advertisement
Lost Treasures 亚博棋牌平台
October 23, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Clovis People: Narrow Window of Tool-Making

There is much debate surrounding the age of the Clovis -- a prehistoric culture named for stone tools found near Clovis, New Mexico in the early 1930s -- who once occupied North America during the ...
The first analysis of a sedimentary drill core representing 1 million years of environmental history in the East African ...

Modern Humans Took Detours on Their Way to Europe

Favourable climatic conditions influenced the sequence of settlement movements of Homo sapiens in the Levant on their way from Africa to Europe. In a first step, modern humans settled along the coast ...

The First Human Settlers on Islands Caused Extinctions

Though some believe prehistoric humans lived in harmony with nature, a new analysis of fossils shows human arrival in the Bahamas caused some birds to be lost from the islands and other species to be ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Ancient Carved Shell Llama Offering Found in Lake Titicaca

A llama carved from a spondylus shell and a cylindrical laminated gold foil object were the contents of a carved stone box -- an offering -- found at the bottom of Lake Titicaca. The offering, found ...

Accelerated Bone Deterioration in Last 70 Years at Famous Mesolithic Peat Bog in Peril

Alarming results from a 2019 survey of well-known archaeological site Ageröd reveal drastic bone and organic matter deterioration since the site's initial excavations in the 1940s, suggesting ...

Foxes Have Been Eating Humans' Leftovers for 42,000 Years

The diets of ancient foxes were influenced by humans, and these small carnivores might be tracers of human activity over ...

Breakthrough in Studying Ancient DNA from Doggerland That Separates the UK from Europe

Scientists have studied sedimentary ancient DNA (sedaDNA) from sediment deposits in the southern North Sea, an area which has not previously been linked to a tsunami that occurred 8150 years ...

Hyksos, 15th Dynasty Rulers of Ancient Egypt, Were an Internal Takeover

The Hyksos, who ruled during the 15th Dynasty of ancient Egypt, were not foreign invaders, but a group who rose to power from within, according to a new ...

New Method Solves Old Mystery: Hafnium Isotopes Clinch Origin of High-Quality Roman Glass

Archaeological glass contains information about the movement of goods and ancient economies, yet the understanding of critical aspects of the ancient glass industry is fragmentary. Until now, it has ...

First Confirmed Underwater Aboriginal Archaeological Sites Found Off Australian Coast

Ancient submerged Aboriginal archaeological sites await underwater rediscovery off the coast of Australia, according to a ...

New Zealand's Ancient Monster Penguins Had Northern Hemisphere Doppelgangers

New Zealand's monster penguins that lived 62 million years ago had doppelgangers in Japan, the USA and Canada, a new study has ...

Non-Tobacco Plant Identified in Ancient Pipe for First Time

People in what is now Washington State were smoking Rhus glabra, a plant commonly known as smooth sumac, more than 1,400 years ago. The discovery marks the first-time scientists have identified ...

Massive Prehistoric Circle Near Stonehenge

Archaeologists have discovered a major new prehistoric monument only a short distance away from Stonehenge. Fieldwork and analysis have revealed evidence for 20 or more massive, prehistoric shafts, ...

Seafood Helped Prehistoric People Migrate out of Africa

A study has examined fossil reefs near to the now-submerged Red Sea shorelines that marked prehistoric migratory routes from Africa to Arabia. The findings suggest this coast offered the resources ...

Origins of the Beloved Guinea Pig

New research sheds light on guinea pig domestication and how and why the small, furry animals became distributed around the ...

Radiocarbon Dating Pins Date for Construction of Uyghur Complex to the Year 777

Dating archaeological objects precisely is difficult, even when using techniques such as radiocarbon dating. Using a recently developed method, based on the presence of sudden spikes in carbon-14 ...

DNA Increases Our Understanding of Contact Between Stone Age Cultures

What kind of interactions did the various Stone Age cultures have with one another? In a new interdisciplinary study, researchers have combined archaeological and genetic information to better ...

Ancient DNA Provides New Insights Into the Early Peopling of the Caribbean

According to a new study by an international team of researchers from the Caribbean, Europe and North America, the Caribbean was settled by several successive population dispersals that originated on ...

New Papua New Guinea Research Solves Archaeological Mysteries

New research which 'fills in the blanks' on what ancient Papuan New Guineans ate, and how they processed food, has ended decades-long speculation on tool use and food stables in the ...

Pinpointing the Origins of Jerusalem's Temple Mount

Integrating radiocarbon dating and microarchaeology techniques has enabled more precise dating of the ancient Wilson's Arch monument at Jerusalem's Temple Mount, according to a new ...

Ancient Genomes Link Subsistence Change and Human Migration in Northern China

Northern China is among the first centers in the world where agriculture developed, but its genetic history remains largely unknown. Researchers have now analyzed 55 ancient genomes from China, ...

Genomic Analysis Shows Long-Term Genetic Mixing in West Asia Before World's First Cities

Scientists analyzed DNA data from 110 skeletal remains in West Asia dated 3,000 to 7,500 years ago. The study reveals how a high level of human movement in West Asia during the Neolithic to late ...

Miniature Rock Art Expands Horizons

Archaeologists have discovered some of the most detailed examples of rare, small-scale rock art in the form of miniature stencils in a rockshelter traditionally owned by the Marra people. The ...

Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019