advertisement
Alzheimer's Research 亚博棋牌平台
October 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Study Underscores the Gut-Brain Connection, Shows Hunger Hormone Impacts Memory

Rats that lacked the hormone ghrelin tended to eat more frequently and gained more weight. They also showed signs that they could not remember when ...

Evidence of Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and MND in Brains of Young People Exposed to Dirty Air

After examining the brainstems of 186 young Mexico City residents aged between 11 months and 27 years of age, researchers, found markers not only of ...

Rare Genetic Form of Dementia Discovered

A new, rare genetic form of dementia has been discovered by researchers. This discovery also sheds light on a new pathway that leads to protein build up in the brain -- which causes this newly ...

Epigenetic Drivers for Alzheimer's Disease Uncovered

New findings suggest that late-onset Alzheimer's Disease is driven by epigenetic changes -- how and when certain genes are turned on and off -- in the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Does General Anesthesia Increase Dementia Risk?

There are concerns that exposure to general anesthesia during surgery may contribute to an increased risk of Alzheimer's disease. To investigate, researchers compared exposure to general ...

New Tool Shows Main Highways of Disease Development

A new tool enables researchers to explore disease patterns from 7.2 million patients spanning 25 years. The tool is freely available for the scientific community and requires no prerequisite ...

A Genetic Variant That Protects Against Alzheimer's Disease Promotes Immune Cell Functions

A new study has found that the PLCG2-P522R genetic variant, which protects against Alzheimer's disease, enhances several key functions of immune cells. The results obtained in the study ...

New Mouse Model of Tau Propagation

Accumulation of assembled tau protein in the central nervous system is characteristic of Alzheimer's disease and several other neurodegenerative diseases, called tauopathies. Researchers have ...

Higher Dementia Risk in Women With Prolonged Fertility

Women with a longer reproductive period had an elevated risk for dementia in old age, compared with those who were fertile for a shorter period, a population-based ...

Risk Gene for Alzheimer's Has Early Effects on the Brain

A genetic predisposition to late-onset Alzheimer's disease affects how the brains of young adults cope with certain memory tasks. Researchers find are based on studies with magnetic resonance ...

Older People With Early, Asymptomatic Alzheimer's at Risk of Falls

Older people without cognitive problems who experience a fall may have undetected neurodegeneration in their brains that puts them at high risk of developing Alzheimer's dementia, according to a ...

Concussion Discovery Reveals Dire, Unknown Effect of Even Mild Brain Injuries

Even mild concussions cause severe and long-lasting impairments in the brain's ability to clean itself, and this may seed it for Alzheimer's, dementia and other neurodegenerative ...

Vitamin B1 Deficiency a Key Factor in the Development of Alcohol-Related Dementia

A research group has now developed a hypothesis whereby iron deposits in the brain -- resulting from alcohol-induced vitamin B1 deficiency -- can be regarded as key factors in cognitive ...

Lumpy Proteins Stiffen Blood Vessels of the Brain

Deposits of a protein called 'Medin', which manifest in virtually all older adults, reduce the elasticity of blood vessels during aging and hence may be a risk factor for vascular ...

Older Women With Type 2 Diabetes Have Different Patterns of Blood Use in Their Brains

A researcher is reporting that the brains of older women with Type 2 diabetes do not use as much oxygenated blood as those who don't have the disease. The research is the first to point to ...

Common Class of Drugs Linked to Increased Risk of Alzheimer's Disease

Researchers report that a class of drugs used for a broad array of conditions, from allergies and colds to hypertension and urinary incontinence, may be associated with an increased risk of cognitive ...

Depression Worsens Over Time for Older Caregivers of Newly Diagnosed Dementia Patients

Caring for a partner or spouse with a new diagnosis of Alzheimer's or related dementia is associated with a 30 percent increase in depressive symptoms, compared to older adults who don't ...

Inflammation Linked to Alzheimer's Disease Development

Scientists have discovered a direct link between the immune response to viruses and bacteria and the development of plaques in the brain that characterize Alzheimer's ...

Understanding the Link Between Hearing Loss and Dementia

Scientists have developed a new theory as to how hearing loss may cause dementia and believe that tackling this sensory impairment early may help to prevent the ...

Fungi in Gut Linked to Higher Alzheimer's Risk Can Be Reduced Through Ketogenic Diet

Specific fungi in the gut associated with a higher risk of Alzheimer's disease and found in people with mild cognitive impairment (MCI) can be altered in a beneficial manner by eating a modified ...

Research Shows How a Diet Change Might Help US Veterans With Gulf War Illness

A new study shows the results from a dietary intervention in U.S. veterans suffering from Gulf War Illness, a neurological disorder in veterans who served in the Persian Gulf War from 1990 to ...

People With Increased Risk of Alzheimer's Have Deficits in Navigating

Alzheimer's patients develop severe symptoms of spatial disorientation as the disease progresses and are unable to find even the simplest ...

Synthetic Compound Could Serve as Prototype for Novel Class of Drugs to Treat Neurological Damage

Researchers have developed a neurologically acting protein and tested it in laboratory studies. In mice, the experimental compound ameliorated symptoms of certain neurological injuries and diseases, ...

Women live longer than men with Alzheimer's because their sex chromosomes give them genetic protection from the ravages of the disease. Women get two 'doses' of a gene that only exists ...

Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020