advertisement
Chronic Illness 亚博棋牌平台
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Aspirin Use Reduces Risk of Death in Hospitalized COVID-19 Patients

Hospitalized COVID-19 patients who were taking a daily low-dose aspirin to protect against cardiovascular disease had a significantly lower risk of complications and death compared to those who were ...

Steroid Inhalers/pills for Asthma Linked to Heightened Risk of Brittle Bones and Fractures

Taking steroid inhalers or tablets to treat asthma or control flare-ups is linked to a heightened risk of brittle bones (osteoporosis) and increased ...

Diagnosing Parkinson's Disease With Skin Samples Could Lead to Earlier Detection

New research shows a simple skin test can accurately identify Parkinson's disease, which could lead to earlier detection of the disease and better ...

Ingestible Capsule That Could Help Demystify the Gut-Brain Axis

A team of experts from engineering, neuroscience, applied microbiology, and physics has been making headway on building a platform that can monitor and model the real-time processing of gut ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:00pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

COVID-19 a Double Blow for Chronic Disease Patients

The COVID-19 pandemic has escalated into a 'syndemic' for people with chronic illnesses, a new study analyzing data from low and middle-income countries ...

Phase 3 Clinical Trial to Treat Mild Alzheimer's Disease Using Deep Brain Stimulation

Medical researchers are enrolling individuals in an international phase 3 clinical trial to examine the safety and effectiveness of deep brain stimulation to treat Alzheimer's. The study uses ...

Could Excessive Sugar Intake Contribute to Aggressive Behaviors, ADHD, Bipolar Disorder?

New research suggests that conditions such as attention deficit hyperactivity syndrome (ADHD), bipolar disorder, and even aggressive behaviors may be linked with sugar intake, and that it may have an ...

Impact of COVID-19 Infection on Patients With Congenital Heart Disease

Results of a retrospective analysis suggest that people born with a heart defect who developed COVID-19 symptoms had a low risk of moderate or severe COVID-19 infection, according to a new ...

Multiple Neurodevelopmental Conditions May Lead to Worse Educational Outcomes

Scottish children with multiple neurodevelopmental conditions experience greater school absenteeism and exclusion, poorer exam attainment and increased unemployment, according to a ...

Effects of Poverty on Childhood Development Seen in Children as Young as 5

Researchers have found that health inequities can be measured in children as young as 5 years old. The research contributes to a growing body of literature finding that children of color who are also ...

Certain Pre-Existing Conditions May Double, Triple Mortality Risk for COVID-19

A large, international study of COVID-19 patients confirmed that cardiovascular disease, hypertension, diabetes, congestive heart failure, chronic kidney disease, stroke and cancer can increase a ...

Young People Hospitalized With COVID-19 Face Substantial Adverse Outcomes

Researchers analyzed records from 419 hospitals to study the clinical trajectories of 3,222 hospitalized COVID-19 patients aged 18-34. The researchers found that over one-fifth of the patients (21 ...

Drug Delivery Systems to Treat Connective Tissue Disorders

A research team has devised tiny cargo-carrying systems many times smaller than a human hair, made from molecules called peptides that help provide structure for cells and tissues. The team has ...

Heat Has Stronger Effect on Health in Less Developed Cities, Study Finds

Compared to high income cities, less developed cities in Brazil have a higher hospitalization rate associated with increased heat exposure, according to a new ...

Pregnancy Complications Linked to Heightened Risk of Heart Disease and Stroke in Later Life

Pregnancy complications such as miscarriage, pre-eclampsia, diabetes in pregnancy (gestational diabetes) and pre-term birth are linked to a heightened risk of heart disease in later life, suggests an ...

Major Deficits in Addressing Mental Health Needs of Asylum Seekers

A new study of asylum seekers in Germany suggests that, among those with symptoms of depression, anxiety, or posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), few receive a diagnosis from the health care system, ...

Simple Sugar Possible Therapy for Repairing Myelin in Multiple Sclerosis

N-acetylglucosamine, a simple sugar found in human breast milk and sold as an over-the-counter dietary supplement in the United States, promotes myelin repair in mouse models and correlates with ...

Taking the STING out of MND

Researchers are working towards a potential treatment to slow the progression of motor neuron disease (MND). The research team have uncovered how inflammation in MND is triggered. Pinpointing the ...

Women's Expected Longevity Linked to Age at Birth of Last Child

No one knows for sure how long they will live. A new study, however, suggests that leukocyte telomere length may offer some key insights into a woman's longevity and further demonstrates how ...

Evidence of Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and MND in Brains of Young People Exposed to Dirty Air

After examining the brainstems of 186 young Mexico City residents aged between 11 months and 27 years of age, researchers, found markers not only of Alzheimer's disease, but also of ...

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is being awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice for the discovery of Hepatitis C ...

Researchers Demonstrate How Changing the Stem Cell Response to Inflammation May Reverse Periodontal Disease

Scientists have discovered that a specific type of molecule may stimulate stem cells to regenerate, reversing the inflammation caused by periodontal ...

New Clues About the Link Between Stress and Depression

Researchers have identified a protein in the brain that is important both for the function of the mood-regulating substance serotonin and for the release of stress hormones, at least in mice. The ...

New Tool Shows Main Highways of Disease Development

A new tool enables researchers to explore disease patterns from 7.2 million patients spanning 25 years. The tool is freely available for the scientific community and requires no prerequisite ...

Friday, October 23, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Sunday, September 13, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020