advertisement
Birds 亚博棋牌平台
October 23, 2020

Top Headlines
 

DNA in Fringe-Lipped Bat Feces Reveals Unexpected Eating Habits

By examining the guano of the fringe-lipped bat (Trachops cirrhosus), biologists encountered surprising results about its eating habits and foraging ...

These Two Bird-Sized Dinosaurs Evolved the Ability to Glide, but Weren't Great at It

Despite having bat-like wings, two small dinosaurs, Yi and Ambopteryx, struggled to fly, only managing to glide clumsily between the trees where they ...

Social Life as a Driving Factor of Birds' Generosity

Taking a look at generosity within the crow family reveals parallels with human evolution. Working together to raise offspring and increased tolerance towards group members contribute to the ...

Legacy Pollutants Found in Migratory Terns in Great Lakes Region

Chemicals that haven't been manufactured in the U.S. for years or even decades are still turning up in the bodies of migratory terns in the Great Lakes region, a new study finds. The research focused ...
Latest Headlines
updated 7:35pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Crabs Are Key to Ecology and Economy in Oman

The intertidal mudflats of Barr Al Hikman, a nature reserve at the south-east coast of the Sultanate Oman, are crucial nursery grounds for numerous crab species. In return, crabs are a vital element ...

The First Human Settlers on Islands Caused Extinctions

Though some believe prehistoric humans lived in harmony with nature, a new analysis of fossils shows human arrival in the Bahamas caused some birds to be lost from the islands and other species to be ...

Cheating Birds Mimic Host Nestlings to Deceive Foster Parents

While common cuckoos mimic their host's eggs, new research has revealed that a group of parasitic finch species in Africa have evolved to mimic their host's chicks - and with astonishing ...

Bright Light Bars Big-Eyed Birds from Human-Altered Landscapes

New research shows the glaring light in human-altered landscapes, such as livestock pastures and crop fields, can act as a barrier to big-eyed birds, potentially contributing to their ...

A new study provides substantial evidence that the first fossil feather ever to be discovered does belong to the iconic bird-like dinosaur, Archaeopteryx. This debunks a recent theory that the fossil ...

Ancient Adélie Penguin Colony Revealed by Snowmelt at Cape Irizar, Ross Sea, Antarctica

Researchers encountered a puzzle at Cape Irizar, a rocky cape located just south of the Drygalski Ice Tongue on the Scott Coast, Ross Sea. He found both ancient and what appeared to be fresh remains ...

Climate Change Threatens Breeding Birds

Surviving on a warming planet can be a matter of timing -- but simply shifting lifecycle stages to match the tempo of climate change has hidden dangers for some animals, according to new research. ...

Shorebirds More Likely to Divorce After Successful Breeding

Researchers found that a range of factors affected the fidelity and parenting behavior of plovers, rather than being defined by the ...

Bird Genes Are Multitaskers, Say Scientists

Scientists have found that although male and female birds have an almost identical set of genes, they function differently in each sex through a mechanism called alternative ...

The Surprising Organization of Avian Brains

Some birds can perform amazing cognitive feats - even though their forebrains seem to just consist of lumps of grey cells, while mammalian forebrains harbour a highly complex neocortex. A study ...

PFAS in Seabirds: Narragansett Bay, Massachusetts Bay, Cape Fear

A recent study found high levels of PFAS compounds in seabirds from offshore Massachusetts and coastal Rhode Island and North Carolina adding to the accumulating pile of evidence related to human and ...

Wild Birds as Offerings to the Egyptian Gods

Millions of mummified ibis and birds of prey, sacrificed to the Egyptian gods Horus, Ra or Thoth, have been discovered in the necropolises of the Nile Valley. Such a quantity of mummified birds ...

Warming Ocean, Old-Forest Loss Put a Squeeze on an Elusive Seabird

Squeezed by changing ocean conditions that limit their food options and the long-term loss of old forest needed for nesting, marbled murrelets would benefit most from conservation efforts that take ...

Epigenetics Linked to Genetic Differences Between Domesticated and Wild Chickens

Some of the genetic differences that have arisen between domesticated chickens and their wild ancestors, the red junglefowl, are linked to epigenetic changes, according to a new study. Scientists ...

Bird Beak Revealed by Laser Imaging Informs Early Beak Function and Development

Confuciusornis was a crow-like fossil bird that lived in the Cretaceous ~120 million years ago. It was one of the first birds to evolve a beak. Early beak evolution remains understudied. Using an ...

Scientists Explaining How Diverse Species Coexist in Microbial Communities

Researchers use mathematical modeling to explore how species diversity in a bacterial community is affected when the nutrients the microbes depend upon are only seasonally ...

Slower Growing Chickens Experience Higher Welfare, Commercial Scale Study Finds

Slower growing broiler chickens are healthier and have more fun than conventional breeds of birds, new evidence from an independent commercial scale farm trial has ...

Rare Pattern Observed in Migrating Common Swifts

Compared with other migratory birds, the common swift follows a very unusual pattern when it migrates from the breeding areas in Europe to its wintering locations south of the Sahara. This is what ...

Researchers Identify Five Types of Cat Owner

Cat owners fall into five categories in terms of their attitudes to their pets' roaming and hunting, according to a new ...

Birds Can Learn from Others to Be More Daring

New research into highly social yet invasive house sparrows reveals that they can learn from each other and adapt their ...

Thursday, October 8, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020