advertisement
Oceanography 亚博棋牌平台
December 10, 2020

Top Headlines
 

One-Two Punch: Sea Urchins Stuck Belly-Up in Low-Oxygen Hot Water

Low oxygen seawater (hypoxia) may be more stressful to reef organisms than high water temperatures and ocean acidity, which are usually considered the most serious stressors associated with global ...

Newly Discovered Greenland Plume Drives Thermal Activities in the Arctic

A team of researchers understands more about the melting of the Greenland ice sheet. They discovered a flow of hot rocks, known as a mantle plume, rising from the core-mantle boundary beneath central ...

Coasts Drown as Coral Reefs Collapse Under Warming and Acidification

The coastal protection coral reefs currently provide will start eroding by the end of the century, as the world continues to warm and the oceans acidify. The rate of erosion of calcium carbonate on ...

Researchers Discover Life in Deep Ocean Sediments at or Above Water's Boiling Point

Biologists found single-celled organisms living in sediments 1180 meters beneath the ocean at temperatures of 120 degrees ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:07pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Satellite Tag Tracks Activity Levels of Highly Migratory Species Across the Vast Ocean

Scientists have released a new activity data product application for marine animal tracking. The technology is designed to remotely track and transmit data gathered on an animal's activity ...

No Poaching Occurring Within Most Channel Islands Marine Protected Areas

Fish are thriving and poachers are staying out of marine protected areas around California's Channel Islands, a new population analysis ...

What Will the Climate Be Like When Earth's Next Supercontinent Forms?

In roughly 200 million years, the continents will once again unite into a supercontinent. A new study explores how the next Pangea could affect the global ...

Plastic Contaminants Harm Sea Urchins

Plastics in the ocean can release chemicals that cause deformities in sea urchin larvae, new research ...

Even Razor Clams on Sparsely Populated Olympic Coast Can't Escape Plastics

Researchers found microplastics in Pacific razor clams on Washington's sparsely populated Olympic Coast -- proof, they say, that even in more remote regions, coastal organisms can't escape ...

How Stable Is the Antarctic Ice Sheet?

As temperatures rise due to climate change, the melting of polar ice sheets is accelerating. An international team of scientists has now examined the dynamics of the East Antarctic Ice Sheet more ...

Ice Sheets on the Move: How North and South Poles Connect

Over the past 40,000 years, ice sheets thousands of kilometers apart have influenced one another through sea level changes, according to new research. New modelling of ice sheet changes during the ...

A Rich Source of Nutrients Under the Earth's Ice Sheets

Trace elements such as iron and zinc are essential micronutrients for all kinds of organisms. Below ice sheets, which cover around ten percent of the Earth's land surface, larger quantities of ...

Largest Aggregation of Fishes in Abyssal Deep Sea

The largest aggregation of fishes ever recorded in the abyssal deep sea was discovered by a team of oceanographers during an expedition in the Clarion Clipperton ...

Shift in Atmospheric Rivers Could Affect Antarctic Sea Ice, Glaciers

Weather systems responsible for transporting moisture from the tropics to temperate regions in the Southern Hemisphere have been gradually shifting toward the South Pole for the past 40 years, a ...

U.S.-European Mission Launches to Monitor the World's Oceans

The Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich satellite will extend a nearly 30-year continuous dataset on sea level collected by an ongoing collaboration of U.S. and European satellites while enhancing weather ...

Polar Climate Affects Trade Wind Strength in Tropics

The impact of sea surface temperature variations in the tropical Pacific on global climate has long been recognized. For instance, the episodic warming of the tropical Pacific during El Niño events ...

New Report Projects Severe Coral Bleaching Globally in This Century

The United Nations recently released a new report projecting future coral reef bleaching ...

Could Kelp Help Relieve Ocean Acidification?

A new analysis of California's Monterey Bay evaluates kelp's potential to reduce ocean acidification, the harmful fallout from climate change on marine ecosystems and the food they produce ...

Study Improves Ability to Predict How Whales Travel Through Their Ocean Habitat

Scientists recently published a study that could help researchers learn where protections are needed the most for bowhead ...

Large Predatory Fish Thrive on WWII Shipwrecks Off North Carolina Coast

Results of an expedition to a sunken U-boat and Nicaraguan freighter offer a detailed glimpse into unexpected 'islands of ...

Holes in Greenland Ice Sheet Are Larger Than Previously Thought

An expedition finds that holes in the Greenland ice sheet, called moulins, are much larger than previously ...

Reducing Aerosol Pollution Without Cutting Carbon Dioxide Could Make the Planet Hotter

Humans must reduce carbon dioxide and aerosol pollution simultaneously to avoid weakening the ocean's ability to keep the planet cool, new research ...

Fish Carcasses Deliver Toxic Mercury Pollution to the Deepest Ocean Trenches

The sinking carcasses of fish from near-surface waters deliver toxic mercury pollution to the most remote and inaccessible parts of the world's oceans, including the deepest spot of them all: ...

Study Reconstructs Ancient Storms to Help Predict Changes in Tropical Cyclone Hotspot

New research reveals that tropical cyclones were actually more frequent in the southern Marshall Islands during the Little Ice Age, when temperatures in the Northern Hemisphere were cooler than they ...

Friday, December 4, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Monday, November 23, 2020
Sunday, November 22, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Saturday, November 7, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Sunday, October 18, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020