advertisement
Diet and Weight Loss 亚博棋牌平台
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Obesity and Disease Tied to Dramatic Dietary Changes

The 'mismatch hypothesis' argues that our bodies evolved to digest the foods that our ancestors ate, and that human bodies will struggle and largely fail to metabolize a radically new set of foods. ...

Bacterial Metabolism of Dietary Soy May Lower Risk Factor for Dementia

A metabolite produced following consumption of dietary soy may decrease a key risk factor for dementia - with the help of the right bacteria, according to a new ...

Vitamin A Boosts Fat Burning in Cold Conditions

A recent study shows that cold ambient temperatures increase vitamin A levels in humans and mice. This helps convert 'bad' white adipose tissue into 'good' brown adipose tissue which stimulates fat ...

High Flavanol Diet May Lead to Lower Blood Pressure

People who consume a diet including flavanol-rich foods and drinks, including tea, apples and berries, could lead to lower blood pressure, according to the first study using objective measures of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:59pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Big Babies Could Be at Higher Risk of Common Heart Rhythm Disorder in Adulthood

Elevated birth weight is linked with developing atrial fibrillation later in life, according to new ...

Could Excessive Sugar Intake Contribute to Aggressive Behaviors, ADHD, Bipolar Disorder?

New research suggests that conditions such as attention deficit hyperactivity syndrome (ADHD), bipolar disorder, and even aggressive behaviors may be linked with sugar intake, and that it may have an ...

A New Approach Boosts Lithium-Ion Battery Efficiency and Puts out Fires, Too

Building new functionality into an overlooked lithium-ion battery component addresses two major goals of battery research: extending the driving range of electric vehicles and reducing the danger ...

Teen Brain Differences Linked to Increased Waist Circumference

Differences in the microstructure of the nucleus accumbens (NAcc), a region in the brain that plays an important role in processing food and other reward stimuli, predict increases in indicators of ...

Small Increase in Risk of Autism Seen for Pre And Post-Term Births

A study of more than 3.5 million Nordic children suggests that the risk of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) may increase slightly for each week a child is born before or after 40 weeks of ...

Vitamin E Needed for Proper Nervous System Development

In research with key ramifications for women of childbearing age, scientists show that embryos produced by vitamin E-deficient zebrafish have malformed brains and nervous ...

Does a Healthy Diet Counter the Ill-Effects of Obesity?

A healthy quality Mediterranean-like diet partially modifies the association between obesity and cardiovascular mortality, according to a new ...

Time-Restricted Feeding Improves Health Without Altering the Body's Core Clock

For the first time, scientists have studied the early effects of time-restricted feeding on the daily periodic oscillations of metabolites and genes in muscle, and metabolites in blood. The findings ...

A Ferry Protein in the Pancreas Protects It from the Stress Induced by a High-Fat Diet

Scientists have now uncovered a key mechanism by which pancreatic function is maintained in response to a high-fat diet. A protein present in pancreatic insulin-producing cells protects them from ...

Healthy Diet and Exercise During Pregnancy Could Lead to Healthier Children

New research shows improving the lifestyle of women with obesity during pregnancy could mean long-term cardiovascular benefits for their ...

People With Anorexia and Body Dysmorphic Disorder Show Brain Similarities, Differences

A new study shows partially overlapping patterns of brain function in people with anorexia nervosa and those with body dysmorphic disorder, a related psychiatric condition characterized by ...

Epigenetic Changes Precede Onset of Diabetes

Epigenetic changes in the islets of Langerhans of the pancreas can be detected in patients several years before the diagnosis of type 2 diabetes. These changes are responsible for the altered ...

Does the Mediterranean Diet Protect Against Rheumatoid Arthritis?

Previous research has demonstrated a variety of health benefits associated with the Mediterranean diet, which is rich in olive oil, cereals, fruit and vegetables, fish, and a moderate amount of ...

Weight Stigma Predicts Emotional Distress and Binge Eating During COVID-19

New research shows that young adults who experienced weight stigma before the pandemic have higher levels of depressive symptoms, stress, eating as a coping strategy, and are more likely to binge-eat ...

Common Diabetes Drug Reverses Inflammation in the Liver

The diabetes drug metformin has been prescribed to hundreds of millions of people worldwide as the frontline treatment for type 2 diabetes. Now, researchers have shown the importance of specific ...

Ghrelin May Be an Effective Treatment for Age-Related Muscle Loss

The hormone, ghrelin, may help protect the elderly population from muscle loss, according to a new study. The study found that administering a particular form of ghrelin to older mice helped to ...

A Spillover Effect: Medicaid Expansion Leads to Healthier Dietary Choices

Besides providing health care to millions, the Medicaid program helps recipients make healthier food choices, according to new ...

Probiotics May Help Manage Childhood Obesity

Probiotics may help children and adolescents with obesity lose weight when taken alongside a calorie-controlled diet, according to a new study. The study found that obese children who were put on a ...

Offspring of Mice Fed Imbalanced Diets Shown to Be Neurologically 'Programmed' for Obesity

Pregnant mice fed diets high in omega-6 fats and low in omega-3 fats are shown in a new study to produce offspring whose brains had a higher level of dopamine-producing neurons -- the neurological ...

Red Hot Meat: The Wrong Recipe for Heart Disease

From MasterChef to MKR, the world's best chefs have taught us how to barbeque, grill and panfry a steak to perfection. But while the experts may be seeking that extra flavor, new research ...

Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020