advertisement
Geology 亚博棋牌平台
October 27, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Back to the Future of Climate

Hot and humid: Using minerals from ancient soils, researchers are reconstructing the climate that prevailed on Earth some 55 million years ago. Their findings will help them to better assess how our ...

Large Tides May Have Driven Evolution of Fish Towards Life on Land

Big tidal ranges some 400 million years ago may have initiated the evolution of bony fish and land vertebrates. This theory is now supported by researchers who, for the first time, have used ...

Ancient Lake Contributed to Past San Andreas Fault Ruptures

The San Andreas fault, which runs along the western coast of North America and crosses dense population centers like Los Angeles, California, is one of the most-studied faults in North America ...

A New Way of Looking at the Earth's Interior

Current understanding is that the chemical composition of the Earth's mantle is relatively homogeneous. But experiments now show that this view is too simplistic. Their results solve a key problem ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Stressed out Volcanoes More Likely to Collapse and Erupt

An international study has discovered how volcanoes experience stress. The study has implications for how the world might be better protected against future volcano ...

Scientist Gains Fresh Insight Into the Origins of Earthquakes

The speed and intensity with which seismic waves propagate after an earthquake depend mainly on forces occurring deep inside the rocks along a fault line, according to a new study. His sophisticated ...

Geologists Solve Puzzle That Could Predict Valuable Rare Earth Element Deposits

Pioneering new research has helped geologists solve a long-standing puzzle that could help pinpoint new, untapped concentrations of some the most valuable rare earth ...

Polar Ice, Atmospheric Water Vapor Biggest Drivers of Variation Among Climate Models

Researchers have found varying projections on global warming trends put forth by climate change scientists can be explained by differing models' predictions regarding ice loss and atmospheric ...

Unusually Shallow Earthquake Ruptures in Chinese Fracking Field

An unusually shallow earthquake triggered by hydraulic fracturing in a Chinese shale gas field could change how experts view the risks of fracking for faults that lie very near the Earth's ...

Diamonds Found With Gold in Canada's Far North Offer Clues to Earth's Early History

The presence of diamonds in an outcrop atop an unrealized gold deposit in Canada's Far North mirrors the association found above the world's richest gold mine, according to University of ...

Earth Grows Fine Gems in Minutes

Some of Earth's finest gemstones grew in a matter of minutes. Geologists made that discovery while investigating mineral formations that are rich in lithium and rare ...

Who Is Driving Whom? Climate and Carbon Cycle in Perpetual Interaction

The current climate crisis underlines that carbon cycle perturbations can cause significant climate change. New research reveals how carbon cycle and global climate have been interacting throughout ...

Stellar Explosion in Earth's Proximity, Eons Ago

When the brightness of the star Betelgeuse dropped dramatically a few months ago, some observers suspected an impending supernova - a stellar explosion that could also cause damage on Earth. While ...

Someday, Even Wet Forests Could Burn Due to Climate Change

While today's fires are exacerbated by dry conditions, researchers found that forest fires 94 million years ago increased even in wet regions due to changes in global ...

Lessons from a Cooling Climate

Usually, talk of carbon sequestration focuses on plants: forests storing carbon in the trunks of massive trees, algae blooming and sinking to the seabed, or perhaps peatlands locking carbon away for ...

How Earthquake Swarms Arise

A new fault simulator maps out how interactions between pressure, friction and fluids rising through a fault zone can lead to slow-motion quakes and seismic ...

Flood Risks: More Accurate Data Due to COVID-19

Emerging use of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) makes it possible to continuously measure shallow changes in elevation of Earth surface. A study now shows that the quality of these ...

Uncovering New Understanding of Earth's Carbon Cycle

A new study is examining the Earth's carbon cycle in new depth, using diamonds as breadcrumbs of insight into some of Earth's deepest geologic ...

Seismic Data Explains Continental Collision Beneath Tibet

New imagery reveals the causes of seismic activity deep beneath the Himalaya region, contributing to an ongoing debate over the continental collision process when two tectonic plates crash into each ...

Living in an Anoxic World: Microbes Using Arsenic Are a Link to Early Life

Much of life on planet Earth today relies on oxygen to exist, but before oxygen was present on our blue planet, lifeforms likely used arsenic ...

Undersea Earthquakes Shake Up Climate Science

Sound generated by seismic events on the seabed can be used to determine the temperature of Earth's warming ...

Indian Monsoon Can Be Predicted Better After Volcanic Eruptions

Large volcanic eruptions can help to forecast the monsoon over India - the seasonal rainfall that is key for the country's agriculture and thus for feeding one billion people. As erratic as they ...

Formation of the Alps: Detaching and Uplifting, Not Bulldozing

Researchers have used a computer model to test a new hypothesis about the formation of the Alps while simulating seismic activity in Switzerland. This will help improve current earthquake risk ...

Modern Theory from Ancient Impacts

It is generally accepted that the inner region of the early solar system was subject to an intense period of meteoric bombardment referred to as the late heavy bombardment. However, researchers have ...

Friday, October 16, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020