advertisement
Insects (including Butterflies) 亚博棋牌平台
October 23, 2020

Top Headlines
 

This Beetle Can Survive Getting Run Over by a Car; Engineers Are Figuring out How

Getting run over by a car is not a near-death experience for the diabolical ironclad beetle. How the beetle survives could inspire the development of ...

Losing Flight Had Huge Benefits for Ants

Researchers have taken detailed scans of worker ants to examine the hypothesis that the loss of flight is directly connected to the evolution of ...

Chemists Create New Crystal Form of Insecticide, Boosting Its Ability to Fight Mosquitoes and Malaria

Through a simple process of heating and cooling, researchers have created a new crystal form of deltamethrin -- a common insecticide used to control ...

Mosquitoes' Taste for Blood Traced to Four Types of Neurons

The female mosquito has an amazing ability to detect blood using her syringe-like 'tongue.' Now scientists have identified the neurons that give her blood-seeking ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:05am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Salt-Based Mosquito-Control Products Are Ineffective

A new study by a bevy of expert mosquito researchers offers an important warning to consumers: Products claiming to reduce mosquito populations with salt-water solutions are ineffective. In a series ...

Evolution: Shifts in Mating Preference

In their efforts to identify the genetic basis for differences in mate choice that keep two co-existing species of butterfly separate, evolutionary biologists have identified five candidate genes ...

Hand Pollination, Not Agrochemicals, Increases Cocoa Yield and Farmer Income

Agroecologists compare pesticides, fertilizers, manual pollination and farming costs in ...

'Immortal' in Tree Resin

Researchers have detected DNA from ambrosia beetles that were trapped in recent tree resin for less than seven ...

Mosquitoes Lost an Essential Gene With No Ill Effects

Scientists discovered mosquitoes are missing a gene that's critical for survival in other insects. Researchers noticed the missing gene and went on the hunt to find out how mosquitoes survive ...

Plant Droplets Serve as Nutrient-Rich Food for Insects

Small watery droplets on the edges of blueberry bush leaves are loaded with nutrients for many insects, including bees, wasps and flies, according to a new study, the first of its kind. The study ...

Biodiversity: 'Cool' Sampling Sites More Likely to Show False Trends

Data collected by citizen science initiatives, museums and national parks is an important basis for research on biodiversity change. However, scientists found that sampling sites are oftentimes not ...

'Insect Armageddon': Low Doses of the Insecticide, Imidacloprid, Cause Blindness in Insects

New research provides important evidence on the role of insecticides on the longevity of insect ...

Shorebirds More Likely to Divorce After Successful Breeding

Researchers found that a range of factors affected the fidelity and parenting behavior of plovers, rather than being defined by the ...

Sentinels of Ocean Acidification Impacts Survived Earth's Last Mass Extinction

Two groups of tiny, delicate marine organisms, sea butterflies and sea angels, were found to be surprisingly resilient -- having survived dramatic global climate change and Earth's most recent ...

Salute the Venerable Ensign Wasp, Killing Cockroaches for 25 Million Years

A new study has identified four new species of parasitic, cockroach-killing ensign wasps that became encased in tree resin 25 million years ago and were preserved as the resin fossilized into ...

Provide Shady Spots to Protect Butterflies from Climate Change

Researchers have discovered significant variations in the ability of different UK butterfly species to maintain a suitable body temperature. Species that rely most on finding a suitably shady ...

New Tool Mimics Human Skin to Allow Detailed Study of Mosquito Biting

Scientists have developed a tool for studying the biting behavior of common pathogen-carrying ...

Inside the Secret Lives of Synchronous Fireflies

Ever wonder why some fireflies flash in harmony? New research sheds light on this beautiful phenomenon and strives to understand how relatively simple insects manage to coordinate such feats of ...

Scientists Predict Potential Spread, Habitat of Invasive Asian Giant Hornet

Researchers have predicted how and where the Asian giant hornet, an invasive newcomer to the Pacific Northwest, popularly dubbed the 'murder hornet,' could spread and find ideal habitat, ...

Silk Offers Homemade Solution for COVID-19 Prevention

A new study finds that silk fabric performs similarly to surgical masks when used in conjunction with respirators but has the added advantages of being washable and repelling water, which would ...

New Theory Predicts Movement of Different Animals Using Sensing to Search

A research team has developed a new theory that can predict the movement of an animal's sensory organs -- such as eyes, ears and nose -- while searching for something vital to its ...

Biologists Developing Global Citizen Network to Monitor Insect Abundance

Biologists are building a volunteer network of citizen scientists to help monitor the abundance of dragonflies and ...

Anti-Reflective Coating Inspired by Fly Eyes

The eyes of the fruit fly are covered by a thin and transparent coating with anti-reflective, anti-adhesive properties. Researchers discovered that the coating only consists of two ingredients: ...

Coconut Rhinoceros Beetle Makes Unexpected 'Host Shift' to Guam's Cycad Trees

Researchers have documented what biologists call a 'host shift' of the coconut rhinoceros beetle in Guam. The beetle, first documented as an invasive species in Guam in 2007, has been ...

Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020