advertisement
Anthropology 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Researcher Adds to Timeline of Human Evolution by Studying an Island Fox

Nearly two decades ago, a small-bodied 'human-like' fossil, Homo floresiensis, was discovered on an island in Indonesia. Some scientists have credited the find, now nicknamed 'Hobbit,' as ...

Fatty Residues on Ancient Pottery Reveal Meat-Heavy Diets of Indus Civilization

New lipid residue analyses have revealed a dominance of animal products, such as the meat of animals like pigs, cattle, buffalo, sheep and goat as ...
Was burial of the dead practiced by Neanderthals or is it an innovation specific to our species? Researchers have demonstrated, using a variety of criteria, that a ...

Flightless Bird Species at Risk of Extinction

Bird species that have lost the ability to fly through evolution have become extinct more often than birds that have retained their ability to fly, according to new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:08pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

New Study Tests Machine Learning on Detection of Borrowed Words in World Languages

Researchers have investigated the ability of machine learning algorithms to identify lexical borrowings using word lists from a single language. Results show that current machine learning methods ...

X-Ray Imaging of a Beetle's World in Ancient Earthenware

Using X-rays, a researcher has imaged 28 impressions of maize weevils on pottery shards from the late Jomon period (around 3,600 years ago) excavated from the Yakushoden site in Miyazaki Prefecture. ...

Lurking in Genomic Shadows: How Giant Viruses Fuel the Evolution of Algae

Biologists have recently discovered that endogenous viral elements that originate from giant viruses are much more common in chlorophyte green algae than previously ...

Geoscientists Discover Ancestral Puebloans Survived from Ice Melt in New Mexico Lava Tubes

New study explains how Ancestral Puebloans survived devastating droughts by traveling deep into the caves of New Mexico to melt ancient ice as a water ...

Genetic Code Evolution and Darwin's Evolution Theory Should Consider DNA an 'Energy Code'

Darwin's theory of evolution should be expanded to include consideration of a DNA stability 'energy code' -- so-called 'molecular Darwinism' -- to further account for the ...

Newly Discovered Fossil Shows Small-Scale Evolutionary Changes in an Extinct Human Species

Males of the extinct human species Paranthropus robustus were thought to be substantially larger than females -- much like the size differences seen in modern-day primates such as gorillas, ...

Cockroach Mating Habits and Developmental Features Help Uncover Insect Evolution

Researchers find that a 'lost' family of cockroaches may be the missing link in the evolution of insects from prehistoric times to the present ...

Population Dynamics and the Rise of Empires in Inner Asia

Researchers seek to understand the genetic, sociopolitical and cultural changes surrounding the formation of the eastern Eurasian Steppe's historic empires. The study analyzes genome-wide data ...

Population Dynamics and the Rise of Empires in Inner Asia

Researchers sought to understand the genetic, sociopolitical and cultural changes surrounding the formation of the eastern Eurasian Steppe's historic empires. The study analyzed genome-wide data ...

For centuries, historians and scientists mostly agreed that when early human groups sought food, men hunted and women gathered. Not so, say ...

New Research Traces the Origins of Trench Fever

Trench fever was first clinically described in World War 1 when it sickened nearly 500,000 soldiers. New DNA evidence proves the disease predates that time period by thousands of ...

Sea-Level Rise Will Have Complex Consequences

Rising sea levels will affect coasts and human societies in complex and unpredictable ways, according to a new study that examined 12,000 years in which a large island became a cluster of smaller ...

Just Like Us Neanderthal Children Grew and Were Weaned Similar to Us

Neanderthals behaved not so differently from us in raising their children, whose pace of growth was similar to Homo sapiens. Thanks to the combination of geochemical and histological analyses of ...

New Study Finds Earliest Evidence for Mammal Social Behavior

A new study by paleontologists indicates that the earliest evidence of mammal social behavior goes back to the Age of Dinosaurs. The multituberculate Filikomys primaevus engaged in ...

Resilience in the Face of Climate Change: Archaeological Investigations Reveal Human Adaptability in Ancient Turkey

An examination of two documented periods of climate change in the greater Middle East, between approximately 4,500 and 3,000 years ago, reveals local evidence of resilience and even of a flourishing ...

Study of Ancient Dog DNA Traces Canine Diversity to the Ice Age

A global study of ancient dog DNA presents evidence that there were different types of dogs more than 11,000 years ago in the period immediately following the Ice ...

Denisovan DNA in the Genome of Early East Asians

Researchers analyzed the genome of the oldest human fossil found in Mongolia to date and show that the 34,000-year-old woman inherited around 25 percent of her DNA from western Eurasians, ...

Bison Engravings in Spanish Caves Reveal a Common Art Culture Across Ancient Europe

Recently discovered rock art from caves in Northern Spain represents an artistic cultural style common across ancient Europe, but previously unknown from the Iberian Peninsula, according to a new ...

The Rhythm of Change: What a Drum-Beat Experiment Reveals About Cultural Evolution

Living organisms aren't the only things that evolve over time. Cultural practices change, too, and in recent years social scientists have taken a keen interest in understanding this cultural ...

Can Individual Differences Be Detected in Same-Shaped Pottery Vessels by Unknown Craftsmen?

Can quantitative differences be used to identify individual potters who make traditional, fixed-shape vessels that have been made in the same way for generations? Researchers discovered that there ...

Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020