advertisement
Child Development 亚博棋牌平台
December 8, 2020

Top Headlines
 

How Do We Separate the Factual from the Possible? New Research Shows How Our Brain Responds to Both

Our brains respond to language expressing facts differently than they do to words conveying possibility, a team of neuroscientists has found. Its ...

Rap Music Increasingly Mixes in Mental Health Metaphors

The proportion of rap songs that referenced depression, suicide and mental health struggles more than doubled between 1998 and 2018, according to a study by the University of North Carolina at Chapel ...

Drinking Linked to a Decline in Brain Health from Cradle to Grave

The evidence for the harmful effects of alcohol on brain health is compelling, but now experts have pinpointed three key time periods in life when the effects of alcohol are likely to be at their ...

Parents Shouldn't Worry About Their Baby's Inconsistent Sleep Patterns

New parents often expect their baby to start sleeping through the night around the time they reach six months of age. But according to a new study parents should view sleep consolidation as a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:32pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Poor Sleep Can Lead to Depression in Adolescents

Chronic sleep disruption during adolescence can lead to depression in both males and females and alters stress reactivity in females, according to a new study. Their findings are particularly ...

How Language, Cultural Identity Can Affect Pain

A new study suggests that the language a bilingual person speaks can affect their physical sensations, depending on the cultural association tied to each ...

Kids' TV Teaching Children Wrong Lessons About Pain

New analysis of children's TV and film suggests that too often it portrays pain as something arising only through violent act or injury when instead it could do more to educate young people ...

National Autism Indicators Report: Health and Health Care of Individuals With Autism

Researchers highlight a holistic picture of what health and health care look like across the life course for people on the autism ...

Mothers' Stress May Lead to Preterm Births, Faster Aging in Children

Why do some people age faster than others? A new study indicates that a mother's stress prior to giving birth may accelerate her child's biological aging later in life. A second study from ...

Preschool Children Can't See the Mountains for the Cat

Imagine seeing an image of a cat in front of a wide scene of mountains and being told just to remember the mountains if you saw them in a later picture. As an adult, that's not hard to do. But a ...

Research Unlocks New Information About Reading Through Visual Dictionary in the Brain

The uniquely human ability to read is the cornerstone of modern civilization, yet very little is understood about the effortless ability to derive meaning from written words. Scientists have now ...

How We Learn Words and Sentences at the Same Time

How people work out the meanings of new words has been revealed by researchers, who say this is similar to the way in which young children learn language. The researchers said: ''A lot of ...

Exploring Links Between Infant Vocabulary Size and Vocal Interactions With Caregivers

Analysis of recordings from infants' homes reveals that certain types of vocal interactions between adults and infants are associated with a larger infant ...

Why Experiences Are Better Gifts for Older Children

What should we get for our kids this holiday? As children get older, giving them something they can experience (live through) instead of material things makes them happier, according to new ...

Stress in Pregnancy May Influence Baby Brain Development

Infants' brains may be shaped by levels of stress their mother experiences during pregnancy, a brain scanning study has ...

Newfound Ability to Change Baby Brain Activity Could Lead to Rehabilitation for Injured Brains

Researchers have identified the brain activity for the first time in a newborn baby when they are learning an association between different types of sensory experiences. Using advanced MRI scanning ...

Loneliness in Youth Could Impact Mental Health Over the Long Term

A new review reports on the available evidence about children and young people specifically, stating that loneliness is associated with mental health problems, including depression and ...

Parental Restrictions on Tech Use Have Little Lasting Effect Into Adulthood

A new study of more than 1,200 individuals found that time spent with digital technology during adolescence has little impact on long-term use, suggesting that worries about widespread tech addiction ...

Breakthrough in Childhood Brain Cancer Will Save Lives

A scientific breakthrough has enabled experts to predict relapse in a common childhood cancer and means doctors can tailor treatment for each individual child and improve ...

Learning a New Language Changes the Brain's Division of Labor

Learning a language later in life changes how the two halves of the brain contribute. As skills improve, language comprehension changes hemisphere specialization, but production does not, according ...

'Alarming' COVID-19 Study Shows 80 Percent of Respondents Report Significant Symptoms of Depression

A new national survey, looking at how the COVID-19 pandemic has impacted young U.S. adults' loneliness, reveals 'significant depressive symptoms' in 80 percent of ...

Scientists Discover New Mechanism Controlling Brain Size

International research has led to the discovery of a new mechanism that controls the size of our brains. The finding, which is based on studies on a rare congenital brain disease, delivers an ...

Parasite Infection Discovery Could Assist Mental Health Treatments

New research into how a common parasite infection alters human behavior could help development of treatments for schizophrenia and other neurological disorders. T. gondii currently infects 2.5 ...

Children With a Migration Background Often Misdiagnosed as Having an 'Impairment of Language Acquisition'

Around 45% of children in Austrian day nurseries have a first language other than German. Those who our experiencing difficulty in learning the second language are often diagnosed as having a ...

Monday, December 7, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Monday, November 23, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Saturday, September 5, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020