advertisement
Ancient DNA 亚博棋牌平台
December 10, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New 'Sea Dragon' Discovered Off UK Coastline

An amateur fossil hunter has unearthed a new type of prehistoric 'sea dragon' on the beach of the UK's Dorset ...
Was burial of the dead practiced by Neanderthals or is it an innovation specific to our species? Researchers have demonstrated, using a variety of criteria, that a ...
With the help of newly discovered skulls and skeletons that were unearthed in North America, Brazil, Argentina, and ...

Only Dinosaurs Found in Ireland Described for the First Time

The only dinosaur bones ever found on the island of Ireland have been formally confirmed for the first time by a team of experts. The two fossils are from two different dinosaurs, a four-legged ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:07pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

New Species of Ancient Cynodont, 220 Million Years Old, Discovered

Fossilized jaw bone fragments of a rat-like creature found at the Petrified Forest National Park in Arizona last year by a Ph.D. candidate are in fact a newly discovered 220-million-year-old species ...

New Study Finds Earliest Evidence for Mammal Social Behavior

A new study by paleontologists indicates that the earliest evidence of mammal social behavior goes back to the Age of Dinosaurs. The multituberculate Filikomys primaevus engaged in ...

To Survive Asteroid Impact, Algae Learned to Hunt

Tiny, seemingly harmless ocean plants survived the darkness of the asteroid strike that killed the dinosaurs by learning a ghoulish behavior -- eating other living ...

Study of Ancient Dog DNA Traces Canine Diversity to the Ice Age

A global study of ancient dog DNA presents evidence that there were different types of dogs more than 11,000 years ago in the period immediately following the Ice ...

Denisovan DNA in the Genome of Early East Asians

Researchers analyzed the genome of the oldest human fossil found in Mongolia to date and show that the 34,000-year-old woman inherited around 25 percent of her DNA from western Eurasians, ...

Antarctica Yields Oldest Fossils of Giant Birds With 21-Foot Wingspans

Some of the largest birds in history, called pelagornithids, arose a few million years after the mass extinction that killed off the dinosaurs and patrolled the oceans with giant wingspans for some ...

Deep Sea Coral Time Machines Reveal Ancient CO2 Burps

The fossilized remains of ancient deep-sea corals may act as time machines providing new insights into the effect the ocean has on rising CO2 ...

Ancient Tiny Teeth Reveal First Mammals Lived More Like Reptiles

Pioneering analysis of 200 million-year-old teeth belonging to the earliest mammals suggests they functioned like their cold-blooded counterparts - reptiles, leading less active but much longer ...

Scientists Reconstruct Beetles from the Cretaceous

An international research team has examined four newly found specimens of the Mysteriomorphidae beetle using computer tomography and has been able to reconstruct them. The results allow to draw ...

Toothless Dino's Lost Digits Point to Spread of Parrot-Like Species

A newly discovered species of toothless, two-fingered dinosaur has shed light on how a group of parrot-like animals thrived more than 68 million years ...

Evolution of the Y Chromosome in Great Apes Deciphered

New analysis of the DNA sequence of the male-specific Y chromosomes from all living species of the great ape family helps to clarify our understanding of how this enigmatic chromosome ...

The First Human Settlers on Islands Caused Extinctions

Though some believe prehistoric humans lived in harmony with nature, a new analysis of fossils shows human arrival in the Bahamas caused some birds to be lost from the islands and other species to be ...

A Tale of Two Cesspits: DNA Reveals Intestinal Health in Medieval Europe and Middle East

Analysis of 14th-15th century latrines in Jerusalem and Riga, Latvia identifies some of the microbes resident in the guts of these pre-industrial populations, illuminating how gut contents have ...

Searching for the Chemistry of Life

In the search for the chemical origins of life, researchers have found a possible alternative path for the emergence of the characteristic DNA pattern: According to the experiments, the ...

Ice Age Manatees May Have Called Texas Home

Manatees don't live year-round in Texas, but these gentle sea cows are known to occasionally visit, swimming in for a 'summer vacation' and returning to warmer waters for the winter. ...

Rodent Ancestors Combined Portions of Blood and Venom Genes to Make Pheromones

Experts who study animal pheromones have traced the evolutionary origins of genes that allow mice, rats and other rodents to communicate through smell. The discovery is a clear example of how new ...

The Ancient Neanderthal Hand in Severe COVID-19

Genetic variants that leave their carrier more susceptible to severe COVID-19 are inherited from Neanderthals, a new study ...

'Immortal' in Tree Resin

Researchers have detected DNA from ambrosia beetles that were trapped in recent tree resin for less than seven ...

Dinosaur Feather Study Debunked

A new study provides substantial evidence that the first fossil feather ever to be discovered does belong to the iconic bird-like dinosaur, Archaeopteryx. This debunks a recent theory that the fossil ...

Salute the Venerable Ensign Wasp, Killing Cockroaches for 25 Million Years

A new study has identified four new species of parasitic, cockroach-killing ensign wasps that became encased in tree resin 25 million years ago and were preserved as the resin fossilized into ...

Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020