advertisement
Influenza 亚博棋牌平台
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Will the COVID-19 Virus Become Endemic?

A new article explores the potential for the COVID-19 virus to become endemic, a regular feature producing recurring outbreaks in ...

Cells Sacrifice Themselves to Boost Immune Response to Viruses

Whether flu or coronavirus, it can take several days for the body to ramp up an effective response to a viral infection. New research describes how different cells in the immune system work together, ...

New Study Reveals Why Flu Can Be Devastating for Pregnant Women

New research overturns current scientific thinking on flu infection in pregnancy. The study helps explain why influenza can lead to life-threatening complications during pregnancy. The research also ...

Insight on How to Build a Better Flu Vaccine

Repeated exposure to influenza viruses may undermine the effectiveness of the annual flu vaccine. A team of researchers has developed an approach to assess whether a vaccine activates the kind of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

COVID-19 Recovery at Home Possible for Most Patients

A new study shows that the vast majority of patients who visited the Ruth and Harry Roman Emergency Department at Cedars-Sinai with suspected COVID-19 (novel coronavirus) symptoms, and who were ...

Identification of a Viral Factor That Impairs Immune Responses in COVID-19 Patients

Researchers aimed to characterize the viral factor(s) determining immune activation upon SARS-CoV-2 infection and found that ORF3b, a gene encoded by SARS-CoV-2, is a potent IFN ...

Influenza Vaccination May Provide Roadmap to Prevent COVID-19 in CV Disease Patients

Seasonal influenza vaccine development and mass production, as well as three international influenza vaccine cardiovascular outcomes trials currently underway, may inform future efforts targeted at ...

One in Three Parents Plan to Skip Flu Shots for Their Kids During COVID-19 Pandemic, Poll Finds

According to a new U.S. poll, COVID-19 may not influence parents' beliefs about the flu vaccine, with just one third believing it's more important for children to get vaccinated this year, ...

How Do Americans View the Virus? Anthropology Professor Examines Attitudes, Perceptions of COVID-19

A new study looks at how Americans' attitudes and responses have changed during the time of the pandemic and how to many people, the virus is not a biological agent but instead a malicious ...

Antibodies Protect Against Wide Range of Influenza B Virus Strains

Researchers have identified two antibodies that protect mice against lethal infections of influenza B virus. Together with an antibody that targets the other major kind of influenza viruses that ...

Lessons from Coronavirus Surveillance Testing in Seattle-Area Homeless Shelters

A coronavirus surveillance study undertaken at Seattle-area homeless shelters, starting as the pandemic emerged, provides possible community-based strategies for detecting SARS-CoV-2 infections and ...

Middle-Aged Individuals May Be in a Perpetual State of H3N2 Flu Virus Susceptibility

Researchers have found that middle-aged individuals -- those born in the late 1960s and the 1970s -- may be in a perpetual state of H3N2 influenza virus susceptibility because their antibodies bind ...

Seven in 10 Americans Willing to Get COVID-19 Vaccine, Survey Finds

Almost seven in 10 Americans would be interested in receiving a COVID-19 vaccine when one becomes available, according to a new study. But researchers say there are concerning gaps in interest, ...

Common Cold Jumpstarts Defense Against Influenza

As the flu season approaches, a strained public health system may have a surprising ally -- the common cold virus. Rhinovirus, the most frequent cause of common colds, can prevent the flu virus from ...

Vietnam Farmers' Poultry Sales During Outbreaks May Increase Virus Transmission

Small-scale poultry farmers in Vietnam tend to respond to viral outbreaks of highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) by rapidly selling their birds as a way to avoid financial loss, according to a ...

Vaccines Against Respiratory Infections Linked to Fewer Heart Failure Deaths

Influenza and pneumonia vaccinations are associated with fewer hospital deaths in patients with heart failure. That's the result of a study in nearly 3 million Americans. One out of five ...

Study Confirms Link Between Influenza, Heart Complications

A new study looking at more than 80,000 adult patients hospitalized with flu over eight seasons found that sudden, serious heart complications were common, occurring in 12 percent of patients. The ...

COVID-19 Vaccines Are Moving Fast, but Will Americans Agree to Get Them?

Only one in three U.S. adults received the flu vaccine in 2018, a number that has critical implications for the impending flu season, which threatens to overwhelm medical resources and lead to tens ...

Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 Spreads More Indoors at Low Humidity

The airborne transmission of the coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 via aerosol particles in indoor environment seems to be strongly influenced by relative humidity, concludes the analysis of 10 most relevant ...

COVID-19: How South Korea Prevailed While the United States Failed

In a commentary, researchers demonstrate the stark differences in public health strategies from two democratic republics: South Korea and the United States, which have led to alarming differences in ...

Seasonal Flu Vaccinations Don't 'Stick' Long-Term in Bone Marrow

Seasonal flu vaccination does increase the number of antibody-producing cells specific for flu in the bone marrow. However, most of the newly generated cells are lost within one year, researchers ...

Bouncing, Sticking, Exploding Viruses: Understanding the Surface Chemistry of SARS-CoV-2

Researchers highlight the need to understand the different environmental conditions that affect the surface chemistry of viruses like SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes the disease ...

Study Finds Dedicated Clinics Can Reduce Impact of Flu Pandemic

A new study concludes that opening clinics dedicated specifically to treating influenza can limit the number of people infected and help to 'flatten the curve,' or reduce the peak ...

Flu, Pneumonia Vaccinations Tied to Lower Risk of Alzheimer's Dementia

Flu (influenza) and pneumonia vaccinations are associated with reduced risk of Alzheimer's disease, according to new ...

Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019