advertisement
Mental Health Research 亚博棋牌平台
November 10, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Positive Student-Teacher Relationships Benefit Students' Long-Term Health, Study Finds

Teens who have good, supportive relationships with their teachers enjoy better health as adults, according to new research. Perhaps surprisingly, ...

Hypothyroidism in Pregnant Mothers Linked to ADHD in Their Children

Low levels of key, body-regulating chemicals in mothers during the first three months of pregnancy may interfere with the baby's brain development, a large study ...

Act Now on Wildfires, Global Climate Change, Human Health, Study Says

Immediate actions are needed to limit the greenhouse gas emissions that are driving climate change that helps fuel wildfires, a new study ...

The Effects of Oxytocin on Social Anxiety Depend on Location, Location, Location

The findings of the study show that oxytocin produced in the BNST increases stress-induced social anxiety behaviors in mice. This may provide an ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:58pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Prescriptions of Antipsychotic Medications in Young Children Is Declining

The use of antipsychotics in young children is declining but doctors continue to prescribe these medications off-label for conditions not approved by the Food and Drug Administration and without the ...

Significant Psychological Toll from New Zealand COVID-19 Lockdown

Research has confirmed the nationwide Alert Level 4 COVID-19 lockdown had a significant toll on New Zealanders' well-being, especially for younger people -- but the results were not all ...

Green Prescriptions Could Undermine the Benefits of Spending Time in Nature

Spending time in nature is believed to benefit people's mental health. However, new research suggests that giving people with existing mental health conditions formal 'green ...

Neuron-Based Gene Expression Study Reveals Insights on Fear and Its Regulation

The expression of a gene called CREB in certain neurons may function as a switch to regulate feelings of fear and its ...

Single Brain Region Links Depression and Anxiety, Heart Disease, and Treatment Sensitivity

Over-activity in a single brain region called the subgenual anterior cingulate cortex (sgACC) underlies several key symptoms of mood and anxiety disorders, but an antidepressant only successfully ...

PTSD and Alcohol Abuse Go Hand-in-Hand, but Males and Females Exhibit Symptoms Differently

Through intricate experiments designed to account for sex-specific differences, scientists have zeroed-in on certain changes in the brain that may be responsible for driving alcohol abuse among ...

COVID-19 Anxiety Linked to Body Image Issues

A new study has found that anxiety and stress directly linked to COVID-19 could be causing a number of body image issues. The research, which involved 506 UK adults, found that worries linked to ...

Children With Autism, ADHD Have More Doctor and Hospital Visits During Infancy

Children who are later diagnosed with autism and/or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder visit doctors and hospitals more often in their first year of life than non-affected children, suggesting ...

Could Excessive Sugar Intake Contribute to Aggressive Behaviors, ADHD, Bipolar Disorder?

New research suggests that conditions such as attention deficit hyperactivity syndrome (ADHD), bipolar disorder, and even aggressive behaviors may be linked with sugar intake, and that it may have an ...

Multiple Neurodevelopmental Conditions May Lead to Worse Educational Outcomes

Scottish children with multiple neurodevelopmental conditions experience greater school absenteeism and exclusion, poorer exam attainment and increased unemployment, according to a ...

Alcohol Use Changed Right After COVID-19 Lockdown

One in four adults reported a change in alcohol use almost immediately after stay-at-home orders were issued: 14 percent reported drinking more alcohol and reported higher levels of stress and ...

Major Deficits in Addressing Mental Health Needs of Asylum Seekers

A new study of asylum seekers in Germany suggests that, among those with symptoms of depression, anxiety, or posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), few receive a diagnosis from the health care system, ...

Yoga and Meditation Reduce Chronic Pain

A mindfulness-based stress reduction course was found to benefit patients with chronic pain and depression, leading to significant improvement in participant perceptions of pain, mood and functional ...

Antipsychotics for Treating Adult Depression Linked With Higher Mortality

Researchers have reported an increased mortality risk in adults with depression who initiated augmentation with newer antipsychotic medications compared to a control group that initiated augmentation ...

Social Media Use Linked With Depression, Secondary Trauma During COVID-19

Can't stop checking social media for the latest COVID-19 health information? You might want to take a break, according to researchers who discovered that excessive use of social media for ...

Girls Benefit from Doing Sports

Extracurricular sport in middle childhood diminishes subsequent ADHD symptoms in girls, but not in boys, a new study ...

Pandemic Sets Off Future Wave of Worsening Mental Health Issues

Long after a COVID-19 vaccination is developed and years after the coronavirus death toll is tallied, the impact on mental health will linger, continuing to inflict damage if not addressed, according ...

Novel Neuroimaging Study on Dissociative Symptoms Reveals Wounds of Childhood Trauma

Brain imaging analyses can uncover changes in functional connections between brain regions linked to dissociative ...

Low Level Alcohol Use During Pregnancy Can Impact Child's Brain Development

A new study finds any alcohol use during pregnancy, even low levels, is associated with subtle, yet significant behavioural and psychological effects in children including anxiety, depression and ...

Loneliness Levels High During COVID-19 Lockdown

During the initial phase of COVID-19 lockdown, rates of loneliness among people in the UK were high and were associated with a number of social and health factors, according to a new ...

Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020