advertisement
Evolutionary Biology 亚博棋牌平台
October 16, 2020

Top Headlines
 

World First Study Shows That Some Microorganisms Can Bend the Rules of Evolution

The dominant thinking in evolution focuses on inheritance between parent and offspring - or 'vertical gene transfer (VGT)'. But now scientists are ...

Seeing Evolution Happening Before Your Eyes

Researchers have established an automated pipeline to create mutations in genomic enhancers that let them watch evolution unfold before their eyes. Their findings on fruit flies may also be relevant ...

Scientists Reconstruct Beetles from the Cretaceous

An international research team has examined four newly found specimens of the Mysteriomorphidae beetle using computer tomography and has been able to reconstruct them. The results allow to draw ...
The banyan fig tree Ficus microcarpa is famous for its aerial roots, which sprout from branches and eventually reach the soil. The tree also has a unique relationship with a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Evolution in Action: New Plant Species in the Swiss Alps

A new plant species named Cardamine insueta appeared in the region of Urnerboden in the Swiss alps, after the land has changed from forest to grassland over the last 150 years. The inheritance of two ...

Battling With Neighbors Could Make Animals Smarter

From ants to primates, 'Napoleonic' intelligence has evolved to help animals contend with the myriad cognitive challenges arising from interactions with rival outsiders, suggest ...

Body Size of the Extinct Megalodon Indeed Off the Charts in the Shark World

A new study shows that the body size of the iconic gigantic or megatooth shark, about 15 meters (50 feet) in length, is indeed anomalously large compared to body sizes of its ...

Hidden DNA Fragment the 'Trigger Switch' for Male Development

Biology textbooks may need to be re-written, with scientists finding a new piece of DNA essential to forming male sex organs in ...

Cheating Birds Mimic Host Nestlings to Deceive Foster Parents

While common cuckoos mimic their host's eggs, new research has revealed that a group of parasitic finch species in Africa have evolved to mimic their host's chicks - and with astonishing ...

Woodpeckers' Drumming: Conserved Meaning Despite Different Structure Over the Years

How do animals produce and perceive biological information in sounds? To what extent does the acoustic structure and its associated meaning change during evolution? An international team has ...

Mud-Slurping Chinless Ancestors Had All the Moves

Researchers have revealed our most ancient ancestors were ecologically diverse, despite lacking jaws and paired ...

Scientists Repeat Century-Old Study to Reveal Evidence of Evolutionary Rescue in the Wild

Repeating a study conducted in 1914, scientists have shown that species may be able to evolve and adapt to rapid climate ...

Cause of 1990s Argentina Cholera Epidemic Uncovered

The evolution of epidemic and endemic strains of the cholera-causing bacterium Vibrio cholerae in Argentina has been mapped in detail. The researchers used whole genome sequencing to study the ...

Rodent Ancestors Combined Portions of Blood and Venom Genes to Make Pheromones

Experts who study animal pheromones have traced the evolutionary origins of genes that allow mice, rats and other rodents to communicate through smell. The discovery is a clear example of how new ...

Wildcats Threatened by Their Domestic Cousins

European wildcats, thought to be extinct 50 years ago in the Jura mountains, have since recolonized part of their former territory. This resurgence in an area occupied by domestic cats has gone ...

Mosquitoes Lost an Essential Gene With No Ill Effects

Scientists discovered mosquitoes are missing a gene that's critical for survival in other insects. Researchers noticed the missing gene and went on the hunt to find out how mosquitoes survive ...

Genomes of Two Millipede Species Shed Light on Their Evolution, Development and Physiology

Researchers have sequenced and analyzed complete genomes from two very different millipede species. The study provides important insights into arthropod evolution, and highlights the genetic ...

Lack of Evidence for Plasticity-Led Evolution in Lizards

Scientists have challenged a popular theory behind the evolution of similar traits in island ...

Study Traces the Evolution of Gill Covers

Scientists have identified a key modification to the genome that led to the evolution of gill covers more than 430 million years ...

Experts have examined the evidence that prehistoric flying reptiles called pterosaurs had feathers and believe they were, in fact, ...

Looking at Evolution's Genealogy from Home

Evolution leaves its traces -- in particular -- in genomes. Researchers used '2-n-way' software to determine the relationships between species or individuals and compare any genome of and ...

Shorebirds More Likely to Divorce After Successful Breeding

Researchers found that a range of factors affected the fidelity and parenting behavior of plovers, rather than being defined by the ...

Sentinels of Ocean Acidification Impacts Survived Earth's Last Mass Extinction

Two groups of tiny, delicate marine organisms, sea butterflies and sea angels, were found to be surprisingly resilient -- having survived dramatic global climate change and Earth's most recent ...

Bird Genes Are Multitaskers, Say Scientists

Scientists have found that although male and female birds have an almost identical set of genes, they function differently in each sex through a mechanism called alternative ...

Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020