advertisement
Pharmaceuticals 亚博棋牌平台
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

34% of Older Adults in the US Are Prescribed Potentially Inappropriate Drugs

The prescription of potentially inappropriate medications to older adults is linked to increased hospitalizations, and it costs patients, on average, ...

Scientists Engineer Bacteria-Killing Molecules from Wasp Venom

Scientists have engineered powerful new antimicrobial molecules from toxic proteins found in wasp venom. The team hopes to develop the molecules into new bacteria-killing drugs, an important ...

Experimental Glioblastoma Therapy Shows Curative Powers in Mice Models

Researchers used a second-generation pro-drug called MP-Pt(IV) to target the deadly cells of glioblastoma tumors and found mice harboring human glioblastoma tumors in their brains had greatly ...

Medicine for Multiple Sclerosis Patients Inhibits Coronavirus -- At Least in a Test Tube

A drug which has already been approved for the treatment of multiple sclerosis patients effectively inhibits the coronavirus when tested on human ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Calcium Bursts Kill Drug-Resistant Tumor Cells

Multidrug resistance (MDR) -- a process in which tumors become resistant to multiple medicines -- is the main cause of failure of cancer chemotherapy. Tumor cells often acquire MDR by boosting their ...

An Alternative to Animal Experiments

Researchers have cultured so-called intestinal organoids from human intestinal tissue, which is a common byproduct when performing bowel surgery. These small 'miniature intestines' can be ...

Repurposed Anti-Malarial Compounds Kill Diarrheal Parasite, Study Finds

A class of compounds used for malaria treatment also kill the intestinal parasite Cryptosporidium, a leading cause of diarrheal disease and death in children that has no cure, a multi-institution ...

A Single-Application Treatment for Ear Infections That Doesn't Need Refrigeration

Outer ear infections, which affect millions of people each year, are typically caused by the bacteria Pseudomonas aeruginosa or Staphylococcus aureus. Repeatedly administering antibiotic drops, the ...

Drugs Aren't Typically Tested on Women -- Artificial Intelligence Could Correct That Bias

Researchers have developed a machine learning algorithm that identifies and predicts differences in adverse drug effects between men and women by analyzing 50 years' worth of reports in an FDA ...

Drug Found to Correct Gene Defect That Causes Immune-Driven Gut Leakiness

Researchers have found that the drug tofacitinib, also called Xeljanz and approved by the FDA to treat rheumatoid arthritis and ulcerative colitis, can repair permeability defects in the ...

Common Antioxidant Enzyme May Provide Potential Treatment for COVID-19

Catalase, a naturally occurring enzyme, holds potential as a low-cost therapeutic drug to treat COVID-19 symptoms and suppress the replication of coronavirus inside the body, researchers have ...

A Cancer Shredder

Researchers have developed a new compound for treating cancer. It destroys a protein that triggers its ...

Genetic Testing Cost Effective for Newly Diagnosed GIST

Researchers reported that genetic testing is cost-effective and beneficial for newly diagnosed patients with metastatic gastrointestinal stromal tumors (GIST), a rare type of ...

Study Provides Additional Support for Use of New Class of Diabetes Drugs

A new study has assessed the cardiovascular and renal outcomes for ertugliflozin, an SGLT2 inhibitor prescribed for patients with type 2 diabetes to help them control blood sugar ...

Opening an Autophagy Window as the Apoptosis Door Starts to Close

Researchers have successfully attached the cancer cell-targeting antibody Trastuzumab to a previously reported supermolecule that induces autophagic cell death. The antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) ...

New Mechanism of Action Against SARS-CoV-2 by Antiviral Drug Remdesivir

Researchers have discovered a novel, second mechanism of action by the antiviral drug remdesivir against SARS-CoV-2. The research team previously demonstrated how remdesivir inhibits the COVID-19 ...

Customizable Synthetic Antibiotic Outmaneuvers Resistant Bacteria

Antibiotic resistance is one of the world's most urgent public health threats. In the United States alone, tens of thousands of deaths result each year from drug-resistant strains of common ...

'Trojan Horse' Approach to Kill Cancer Cells Without Using Drugs

Cancer cells are killed in lab experiments and tumor growth reduced in mice, using a new approach that turns a nanoparticle into a 'Trojan horse' that causes cancer cells to ...

The Hypnotic Potential of Thalidomide

Researchers demonstrate that the hypnotic and teratogenic effects of thalidomide are ...

New Drug Candidate Found for Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease

Researchers have identified a potential drug candidate against enterovirus 71, a common cause of hand, foot and mouth disease in infants and young children. The compound of interest is a small ...

A Scientific First: How Psychedelics Bind to Key Brain Cell Receptor

For the first time, scientists solved the high-resolution structure of these compounds when they are actively bound to the 5-HT2A serotonin receptor on the surface of brain cells. This discovery is ...

Many Practitioners Are Not Prescribing HIV Prevention Medication

Only about 54% of medical practitioners surveyed say they have prescribed pre-exposure prophylaxis, or PrEP, to HIV-vulnerable patients, according to a new ...

Why the Dose Matters: Study Shows Levels and Anti-Tumor Effectiveness of a Common Drug Vary Widely

When used to manage infections, the drug itraconazole is generally given at a single, fixed dose to all patients. But determining the correct dosage of the drug to help treat cancer isn't that ...

New Smart Drug Delivery System May Help Treatment for Neurological Disorders

A research team has created a smart drug delivery system that reduces inflammation in damaged nervous tissues and may help treat spinal cord injuries and other neurological disorders. The system, ...

Friday, October 16, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Saturday, June 20, 2020