advertisement
Botany 亚博棋牌平台
October 22, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Plants Communicate at a Molecular Level

Biologists have discovered how tomato plants identify Cuscuta as a parasite. The plant has a protein in its cell walls that is identified as 'foreign' by a receptor in the ...

Cheaters Don't Always Win: Species That Work Together Do Better

The sign of a healthy personal relationship is one that is equally mutual - where you get out just as much as you put in. Nature has its own version of a healthy relationship. A team of researchers ...

Supercomputing Study Breaks Ground for Tree Mapping, Carbon Research

A new method for mapping the location and size of trees growing outside of forests helped scientists discover billions of trees in arid and semi-arid regions and lays the groundwork for more accurate ...

Laser Technology Measures Biomass in World's Largest Trees

Laser technology has been used to measure the volume and biomass of giant Californian redwood trees for the first time, records a new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Phosphate Polymer Forms a Cornerstone of Metabolic Control

In a changing climate, understanding how organisms respond to stress conditions is increasingly important. New work could enable scientists to engineer the metabolism of organisms to be more ...

More Diversity Needed in Oil Palm Plantations

Growing global demand for palm oil has led to a rapid spread of oil palm monoculture plantations in South East Asia, often associated with the loss of habitats and biodiversity. Plantations are ...

Trees and Lawns Beat the Heat

As climate change pushes many cities towards dangerous temperatures, planners are scrambling to mitigate excessive heat. One strategy is to replace artificial surfaces with vegetation cover. In ...

Planting Parasites: Unveiling Common Molecular Mechanisms of Parasitism and Grafting

Using the model Orobanchaceae parasitic plant Phtheirospermum japonicum, scientists have discerned the molecular mechanisms underlying plant parasitism and cross-species grafting, pinpointing one ...

Climate Patterns Linked in Amazon, North and South America, Study Shows

Researchers have developed a tree-ring chronology from the Amazon River basin that established a link between climate patterns in the Amazon and the ...

Taking Sides: Factors That Influence Patterns in Protein Distribution

A new article has found that even cells in isolation can become polarized to create the head to tail pattern, and that this polarity can orient how the cell ...

Dietary Migration of Impala Rivals the Geographical Migration of Serengeti Wildebeest

A new study shows the Impala's migration is a 'dietary migration', where they switch from eating mostly grass in the wet season, to eating more tree leaves or 'browse' during ...

The banyan fig tree Ficus microcarpa is famous for its aerial roots, which sprout from branches and eventually reach the soil. The tree also has a unique relationship with a wasp that has coevolved ...

Long-Term Consequences Difficult to Predict

A research team has investigated the consequences of changes in plant biodiversity for the functioning of ecosystems. The scientists found that the relationships between plant traits and ecosystem ...

CRISPRing Trees for a Climate-Friendly Economy

Researchers have discovered a way to stably fine-tune the amount of lignin in poplar by applying CRISPR/Cas9 technology. Lignin is one of the main structural substances in plants and it makes ...

Evolution in Action: New Plant Species in the Swiss Alps

A new plant species named Cardamine insueta appeared in the region of Urnerboden in the Swiss alps, after the land has changed from forest to grassland over the last 150 years. The inheritance of two ...

Shattering Expectations: Novel Seed Dispersal Gene Found in Green Millet

Researchers generated genome sequences for nearly 600 green millet plants and released a very high-quality reference S. viridis genome sequence and also identified a gene related to seed dispersal in ...

World's Largest Collection of Moss Species

Researchers have established the world's largest collection of moss species for the peat industry and ...

Cyanobacteria as 'Green' Catalysts in Biotechnology

Researchers show how the catalytic activity of cyanobacteria, also known as blue-green algae, can be significantly increased. This brings biotechnological and thus eco-friendly application a big step ...

Efficient Pollen Identification

From pollen forecasting, honey analysis and climate-related changes in plant-pollinator interactions, analysing pollen plays an important role in many areas of research. Microscopy is still the gold ...

Harvesting Vegetation on Riparian Buffers Barely Reduces Water-Quality Benefits

Allowing farmers to harvest vegetation from their riparian buffers will not significantly impede the ability of those streamside tracts to protect water quality by capturing nutrients and sediment -- ...

Potential New Tool for Frost Screening in Crops

Agricultural scientists and engineers have identified a potential new tool for screening cereal crops for frost ...

Can Organic Plant Protection Products Damage Crops?

Some organic pesticides contain live spores of the fungus Trichoderma to suppress other pathogens. Researchers found one Trichoderma species can cause severe rot in cobs of maize ...

Rapeseed Instead of Soy Burgers: Researchers Identify a New Source of Protein for Humans

Rapeseed has the potential to replace soy as the best plant-based source of protein for humans. In a current study, nutrition scientists found that rapeseed protein consumption has comparable ...

Redefining Drought in the US Corn Belt

As the climate trends warmer and drier, global food security increasingly hinges on crops' ability to withstand drought. But are scientists and producers focusing on the right metric when ...

Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Saturday, October 10, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Saturday, September 12, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020