advertisement
Health Policy 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

How Blood and Wealth Can Predict Future Disability

Research shows that blood tests for biomarkers such as cholesterol and inflammation can predict disability in five years. Researchers studied blood biomarkers of 5,286 participants involved in the UK ...

COVID-19: Persistent Symptoms in One Third of Cases

Physicians in Geneva have shown that some of the troublesome symptoms of COVID-19 could last more than 6 weeks, even in patients without underlying risk ...

U.S. Should Look at How Other High-Income Countries Regulate Health Care Costs, Experts Urge

Structuring negotiations between insurers and providers, standardizing fee-for-service payments and negotiating prices can lower the United States' ...

Health Care Workers Most at Risk for COVID-19

Health care workers -- particularly nurses -- have a higher prevalence of SARS-CoV-2 infection than non-health care workers, according to a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:29pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Business Closures, Partial Reopenings Due to COVID May Cost the U.S. $3-$5 Trillion in GDP Over 2 Years, Study Finds

Economists project that a best-case scenario for the United States hinges on whether the initial mandatory closures and social distancing measures were sufficient to control the rise in coronavirus ...

Are People Healthy Enough to Retire Later?

While many people are now enjoying longer, healthier lives, current retirement ages are posing challenges for both policymakers and retirees. A new study looked into whether there is potential to ...

Neighborhood Deprivation and COVID in Louisiana

A new study to investigate the role of neighborhood deprivation on COVID-19 in Louisiana has found that the more a neighborhood is deprived, the higher the risk for cases of ...

COVID-19 Pandemic Responsible for Decrease in Hepatitis C Testing

New research finds that the COVID-19 emergency systemic changes made to decrease in-person visits during the pandemic have led to a decrease in hospital-wide Hepatitis C (HCV) testing by 50 percent, ...

Stimulus Relief Funds Increase Social Distancing to Stop Spread of COVID-19

New research suggests that that those suffering from economic hardships are less likely comply with new stay-at-home orders; however, these same U.S. residents would be more likely to adhere to the ...

Telemedicine Use Disparity During COVID-19 Among Head and Neck Cancer Patients, Study Finds

Retrospective research by otolaryngologists found telemedicine use disparity among head and neck cancer ...

National Autism Indicators Report: Health and Health Care of Individuals With Autism

Researchers highlight a holistic picture of what health and health care look like across the life course for people on the autism ...

COVID-19 Vaccine Effectiveness to Be Affected Heavily by Infrastructure, Public Attitudes

The success of a COVID-19 vaccine will depend not only on its efficacy, but will hinge at least as much on how fast and widely it can be delivered, the severity of the pandemic, and the public's ...

'Meet People Where They Are:' Local Health Departments Key to Hepatitis B Vaccination

A new study suggests that local health departments are vital to getting the hepatitis B vaccine to the people who need it ...

Life After COVID Hospitalization: Study Shows Major Lasting Effects on Health, Work and More

Outcomes for COVID-19 patients two months after a stay in one of 38 Michigan hospitals include high rates of death, rehospitalization, lingering health issues and problems with work and ...

Loneliness a Leading Cause of Depression in Older Adults

New research finds that loneliness is responsible for 18 percent of depression among people over 50 in ...

Prescriptions of Antipsychotic Medications in Young Children Is Declining

The use of antipsychotics in young children is declining but doctors continue to prescribe these medications off-label for conditions not approved by the Food and Drug Administration and without the ...

Severe COVID-19 Infection Rare in Newborns, Study Finds

Severe COVID-19 infection appears rare in newborn babies, suggests a new study. The study traced all babies, less than 29 days old with COVID-19 across the United Kingdom, who needed to be admitted ...

Clinicians Who Prescribe Unnecessary Antibiotics Fuel Future Antibiotic Use

Receipt of antibiotics for acute respiratory infections makes it more likely that patients and their families will seek care and receive antibiotics for future respiratory viral infections. In the ...

Social Media Can Guide Public Pandemic Policy, Research Finds

As global cases of COVID-19 fast approach 50 million, a team of Australian, Afghan, Iranian and Italian researchers examined more than 35,000 tweets and say social media analytics can capture the ...

Analysis Reveals High Burden of Musculoskeletal Disorders Across the Globe

Musculoskeletal disorders -- which affect muscles, tendons, ligaments, bones, and joints -- can severely affect individuals' physical and mental health, and they're especially prevalent ...

New Simulation Finds Max Cost for Cost-Effective Health Treatments

As health care costs balloon in the U.S., experts say it may be important to analyze whether those costs translate into better population health. A new study analyzed existing data to find a dividing ...

Excessive Alcohol Consumption During the COVID-19 Pandemic

The full impact of COVID-19 on alcohol use is not yet known, but rates have been rising during the first few months of the pandemic. There's an urgent need for public health and medical ...

Outcome of 2016 US Election Associated With Poorer Mental Health in Clinton Voters

There were 54.6 million more days of poor mental health among adults in states that voted for Hillary Clinton in December 2016, compared to October 2016, according to a new study. No such increase in ...

ICE Detention Centers Saw Sustained Outbreaks of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, Says Study

More than a dozen US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) detention centers experienced large, repeated outbreaks of vaccine-preventable illnesses in the last three years, according to a new ...

Thursday, December 10, 2020
Monday, December 7, 2020
Friday, December 4, 2020
Thursday, December 3, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020