and atmospheric ...

Coastal Flooding Will Disproportionately Impact 31 Million People Globally

Researchers analyzed these geographic regions, which include cities like New Orleans, Bangkok, and Shanghai, using a new global dataset to determine how many people live on river deltas, how many are ...

Rivers May Begin Jumping Course Much Farther in the Coming Years

A river's only consistent attribute is change. As the Greek philosopher Heraclitus remarked, 'No man ever steps in the same river twice.' Although this dynamic nature is often out of ...

New Woodlands Can Help Reduce Flooding Risk Within 15 Years

New research suggests the planting of more trees could have a significant and positive effect in preventing flash ...

Flood Risks: More Accurate Data Due to COVID-19

Emerging use of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) makes it possible to continuously measure shallow changes in elevation of Earth surface. A study now shows that the quality of these ...

Developing Models to Predict Storm Surges

Storm surges sometimes can increase coastal sea levels 10 feet or more, jeopardizing communities and businesses along the water, but new research shows there may be a way to predict periods when ...

The Potential of Green Infrastructure in Mitigating Flood Impacts: Focused on the Mobility of Low Income and Minority Comunities

This research advances national U.S. methods for assessing flood vulnerability and prioritizing transportation improvement investments, to ensure that no community is left stranded when the next ...

Scientists Unlock Crops' Power to Resist Floods

Foundational science has discovered the molecular structure of plant enzymes that could be manipulated to create flood-resistant crops, vital as weather events become more extreme due to global ...

Sea Level Rise from Ice Sheets Track Worst-Case Climate Change Scenario

Ice sheets in Greenland and Antarctica whose melting rates are rapidly increasing have raised the global sea level by 1.8cm since the 1990s, and are matching the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate ...

Land Use Change Leads to Increased Flooding in Indonesia

While high greenhouse gas emissions and biodiversity loss are often associated with rapid land-use change in Indonesia, impacts on local water cycles have been largely overlooked. Researchers now ...

Contagion Model Predicts Flooding in Urban Areas

Inspired by the same modeling and mathematical laws used to predict the spread of pandemics, researchers have created a model to accurately forecast the spread and recession process of floodwaters in ...

Sea-Level Rise Linked to Higher Water Tables Along California Coast

Researchers modeled the effects of rising sea levels along the California coast. While results varied with local topography, the study indicates an increased threat to populated areas already at risk ...

New Research Will Improve Early Warning of Devastating Megastorms

Scientific research will make it easier to predict the path of some of the world's most powerful storms, enabling communities to better protect themselves from severe flooding. A new study has ...

Sea-Level Rise Could Make Rivers More Likely to Jump Course

River avulsions -- catastrophic floods triggered when a river charts a new path to the sea -- could occur more frequently on rivers as sea levels ...

California's Sinking Coastal Hotspots

Using precise measurements from state-of-the-art satellite-based radar that can detect the land surface rise and fall with millimeter accuracy, a research team has, for the first time, tracked the ...

Eavesdropping on Trout Building Their Nests

Steelhead trout stirring up the sediment of the river bed were detected by seismic sensors. Researchers have used geophones to analyze the trout's nest-building process in ...

Flood Data from 500 Years: Rivers and Climate Change in Europe

Studying historical documents from 5 centuries, scientists were able to compare flood events from the past with recent flood events in Europe. This combination of historical and hydrological research ...

How Hurricane Lane Brought Fire and Rain to Hawaiian Islands

Researchers detail the compounding hazards -- fire and rain -- produced by Hurricane Lane in August ...

River Plants Counter Both Flooding and Drought to Protect Biodiversity

'Water plants are a nuisance in streams, blocking the flow. You should remove them'. This notion has for many years determined how streams were managed to prevent flooding during high ...

Scientists Predict Dramatic Increase in Flooding, Drought in California

California may see a 54 percent increase in rainfall variability by the end of this century, according to research from an atmospheric ...

Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 9, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019