advertisement
Endangered Animals 亚博棋牌平台
December 7, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Flightless Bird Species at Risk of Extinction

Bird species that have lost the ability to fly through evolution have become extinct more often than birds that have retained their ability to fly, according to new ...

Amphibian Die-Offs Worsened Malaria Outbreaks in Central America

The global collapse of frogs and other amphibians due to the amphibian chytrid fungus exacerbated malaria outbreaks in Costa Rica and Panama during the 1990s and 2000s, according to new research. The ...

Jaguars Robust to Climate Extremes but Lack of Food Threatens Species

Researchers lead a world-first investigation into the chances of wild jaguars surviving climate extremes with six scenarios modelling the behavior, mating, births of cubs, competition, illegal ...

Guam's Most Endangered Tree Species Reveals Universal Biological Concept

Newly published research has used a critically endangered species to show how trees modify leaf function to best exploit prevailing light conditions. The findings revealed numerous leaf traits that ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:05pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

It's Not Too Late to Save 102 Species at Risk of Extinction

The Fraser River estuary in British Columbia is home to 102 species at risk of extinction. A new study says it's not too late to save these species if action is taken ...

Study Improves Ability to Predict How Whales Travel Through Their Ocean Habitat

Scientists recently published a study that could help researchers learn where protections are needed the most for bowhead ...

Extremely Rare Parasitic Crustacean Discovered in Museum Shark Collection

Scientists have discovered an extremely rare species of cymothoid from the mouth of a museum specimen of a deep-sea shark caught from the East China Sea, suggesting its wide distribution around the ...

Henderson Island Fossils Reveal New Polynesian Sandpiper Species

Fossil bones collected in the early 1990s on Henderson Island, part of the Pitcairn Group, have revealed a new species of Polynesian sandpiper. The Henderson Sandpiper, a small wading bird that has ...

Deafening Insects Mask True Biodiversity Assessed Via Acoustic Surveys in Japan

Ecologists have been using recordings of animal noises to assess biodiversity in sub-tropical Japan. The team assessed how effective these acoustic surveys were for pinpointing Okinawa's wild ...

What Does the Fox Say to a Puma?

Researchers have found that in the Chilean Andes, two predator species -- the puma and the culpeo fox -- can successfully share a landscape and hunt for food over the same nighttime hours because ...

New Fossil Seal Species Rewrites History

An international team of biologists has discovered a new species of extinct monk seal from the Southern Hemisphere -- describing it as the biggest breakthrough in seal evolution in 70 ...

New Research Identifies 'Triple Trouble' for Mangrove Coasts

Some of the world's most valuable ecosystems are facing a 'triple threat' to their long-term durability and survival, new research ...

Researchers Develop DNA Approach to Forecast Ecosystem Changes

The rapid, low-cost technique is the first to analyze DNA left behind in animals' feces to map out complex networks of species interactions in a terrestrial system. It could help redefine ...

Climate Change and Food Demand Could Shrink Species' Habitats by Almost a Quarter by 2100

Mammals, birds and amphibians worldwide have lost on average 18% of their natural habitat range as a result of changes in land use and climate change, a new study has found. In a worst-case scenario ...

After Election: Making the Endangered Species Act More Effective

Following the presidential election, a leading group of scientists are making the case that a 'rule reversal' will not be sufficient to allow the Endangered Species Act to do its job. ...

DNA in Seawater Can Reveal Fish Diversity in the Deep Ocean

A new study demonstrates the effectiveness of a novel method for using DNA in seawater samples to determine which fish species are present in a given part of the deep ...

China's Most Important Trees Are Hiding in Plain Sight

Scientists have synthesized long-term biodiversity data from 12 immense forest study plots spanning 1,500 miles, from China's far north to its southern tropics. Their results point to maple ...

Radical Changes in Ecosystems

Earth and all the living organisms on it are constantly changing. But is there any way we can detect if these changes are occurring at an abnormal rate? Scientists have now developed a method of ...

Understanding Long-Term Trends of Stressors on Koala Populations

Analysis of three decades of koala rescue data provides new insights into long-term patterns of stressors that impact koala populations in the Australian state of New South ...

Sea Turtle Nesting Season Winding Down in Florida, Some Numbers Are Up and It's Unexpected

Florida's sea turtle nesting surveying comes to a close on Halloween and like everything else in 2020, the season was a bit weird. The number of green sea turtle nests on central and southern ...

Climate Change Drives Plants to Extinction in the Black Forest in Germany

Climate change is leaving its mark on the bog complexes of the German Black Forest. Due to rising temperatures and longer dry periods, two plant species have gone extinct over the last 40 years. The ...

Coral Researchers Find Link Between Bacterial Genus and Disease Susceptibility

Corals that appear healthy are more prone to getting sick when they're home to too many parasitic bacteria, new research ...

Wildlife Flock to Backyards for Food from People

A new study helps explain why some animals are sometimes more often found in suburban areas than wild ...

Surprised Researchers: Number of Leopards in Northern China on the Rise

Most of the world's leopards are endangered and generally, the number of these shy and stunning cats is decreasing. However, according to a recent study, leopard populations in northern China ...

Monday, November 30, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020