advertisement
Early Climate 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Mass Extinctions of Land-Dwelling Animals Occur in 27-Million-Year Cycle

Mass extinctions of land-dwelling animals--including amphibians, reptiles, mammals, and birds -- follow a cycle of about 27 million years, coinciding with previously reported mass extinctions of ...

What Caused the Ice Ages? Tiny Ocean Fossils Offer Key Evidence

Since the discovery that atmospheric carbon dioxide (CO2) concentrations were lower during past ice ages, the cause has been a mystery. Now, fossils of ocean algae reveal that a weakening in ...

Newly Discovered Greenland Plume Drives Thermal Activities in the Arctic

A team of researchers understands more about the melting of the Greenland ice sheet. They discovered a flow of hot rocks, known as a mantle plume, rising from the core-mantle boundary beneath central ...

Cluster of Alaskan Islands Could Be Single, Interconnected Giant Volcano

A small group of volcanic islands in Alaska's Aleutian chain might be part of a single, undiscovered giant volcano, say scientists. If the researchers' suspicions are correct, the newfound volcanic ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:08pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Large Volcanic Eruption Caused the Largest Mass Extinction

Researchers say they have found more concrete evidence of the volcanic cause of the largest mass extinction of life. Their research looked at two discrete eruption events: one that was previously ...

Newly Discovered Fossil Shows Small-Scale Evolutionary Changes in an Extinct Human Species

Males of the extinct human species Paranthropus robustus were thought to be substantially larger than females -- much like the size differences seen in modern-day primates such as gorillas, ...

Past Is Key to Predicting Future Climate, Scientists Say

A group of climate experts make the case for including paleoclimate data in the development of climate models. Such models are used globally to assess the impacts of human-caused greenhouse gas ...

Seabirds' Response to Abrupt Climate Change Transformed Sub-Antarctic Island Ecosystems

A 14,000-year paleoecological reconstruction of the sub-Antarctic islands done by an international research team including HKU has found that seabird establishment occurred during a period of ...

Sea-Level Rise Will Have Complex Consequences

Rising sea levels will affect coasts and human societies in complex and unpredictable ways, according to a new study that examined 12,000 years in which a large island became a cluster of smaller ...

Consequences of Glacier Shrinkage

Scientists have investigated the causes of a glacial lake outburst flood in the Ladakh region of India. They drew on field surveys and satellite images to create an inventory of glacial lakes for the ...

Resilience in the Face of Climate Change: Archaeological Investigations Reveal Human Adaptability in Ancient Turkey

An examination of two documented periods of climate change in the greater Middle East, between approximately 4,500 and 3,000 years ago, reveals local evidence of resilience and even of a flourishing ...

Hurricanes Pack a Bigger Punch for Florida's West Coast

Hurricanes, the United States' deadliest and most destructive weather disasters, are notoriously difficult to predict. With the average storm intensity as well as the proportion of storms that ...

Irregular Appearances of Glacial and Interglacial Climate States

A researcher has now discovered that the irregular appearance of interglacials has been more frequent than previously thought. His study makes a significant contribution to our understanding of ...

Seabird Response to Abrupt Climate Change 5,000 Years Ago Transformed Falklands Ecosystems

A 14,000-year paleoecological reconstruction of the sub-Antarctic islands has found that seabird establishment occurred during a period of regional cooling 5,000 years ago. Their populations, in ...

The first analysis of a sedimentary drill core representing 1 million years of environmental history in the East African Rift Valley shows that at the same time early humans were abandoning old tools ...

New Sediment Archive for Historical Climate Research

Geological investigations of low-temperature young deposits on the Styrian Erzberg provide paleoclimatology with new data on the Earth's history and its ...

Depths of the Weddell Sea Are Warming Five Times Faster Than Elsewhere

Over the past three decades, the depths of the Antarctic Weddell Sea have warmed five times faster than the rest of the ocean at depths exceeding 2,000 ...

Deep Sea Coral Time Machines Reveal Ancient CO2 Burps

The fossilized remains of ancient deep-sea corals may act as time machines providing new insights into the effect the ocean has on rising CO2 ...

Arctic Ocean Sediments Reveal Permafrost Thawing During Past Climate Warming

Sea floor sediments of the Arctic Ocean can reveal how permafrost responds to climate warming. Researchers have found evidence of past permafrost thawing during climate warming events at the end of ...

Unprecedented Energy Use Since 1950 Has Transformed Humanity's Geologic Footprint

A new study makes clear the extraordinary speed and scale of increases in energy use, economic productivity and global population that have pushed the Earth towards a new geological epoch, known as ...

Climate Change Likely Drove Early Human Species to Extinction, Modeling Study Suggests

Of the six or more different species of early humans, all belonging to the genus Homo, only we Homo sapiens have managed to survive. Now, a study combining climate modeling and the fossil record in ...

Laser Technology Measures Biomass in World's Largest Trees

Laser technology has been used to measure the volume and biomass of giant Californian redwood trees for the first time, records a new ...

Modern Humans Took Detours on Their Way to Europe

Favourable climatic conditions influenced the sequence of settlement movements of Homo sapiens in the Levant on their way from Africa to Europe. In a first step, modern humans settled along the coast ...

Darwin's Theory About Coral Reef Atolls Is Fatally Flawed

Charles Darwin's 1842 theory about the formation of ring-shaped reefs, called atolls, is incorrect, but 'it's so beautiful, so simple and pleasing' that it still appears in ...

Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020