advertisement
Pollution 亚博棋牌平台
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Marine Biology: Sponges as Biomonitors of Micropollution

Sponges are filter feeders that live on particulate matter -- but they can also ingest microscopic fragments of plastics and other pollutants of anthropogenic origin. They can therefore serve as ...

War on Plastic Is Distracting from More Urgent Threats to Environment, Experts Warn

A team of leading environmental experts have warned that the current war on plastic is detracting from the bigger threats to the ...

Legacy Pollutants Found in Migratory Terns in Great Lakes Region

Chemicals that haven't been manufactured in the U.S. for years or even decades are still turning up in the bodies of migratory terns in the Great Lakes region, a new study finds. The research focused ...

Severe Air Pollution Drives Food Delivery Consumption and Plastic Waste

When the air outside is bad, office workers are more likely to order food delivery than go out for lunch, which in turn increases plastic waste from food packaging, according to a study by ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Plastics Threat to South Pacific Seabirds Confirmed

Plastic gathered from remote corners of the South Pacific Ocean, including nesting areas of New Zealand albatrosses, has confirmed the global threat of plastic pollution to ...

Trees and Lawns Beat the Heat

As climate change pushes many cities towards dangerous temperatures, planners are scrambling to mitigate excessive heat. One strategy is to replace artificial surfaces with vegetation cover. In ...

People Can Do More Than Use Less Plastic to Help Save the Great Barrier Reef

There are many threats to Australia's Great Barrier Reef - cyclones, shipping, crown-of-thorns starfish - but QUT researchers say climate change is its worst enemy. Yet a survey they conducted ...

Australian Valley a 'Natural Laboratory' to Test Carbon Sequestration Theory

An idea to enhance natural carbon capture from olivine weathering has never been tested at scale. Geoscientists have proposed the Tweed Valley as a laboratory and gained some interesting initial ...

School Absences Correlate to Impaired Air Quality

In Salt Lake City schools, absences rise when the air quality worsens, and it's not just in times of high pollution or 'red' air quality days -- even days following lower levels of ...

Urban Air Pollution May Make COVID-19 More Severe for Some

As the pandemic persists, COVID-19 has claimed more than 200,000 lives in the United States and damaged the public health system and economy. Researchers have found that long-term exposure to urban ...

Evidence of Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and MND in Brains of Young People Exposed to Dirty Air

After examining the brainstems of 186 young Mexico City residents aged between 11 months and 27 years of age, researchers, found markers not only of Alzheimer's disease, but also of ...

Climate-Friendly Cooling to Help Ease Global Warming

A new study shows that coordinated international action on energy-efficient, climate-friendly cooling could avoid as much as 600 billion tons CO2 equivalent of greenhouse gas emissions in this ...

Dust Dampens Albedo Effect, Spurs Snowmelt in the Heights of the Himalayas

Dust blowing onto high mountains in the western Himalayas is a bigger factor than previously thought in hastening the melting of snow there, researchers show. That's because dust - lots of it in ...

800 Million Children Still Exposed to Lead

Every third child in the world has too much lead in their body, according to a new report from UNICEF and Pure ...

Marine Heatwaves Can Strengthen Hurricanes

Oceanographers have found that a hurricane can be considerably strengthened in the Gulf of Mexico through the compounding effects of two extreme weather events. This process could continue in the ...

How Urban Grime Affects Chemical Reactions in Cities

Many city surfaces are coated with a layer of soot, pollutants, metals, organic compounds and other molecules known as'urban grime.' Chemical reactions that occur in this complex milieu can ...

Many Ventilation Systems May Increase Risk of COVID-19 Exposure, Study Suggests

Ventilation systems in many modern office buildings, which are designed to keep temperatures comfortable and increase energy efficiency, may increase the risk of exposure to the coronavirus, ...

Are China's Pollution Remediation Efforts Making the Planet Warmer?

A 10-year effort by China to improve air quality and reduce pollution-related health risks has caused warming in areas across the northern hemisphere, according to new ...

Achieving Clean Air for All Is Possible, Experts Say

A new study however shows that it is possible to achieve clean air worldwide with fundamental transformations of today's practices in many sectors, supported by strong political ...

The same team who re-engineered the plastic-eating enzyme PETase have now created an enzyme 'cocktail' which can digest plastic up to six times ...

Tree Rings Show Scale of Arctic Pollution Is Worse Than Previously Thought

The largest-ever study of tree rings from Norilsk in the Russian Arctic has shown that the direct and indirect effects of industrial pollution in the region and beyond are far worse than previously ...

New Way of Analyzing Soil Organic Matter Will Help Predict Climate Change

A new way of analyzing the chemical composition of soil organic matter will help scientists predict how soils store carbon -- and how soil carbon may affect climate in the ...

New Knowledge About What Causes Thunderstorms and Cloud Bursts

Thunderstorms often provoke violent cloud bursts that can result in devastating flooding. But what actually spawns thunderstorms and cloud bursts? This question has spurred a new ...

Unusual Climate Conditions Influenced WWI Mortality and Subsequent Influenza Pandemic

Scientists have spotted a once-in-a-century climate anomaly during World War I that likely increased mortality during the war and the influenza pandemic in the years that ...

Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020