advertisement
K-12 Education 亚博棋牌平台
October 22, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Distracted Learning a Big Problem, Golden Opportunity for Educators, Students

Although experts say using electronic media while doing schoolwork negatively impacts learning, many students believe they're immune to any ill ...

How Long Does the Preschool Advantage Last?

Children who attend preschool enter kindergarten with greater skills than those who don't, but that advantage is nearly halved by the end of the year as their counterparts quickly begin to catch up, ...

Busy Pictures Hinder Reading Ability in Children

A new study shows extraneous images draw attention from text, reducing comprehension in beginning ...

Heavy Electronic Media Use in Late Childhood Linked to Lower Academic Performance

A new study of 8- to 11-year olds reveals an association between heavy television use and poorer reading performance, as well as between heavy ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:31pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Does Classroom Indoor Environmental Quality Affect Teaching and Learning?

What impact does a classroom's indoor environment have on teaching, learning, and students' academic achievement in colleges and universities? This is the question researchers set out to ...

Which Is More Creative, the Arts or the Sciences?

An expert in creativity and innovation is calling for schools and universities to increase their emphasis on teaching creativity, as new research shows it is a core competency across all disciplines ...

New Education 'Hubs' for Deaf Children Needed to Replace Social Spaces Lost When Specialist Schools Close

New dedicated hubs for deaf children are needed around the country to provide new social spaces, education and support, an expert has ...

Research Explores the Link Between Wages, School and Cognitive Ability in South Africa

Using data sets that only became available in recent years, researchers at Binghamton University, State University of New York analyzed the wage impact of cognitive skills in South ...

Study: More Than Half of US Students Experience Summer Learning Losses Five Years in a Row

Following U.S. students across five summers between grades 1 and 6, a little more than half (52 percent) experienced learning losses in all five summers, according to a large national study. Students ...

Prospective Teachers Misperceive Black Children as Angry

New research finds that prospective teachers appear more likely to misperceive Black children as angry than white children, which may undermine the education of Black ...

Achievement Isn't Why More Men Are Majoring in Physics, Engineering and Computer Science

Researchers have found that the reason there are more undergraduate men than women majoring in physics, engineering and computer science is not because men are higher achievers. On the contrary, the ...

Using LEGO to Test Children's Ability to Visualize and Rotate 3D Shapes in Space

Researchers have developed a test that uses children's ability to assemble LEGO pieces to assess their spatial visualization ability. Spatial visualization is the ability to visualize 3D shapes ...

New Linguistic Findings on the Prevalence of 'LOL'

A new study involving a scientific analysis of the prevalence of 'LOL' in students' text messages demonstrates important potential applications for classroom ...

Surging Numbers of First-Generation Learners Being Left Behind in Global Education

'First-generation learners' -- a substantial number of pupils around the world who represent the first generation in their families to receive an education - are also significantly more ...

Parents With Degrees Give Their Children Significant Advantage in Math

Children of parents with a degree are almost a year of schooling ahead in math by the age 11 than peers whose parents have just GCSEs, a new study has ...

Public Policies Push Schools to Prioritize Creating Better Test-Takers Over Better People

Personal growth and job skills have taken a backseat to an increased focus on standardized test scores in schools across the nation, according to new ...

Teacher Evaluations Weed out Low-Performing Teachers in Urban Schools

New research finds that statewide K-12 teacher evaluation systems have proven to phase out lower performing teachers and retain more effective teachers for longer periods of time -- particularly in ...

'Low' Socioeconomic Status Is the Biggest Barrier to STEM Participation

A new study has found that socioeconomic status (SES) has the strongest impact on whether secondary school students study the STEM ...

Technology in Higher Education: Learning With It Instead of from It

Technology has shifted the way that professors teach students in higher education. For example, by uploading recorded lectures online, students can reference a digital copy of the topics discussed in ...

UK Special School Pupils 'Treated Differently', Following Removal of Standardized Assessments

Following the recent withdrawal of standardized assessments, children with intellectual disabilities at special schools in the UK are again being treated differently to children at mainstream ...

Students' Feelings About High School Are Mostly Negative

In a nationwide US survey of 21,678 US high school students, researchers found that nearly 75% of the students' self-reported feelings related to school were ...

Praise, Rather Than Punish, to See Up to 30% Greater Focus in the Classroom

To improve behavior in class, teachers should focus on praising children for good behavior, rather than telling them off for being disruptive, according to a new ...

High School GPAs Are Stronger Predictors of College Graduation Than ACT Scores

Students' high school grade point averages are five times stronger than their ACT scores at predicting college graduation, according to a new ...

Nearly All Middle School Teachers Are Highly Stressed

Researchers have found that 94% of middle school teachers experience high levels of stress, which could contribute to negative outcomes for students. Researchers say that reducing the burden of ...

Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018