advertisement
Behavioral Science 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Using Water Fleas, Researchers Investigate Adaptive Evolution

Researchers resurrected the preserved eggs of a shrimp-like crustacean to examine long-standing questions about adaptive ...

Robots Could Replace Real Therapy Dogs

Robotic animals could be the 'pawfect' replacement for our real-life furry friends, a new study has ...

Gut Microbiota Plays a Role in Brain Function and Mood Regulation

Depression is a mental disorder that affects more than 264 million people of all ages worldwide. Understanding its mechanisms is vital for the development of effective therapeutic strategies. ...

Neuropeptide Discoveries Could Someday Help Defeat the Dreaded Cockroach

Cockroaches are notorious for their abilities to survive and reproduce, much to humanity's chagrin. In addition to scurrying around at night, feeding on human and pet food, and generating an ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:06pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

DeepLabCut-Live! Real-Time Marker-Less Motion Capture for Animals

Behavioral scientists introduce DeepLabCut-Live!, a deep-learning tool that can enable real-time feedback studies on animal movement and posture. The software features 'maker-less' ...

Coppery Titi Monkeys Do Not Deceive Their Partners

Since methods for genetic paternity analyses were introduced it became clear that many pair-living animal species, including humans, do not take partnership fidelity that seriously. In most species ...

Sexual Lineage Plays Key Role in Transgenerational Plasticity

A new pair of articles has shown that sexual lineage matters for how offspring receive adaptations from parents in stickleback fish. Researchers studied how parents who were exposed to predators ...

Very Hungry and Angry, Caterpillars Head-Butt to Get What They Want

When food is scarce, monarch butterfly caterpillars go from docile to domineering. The results look something like a combination of boxing and 'bumper' cars. The less food, the more likely ...

Can Animals Use Iridescent Colors to Communicate?

A new paper sheds light on the colorful world of animal communication, highlighting the challenges of studying accurately how iridescent colors work in ...

Review Examines Sexual Aggression in Mammals

A recent review of published studies in non-human mammals examines 'sexual disturbance,' or male behavior towards a female around mating that can be costly for the female -- for example, ...

Parasite Infection Discovery Could Assist Mental Health Treatments

New research into how a common parasite infection alters human behavior could help development of treatments for schizophrenia and other neurological disorders. T. gondii currently infects 2.5 ...

Mimicking SARS-CoV-2 Nasal Infection in Monkeys

A new rhesus macaque animal model recapitulates the clinical and pathological manifestations of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) observed in humans by mimicking natural infection via the nasal ...

Wrinkle-Faced Male Bats Lower Face Masks to Copulate

The first behavioral observations of wrinkle-faced bats in their natural habitat reveal that this elusive species uses the rarest form of bat courtship behavior, according to a new ...

Compounds Block Stress-Enhanced Nicotine Intake in Rats

Researchers have discovered that compounds that activate GABA receptors in the brain can keep rats from self-administering increased levels of nicotine during stressful conditions in an animal model ...

Animal Groups Consider Multiple Factors Before Fighting

Groups of animals consider multiple factors before deciding whether to fight rivals, researchers ...

Urban Gulls Adapt Foraging Schedule to Human Activity Patterns

If you've ever seen a seagull snatch a pasty or felt their beady eyes on your sandwich in the park, you'd be right to suspect they know exactly when to strike to increase their chances of ...

Researchers Develop DNA Approach to Forecast Ecosystem Changes

The rapid, low-cost technique is the first to analyze DNA left behind in animals' feces to map out complex networks of species interactions in a terrestrial system. It could help redefine ...

Cockroach Mating Habits and Developmental Features Help Uncover Insect Evolution

Researchers find that a 'lost' family of cockroaches may be the missing link in the evolution of insects from prehistoric times to the present ...

Global-Scale Animal Ecology Reveals Behavioral Changes in Response to Climate Change

Biologists developed a data archive of animal movement studies from across the global Arctic and sub-Arctic and conducted three case studies that revealed surprising patterns and associations between ...

Nervous Systems of Insects Inspire Efficient Future AI Systems

Study explores functions of fruit fly's nervous system in food seeking / results valuable for the development and control of artificial ...

Ants Swallow Their Own Acid to Protect Themselves from Germs

Ants use their own acid to disinfect themselves and their stomachs. A team has found that formic acid kills harmful bacteria in the animal's food, thereby reducing the risk of disease. At the ...

Bats Can Predict the Future, Researchers Discover

They can't tell fortunes and they're useless with the stock market but bats are quite skilled at predicting one thing: where to find dinner. Bats calculate where their prey is headed by ...

Birdwatching from Afar: Amazing New AI-Enabled Camera System to Target Specific Behaviors

Researchers have developed an innovative animal-borne data-collection system assisted by artificial intelligence to track previously unobserved behaviors in wild animals. The method uses low-cost ...

Beetle Larvae Think With Brain 'Under Construction'

In human brains, hundreds of billions of nerve cells are interconnected in the most complicated way. This is no different for insects, although their brains 'only' have up to one million ...

Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Monday, November 23, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020