advertisement
Bacteria 亚博棋牌平台
October 27, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Bacterial Metabolism of Dietary Soy May Lower Risk Factor for Dementia

A metabolite produced following consumption of dietary soy may decrease a key risk factor for dementia - with the help of the right bacteria, according to a new ...

Microbial Diversity Below Seafloor Is as Rich as on Earth's Surface

For the first time, researchers have mapped the biological diversity of marine sediment, one of Earth's largest global biomes. The research team discovered that microbial diversity in the dark, ...

CRISPR Meets Pac-Man: New DNA Cut-and-Paste Tool Enables Bigger Gene Edits

Gene editing for the development of new treatments, and for studying disease as well as normal function in humans and other organisms, may advance more quickly with a new tool for cutting larger ...

Those Funky Cheese Smells Allow Microbes to 'Talk' to and Feed Each Other

Researchers found that bacteria essential to ripening cheese can sense and respond to compounds produced by fungi in the rind and released into the air, enhancing the growth of some species of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:35am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Protective Shield: Membrane-Attached Protein Protects Bacteria and Chloroplasts from Stress

Stress is present everywhere, even bacteria and plant cells have to cope with it. They express various specific stress proteins, but how exactly this line of defense works is often not clear. A group ...

Bacterial Toxin With Healing Effect

A bacterial toxin promoting tissue healing has been discovered. The compound, found in Staphylococcus aureus, does not just damage cells, but also stimulates tissue ...

On the Trail of Novel Infectious Agents in Wildlife

A research team investigated the causes of severe respiratory disease in peccaries and taxonomically characterized a novel Streptococcus species (Streptococcus catagoni sp. nov.) based on its ...

Scientists Engineer Bacteria-Killing Molecules from Wasp Venom

Scientists have engineered powerful new antimicrobial molecules from toxic proteins found in wasp venom. The team hopes to develop the molecules into new bacteria-killing drugs, an important ...

Mechanical Forces of Biofilms Could Play Role in Infections

Studying bacterial biofilms, scientists have discovered that mechanical forces within them are sufficient to deform the soft material they grow on, e.g. biological tissues, suggesting a ...

Bacterial Cellulose Degradation System Could Give Boost to Biofuels Production

Researchers have uncovered details of how a certain type of bacteria breaks down cellulose -- a finding that could help reduce the cost and environmental impact of the use of biomass, including ...

Fighting Intestinal Infections With the Body's Own Endocannabinoids

Endocannabinoids, signaling molecules produced in the body that share features with chemicals found in marijuana, can shut down genes needed for some pathogenic intestinal bacteria to colonize, ...

Invisible Threat: Listeria in Smoked Fish

Fish should be a regular component of our diets. It is an important source of biologically high-quality and easily digestible protein, minerals and vitamins. However, raw, smoked and cured fish ...

This year's Nobel Prize in Chemistry is being awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna for the development of the CRISPR/Cas9 method for genome ...

There's a Reason Bacteria Stay in Shape

A simple theoretical model seeks to explain why bacteria remain roughly the same size and shape. The work by chemists could offer new insight into diseases, including ...

Supercharged 'Clones' Spark Scarlet Fever's Re-Emergence

Scarlet fever is on the rise worldwide, after being almost eradicated by the 1940s. Researchers says supercharged 'clones' of the bacteria Streptococcus pyogenes are to blame for the ...

A Tale of Two Cesspits: DNA Reveals Intestinal Health in Medieval Europe and Middle East

Analysis of 14th-15th century latrines in Jerusalem and Riga, Latvia identifies some of the microbes resident in the guts of these pre-industrial populations, illuminating how gut contents have ...

Biomedical Sciences Researchers Find New Way to Prevent and Cure Rotavirus, Other Viral Infections

A combination of two substances secreted by the immune system can cure and prevent rotavirus infection, as well as potentially treat other viral infections that target epithelial cells, which cover ...

Carb-Eating Bacteria Under Viral Threat

Strictly speaking, humans cannot digest complex carbohydrates -- that's the job of bacteria in our large intestines. Scientists have just discovered a new group of viruses that attack these ...

Cause of 1990s Argentina Cholera Epidemic Uncovered

The evolution of epidemic and endemic strains of the cholera-causing bacterium Vibrio cholerae in Argentina has been mapped in detail. The researchers used whole genome sequencing to study the ...

Medical Mystery: 'Creeping Fat' in Crohn's Patients Linked to Bacteria

Researchers might have solved a mystery surrounding Crohn's disease: Why does fat appear to migrate into patients' small ...

E. Coli Engineered to Grow on CO2 and Formic Acid as Sole Carbon Sources

A metabolic engineering research group has developed a strategy to grow an E. coli strain to higher cell density solely on CO2 and formic acid. Formic acid is a one carbon carboxylic acid, and can be ...

Strong Activation of Anti-Bacterial T Cells Linked to Severe COVID-19

A type of anti-bacterial T cells, so-called MAIT cells, are strongly activated in people with moderate to severe COVID-19 disease, according to a new ...

Switching Up: Marine Bacteria Shift Between Lifestyles to Get the Best Resources

Researchers have found that marine bacteria exploit resource patches efficiently by switching between attached and planktonic lifestyles, and fine-tuning the time spent on patches depending on their ...

Born to Be Wild: Fungal Highways Let Bacteria Travel in Exchange for Thiamine

Researchers find a mutualistic growth mechanism between a filamentous fungus and a bacterium that allows the bacterium to travel in exchange for ...

Friday, October 23, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Sunday, September 13, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020