advertisement
Frogs and Reptiles 亚博棋牌平台
November 13, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Earliest Example of a Rapid-Fire Tongue Found in 'Weird and Wonderful' Extinct Amphibians

Fossils of bizarre, armored amphibians known as albanerpetontids provide the oldest evidence of a slingshot-style tongue, a new study ...

Lizard Skull Fossil Is New and 'Perplexing' Extinct Species

A new species of extinct lizard, Kopidosaurus perplexus, has just been described. The first part of the name references the lizard's distinct teeth; a 'kopis' is a curved blade used in ancient ...

Ancient Marine Predator Had a Built-in Float

About 240 million years ago, when reptiles ruled the ocean, a small lizard-like predator floated near the bottom of the edges in shallow water, picking off prey with fang-like teeth. A short and flat ...

Sea Turtle Nesting Season Winding Down in Florida, Some Numbers Are Up and It's Unexpected

Florida's sea turtle nesting surveying comes to a close on Halloween and like everything else in 2020, the season was a bit weird. The number of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:05am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Rare Pattern Observed in Migrating Common Swifts

Compared with other migratory birds, the common swift follows a very unusual pattern when it migrates from the breeding areas in Europe to its wintering locations south of the Sahara. This is what ...

Lost Frogs Rediscovered With Environmental DNA

Scientists have detected signs of a frog listed extinct and not seen since 1968, using an innovative technique to locate declining and missing species in two regions of ...

Do Big Tadpoles Turn Into Big Frogs? It's Complicated

Researchers studied the evolution of the body sizes of frogs and their tadpoles. They found that the two life stages do not evolve completely independently of each other as previously ...

Common Species Mirror Rare Animals' Response to Global Change

A study of more than 2,000 species reveals animal populations around the world - from the very common to endangered species - are going up and down as global change alters land, sea and freshwater ...

How to Get the Upper Body of a Burrowing Frog

If you want shredded pecs, you should train like a burrowing frog. Though famously round, these diggers are the unsung bodybuilders of the frog ...

Loggerhead Turtles Record a Passing Hurricane

Caught in an Atlantic hurricane, satellite-tagged loggerhead turtles changed their dive behavior and movement patterns as the storm passed. The tags also recorded changes in the ...

Coastal Development, Changing Climate Threaten Sea Turtle Nesting Habitat

A research team found that sea turtles in the US will have less suitable nesting habitat in the future because of climate change and coastal ...

Animal Mummies Unwrapped With Hi-Res 3D X-Rays

Three mummified animals from ancient Egypt have been digitally unwrapped and dissected by researchers, using high-resolution 3D scans that give unprecedented detail about the animals' lives -- ...

Ichthyosaur's Last Meal Is Evidence of Triassic Megapredation

Some 240 million years ago, a dolphin-like ichthyosaur ripped to pieces and swallowed another marine reptile only a little smaller than itself. Then it almost immediately died and was fossilized, ...

Biodiversity May Limit Invasions: Lessons from Lizards on Panama Canal Islands

Introduced species can become invasive, damaging ecosystems and disrupting economies through explosive population growth. One mechanism underlying population expansion in invasive populations is ...

Dinosaur Relative's Genome Linked to Mammals: Curious Genome of Ancient Reptile

Biologists have sequenced the genome of the tuatara, a lizard-like creature that lives on the islands of New ...

Research Breakthrough in Fight Against Chytrid Fungus

For frogs dying of the invasive chytridiomycosis disease, the leading cause of amphibian deaths worldwide, the genes responsible for protecting them may actually be leading to their demise, according ...

Hot or Cold, Venomous Vipers Still Quick to Strike

Most reptiles move slower when temperatures drop, but venomous rattlesnakes appear to be an exception. The cold affects them, but not as much as scientists ...

Dehydration Increases Amphibian Vulnerability to Climate Change

Amphibians have few options to avoid the underappreciated one-two punch of climate change, according to a new study. Rising summer temperatures are also resulting in higher rates of dehydration among ...

Double Take: New Study Analyzes Global, Multiple-Tailed Lizards

Research into abnormal regeneration events in lizards has led to the first published scientific review on the prevalence of lizards that have re-generated not just one, but two, or even up to six, ...

First Evidence of Snake-Like Venom Glands Found in Amphibians

Caecilians are limbless amphibians that can be easily mistaken for snakes. Though caecilians are only distantly related to their reptilian cousins, researchers describe specialized glands found along ...

New Species Described in 2020

It is estimated that 15 million different species live on our planet, but only 2 million of them are currently known to science. Discovering new species is important as it helps to protect them. ...

Researchers Use 3D Modeling to Decode Aerial Undulation's Role in Flying Snake Glides

Researchers have developed the first continuous, anatomically accurate 3D mathematical model of the paradise tree snake in ...

Habitat for Rattlesnakes: Sunnier but Riskier

Conservation efforts that open up the canopy of overgrown habitat for threatened timber rattlesnakes are beneficial to snakes but could come at a cost, according to a new ...

In the Wild, Chimpanzees Are More Motivated to Cooperate Than Bonobos

Scientists investigated cooperation dynamics in wild chimpanzees (Tai, Ivory Coast) and bonobos (LuiKotale, DCR) using a snake model. While chimpanzees cooperate to defend their territory, bonobos do ...

Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Saturday, December 14, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019