advertisement
Early Mammals 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Paleontologists Uncover Three New Species of Extinct Walruses in Orange County, California

Millions of years ago, in the warm Pacific Ocean off the coast of Southern California, walrus species without tusks lived abundantly. But in a new ...

New Fossil Seal Species Rewrites History

An international team of biologists has discovered a new species of extinct monk seal from the Southern Hemisphere -- describing it as the biggest breakthrough in seal evolution in 70 ...

Indian Fossils Support New Hypothesis for Origin of Hoofed Mammals

New research describes a fossil family that illuminates the origin of perissodactyls - the group of mammals that includes horses, rhinos, and tapirs. It provides insights on the controversial ...

New Species of Ancient Cynodont, 220 Million Years Old, Discovered

Fossilized jaw bone fragments of a rat-like creature found at the Petrified Forest National Park in Arizona last year by a Ph.D. candidate are in fact a newly discovered 220-million-year-old species ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:37pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Humans, Not Climate, Have Driven Rapidly Rising Mammal Extinction Rate

Human impact can explain ninety-six percent of all mammal species extinctions of the last hundred thousand years, according to a new ...

Fossil Evidence of 'Hibernation-Like' State in 250-Million-Year-Old Antarctic Animal

Scientists report evidence of a hibernation-like state in Lystrosaurus, an animal that lived in Antarctica during the Early Triassic, some 250 million years ago. The fossils are the oldest evidence ...

Dinosaurs' Unique Bone Structure Key to Carrying Weight

A unique collaboration between paleontologists, mechanical engineers and biomedical engineers revealed that the trabecular bone structure of hadrosaurs and several other dinosaurs is uniquely capable ...

15-Foot-Long Skeleton of Extinct Dolphin Suggests Parallel Evolution Among Whales

A report offers a detailed description of the first nearly complete skeleton of an extinct large dolphin, discovered in what is now South Carolina. The 15-foot-long dolphin (Ankylorhiza tiedemani ...

Hints at Jaw Evolution Found in Marsupials and Monotremes

Infant marsupials and monotremes use a connection between their ear and jaw bones shortly after birth to enable them to drink their mothers' milk, new findings ...

New Extinct Family of Giant Wombat Relatives Discovered in Australian Desert

A giant marsupial that roamed prehistoric Australia 25 million years ago is so different from its wombat cousins that scientists have had to create a new family to accommodate ...

Bizarre Saber-Tooth Predator from South America Was No Saber-Tooth Cat

A new study has shown that not all saber-tooths were fearsome ...

Extinct Camelids Reveal Insights About North America's Ancient Savannas

A new study looking at extinct camelids -- ancestors of today's camels and llamas -- tells the story of North America's ancient savannas and highlights how past climatic and environmental ...

On the Hunt for Megafauna in North America

Research has found that pre-historic climate change does not explain the extinction of megafauna in North America at the end of the last Ice ...

Ancient Reptile Had Mammal-Like Tooth Enamel

A new study by paleontologists shows that one type of ancient reptiles evolved a special type of tooth enamel, similar to that of mammals, with high resistance to wear and tear. The study is the ...

Marooned on Mesozoic Madagascar

In evolutionary terms, islands are the stuff of weirdness. It is on islands where animals evolve in isolation, often for millions of years, with different food sources, competitors, predators, and ...

Coquí Fossil from Puerto Rico Takes Title of Oldest Caribbean Frog

The bright chirp of the coquí frog, the national symbol of Puerto Rico, has likely resounded through Caribbean forests for at least 29 million years. A fossil arm bone from a frog in the genus ...

Tooth Be Told: Earless Seals Existed in Ancient Australia

A fossilised seal tooth, dating back approximately three million years, found on a Victorian beach proves earless seals existed in Australia in prehistoric times. Known as monachines, the seals ...

Water Pressure: Ancient Aquatic Crocs Evolved, Enlarged to Avoid Freezing

Ancient crocodilian ancestors that abandoned land for water nearly 200 million years ago supposedly got larger because they were released from the constraints of gravity, territory and diet. But a ...

Small Horses Got Smaller, Big Tapirs Got Bigger 47 Million Years Ago

The former coalfield of Geiseltal in Saxony-Anhalt has yielded large numbers of exceptionally preserved fossil animals, giving palaeontologists a unique window into the evolution of mammals 47 ...

Unprecedented Preservation of Fossil Feces from the La Brea Tar Pits

Scientists have found the first coprolites -- or fossil feces -- ever discovered in an asphaltic -- or tar pit -- ...

Late Cretaceous Dinosaur-Dominated Ecosystem

A topic of considerable interest to paleontologists is how dinosaur-dominated ecosystems were structured, how dinosaurs and co-occurring animals were distributed across the landscape, how they ...

One of Darwin's Evolution Theories Finally Proved

Scientists have proved one of Charles Darwin's theories of evolution for the first time -- nearly 140 years after his death. Researchers discovered mammal subspecies play a more important role ...

Mysterious Bone Circles Made from the Remains of Mammoths Reveal Clues About Ice Age

Mysterious bone circles made from the remains of dozens of mammoths have revealed clues about how ancient communities survived Europe's ice ...

Apes' Inner Ears Could Hide Clues to Evolutionary History of Hominoids

Studying the inner ear of apes and humans could uncover new information on our species' evolutionary relationships, suggests a new ...

Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018