advertisement
Fossils 亚博棋牌平台
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Antarctica Yields Oldest Fossils of Giant Birds With 21-Foot Wingspans

Some of the largest birds in history, called pelagornithids, arose a few million years after the mass extinction that killed off the dinosaurs and patrolled the oceans with giant wingspans for some ...

Ancient Maya Built Sophisticated Water Filters

Ancient Maya in the once-bustling city of Tikal built sophisticated water filters using natural materials they imported from miles away, according to new research. A multidisciplinary team of ...

Climate Change Likely Drove Early Human Species to Extinction, Modeling Study Suggests

Of the six or more different species of early humans, all belonging to the genus Homo, only we Homo sapiens have managed to survive. Now, a study ...

Beak Bone Reveals Pterosaur Like No Other

A new species of small pterosaur - similar in size to a turkey - has been discovered, which is unlike any other pterosaur seen before due to its long slender toothless ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Body Size of the Extinct Megalodon Indeed Off the Charts in the Shark World

A new study shows that the body size of the iconic gigantic or megatooth shark, about 15 meters (50 feet) in length, is indeed anomalously large compared to body sizes of its ...

Ice Age Manatees May Have Called Texas Home

Manatees don't live year-round in Texas, but these gentle sea cows are known to occasionally visit, swimming in for a 'summer vacation' and returning to warmer waters for the winter. ...

Mud-Slurping Chinless Ancestors Had All the Moves

Researchers have revealed our most ancient ancestors were ecologically diverse, despite lacking jaws and paired ...

'Immortal' in Tree Resin

Researchers have detected DNA from ambrosia beetles that were trapped in recent tree resin for less than seven ...

New Study Reveals How Reptiles Divided Up the Spoils in Ancient Seas

While dinosaurs ruled the land in the Mesozoic, the oceans were filled by predators such as crocodiles and giant lizards, but also entirely extinct groups such as ichthyosaurs and plesiosaurs. Now ...

A new study provides substantial evidence that the first fossil feather ever to be discovered does belong to the iconic bird-like dinosaur, Archaeopteryx. This debunks a recent theory that the fossil ...

Ancient Adélie Penguin Colony Revealed by Snowmelt at Cape Irizar, Ross Sea, Antarctica

Researchers encountered a puzzle at Cape Irizar, a rocky cape located just south of the Drygalski Ice Tongue on the Scott Coast, Ross Sea. He found both ancient and what appeared to be fresh remains ...

Experts have examined the evidence that prehistoric flying reptiles called pterosaurs had feathers and believe they were, in fact, ...

Sentinels of Ocean Acidification Impacts Survived Earth's Last Mass Extinction

Two groups of tiny, delicate marine organisms, sea butterflies and sea angels, were found to be surprisingly resilient -- having survived dramatic global climate change and Earth's most recent ...

Y Chromosomes of Neanderthals and Denisovans Now Sequenced

An international research team led by Martin Petr and Janet Kelso of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany, has determined Y chromosome sequences of three ...

Jaws of Death: Paleontologist Renames Giant, Prehistoric Marine Lizard

Paleontologists describe a new genus of mosasaur, Gnathomortis stadtmani, a marine lizard that roamed the oceans of North America toward the end of the Age of ...

Living in an Anoxic World: Microbes Using Arsenic Are a Link to Early Life

Much of life on planet Earth today relies on oxygen to exist, but before oxygen was present on our blue planet, lifeforms likely used arsenic ...

Dino Teeth Research Prove Giant Predatory Dinosaur Lived in Water

A discovery of more than a thousand dinosaur teeth proves beyond reasonable doubt that Spinosaurus, the giant predator made famous by the movie Jurassic Park III as well as the BBC documentary Planet ...

Bird Beak Revealed by Laser Imaging Informs Early Beak Function and Development

Confuciusornis was a crow-like fossil bird that lived in the Cretaceous ~120 million years ago. It was one of the first birds to evolve a beak. Early beak evolution remains understudied. Using an ...

Ancient Human Footprints in Saudi Arabia Give Glimpse of Arabian Ecology 120000 Years Ago

Using high resolution paleoecological information obtained from fossilized footprints, a new study presents ~120 thousand-year-old human and animal footprints from an ancient lake bed in northern ...

Discovery of Microbes With Mixed Membranes Sheds New Light on Early Evolution of Life

Current research suggests that more complex life-forms, including humans, evolved from a symbiosis event between bacteria and another single-celled organism known as archaea. However, evidence of a ...

World's Oldest Animal Sperm Found in Tiny Crustaceans Trapped in Myanmar Amber

New research has led to the discovery of world's oldest animal sperm inside a tiny crustacean trapped in amber around 100 million years ago in ...

Paleontology: The Oldest Known Sperm Cells

An international team of paleontologists has discovered giant sperm cells in a 100-million year-old female ostracod preserved in a sample of amber. Clearly, the tiny crustacean had mated shortly ...

Modern Theory from Ancient Impacts

It is generally accepted that the inner region of the early solar system was subject to an intense period of meteoric bombardment referred to as the late heavy bombardment. However, researchers have ...

Coming Up for Air: Extinct Sea Scorpions Could Breathe out of Water, Fossil Detective Unveils

Through computed tomography (CT) imaging, geologists found evidence of air breathing in a 340 million-year-old sea scorpion, or ...

Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020