advertisement
Origin of Life 亚博棋牌平台
December 10, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Study Helps Pinpoint When Earth's Plate Subduction Began

Plate subduction could have started 3.75 billion years ago, reshaping Earth's surface and setting the stage for a planet hospitable to ...

A Simple Rule Drives the Evolution of Useless Complexity

A new study has shown that elaborate protein structures accumulate over deep time even when they serve no purpose, because a universal biochemical property and the genetic code force natural ...
With the help of newly discovered skulls and skeletons that were unearthed in North America, Brazil, Argentina, and ...

Continents Prone to Destruction in Their Infancy, Study Finds

Geologists have shed new light on the early history of the Earth through their discovery that continents were weak and prone to destruction in their ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:07pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Paleontologists Uncover Three New Species of Extinct Walruses in Orange County, California

Millions of years ago, in the warm Pacific Ocean off the coast of Southern California, walrus species without tusks lived abundantly. But in a new study, paleontologists have identified three new ...

Genetic Code Evolution and Darwin's Evolution Theory Should Consider DNA an 'Energy Code'

Darwin's theory of evolution should be expanded to include consideration of a DNA stability 'energy code' -- so-called 'molecular Darwinism' -- to further account for the ...

Cysteine Synthesis Was a Key Step in the Origin of Life

All proteins are built from the same 20 amino acids. One of these, cysteine, was assumed not to have been present at the origin of life. In a new study, scientists have recreated how cysteine was ...

How Organ Functions Were Shaped Over the Course of Evolution

A large-scale study conducted by molecular biologists has yielded groundbreaking new insights into the evolution and regulation of gene expression in mammalian organs. The scientists investigated RNA ...

New Genome Alignment Tool Empowers Large-Scale Studies of Vertebrate Evolution

Three new articles present major advances in understanding the evolution of birds and mammals, made possible by new methods for comparing the genomes of hundreds of species. Researchers developed a ...

Large Volcanic Eruption Caused the Largest Mass Extinction

Researchers say they have found more concrete evidence of the volcanic cause of the largest mass extinction of life. Their research looked at two discrete eruption events: one that was previously ...

Half-a-Billion Year Old Microfossils May Yield New Knowledge of Animal Origins

When and how did the first animals appear? Science has long sought an answer. Researchers have now jointly found, in Greenland, embryo-like microfossils up to 570 million years old, revealing that ...

Indian Fossils Support New Hypothesis for Origin of Hoofed Mammals

New research describes a fossil family that illuminates the origin of perissodactyls - the group of mammals that includes horses, rhinos, and tapirs. It provides insights on the controversial ...

Population Dynamics and the Rise of Empires in Inner Asia

Researchers seek to understand the genetic, sociopolitical and cultural changes surrounding the formation of the eastern Eurasian Steppe's historic empires. The study analyzes genome-wide data ...

Population Dynamics and the Rise of Empires in Inner Asia

Researchers sought to understand the genetic, sociopolitical and cultural changes surrounding the formation of the eastern Eurasian Steppe's historic empires. The study analyzed genome-wide data ...

Model of Multicellular Evolution Overturns Classic Theory

Cells can evolve specialized functions under a much broader range of conditions than previously thought, according to a ...

Study of Ancient Dog DNA Traces Canine Diversity to the Ice Age

A global study of ancient dog DNA presents evidence that there were different types of dogs more than 11,000 years ago in the period immediately following the Ice ...

Denisovan DNA in the Genome of Early East Asians

Researchers analyzed the genome of the oldest human fossil found in Mongolia to date and show that the 34,000-year-old woman inherited around 25 percent of her DNA from western Eurasians, ...

Models for Potential Precursors of Cells Endure Simulated Early-Earth Conditions

Membraneless compartments -- models for a potential step in the early evolution of cells -- have been shown to persist or form, disappear, and reform in predictable ways through multiple cycles of ...

Scientists Discover New Organic Compounds That Could Have Helped Form the First Cells

Chemists studying how life started often focus on biopolymers like peptides and nucleic acids, but modern biopolymers don't form easily without help from living organisms. A possible solution to ...

The Rhythm of Change: What a Drum-Beat Experiment Reveals About Cultural Evolution

Living organisms aren't the only things that evolve over time. Cultural practices change, too, and in recent years social scientists have taken a keen interest in understanding this cultural ...

Large Tides May Have Driven Evolution of Fish Towards Life on Land

Big tidal ranges some 400 million years ago may have initiated the evolution of bony fish and land vertebrates. This theory is now supported by researchers who, for the first time, have used ...

Driver of the Largest Mass Extinction in the History of the Earth Identified

252 million years ago, at the transition from the Permian to the Triassic epoch, most of the life forms existing on Earth became extinct. Using latest analytical methods and detailed model ...

Prebiotic Chemistry: In the Beginning, There Was Sugar

Organic molecules formed the basis for the evolution of life. But how could inorganic precursors have given rise to them? Chemists now reports a reaction pathway in which minerals catalyze the ...

New Study Shows How Complex Metabolism May Have Self-Assembled from Simple Precursors

Life as we know uses energy to reproduce itself. Organisms build and break down larger molecules using a common set of reactive intermediate energy carrier molecules. These carrier molecules help ...

Monday, November 16, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Saturday, November 7, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020