advertisement
Mice 亚博棋牌平台
October 23, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Scientists Engineer Bacteria-Killing Molecules from Wasp Venom

Scientists have engineered powerful new antimicrobial molecules from toxic proteins found in wasp venom. The team hopes to develop the molecules into new bacteria-killing drugs, an important ...

New Species of Aquatic Mice Discovered, Cousins of One of the World's Rarest Mammals

Scientists have discovered two new species of 'stilt mice,' semi-aquatic African rodents with extra-long feet that they stand up on like a kangaroo. ...

Mammals Share Gene Pathways That Allow Zebrafish to Grow New Eyes

Working with fish, birds and mice, researchers report new evidence that some animals' natural capacity to regrow neurons is not missing, but is instead inactivated in ...
Researchers may have discovered a safe new way to manage blood sugar non-invasively. Exposing diabetic mice to a combination ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:35pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Novel Map Reveals How Immune Cells Fight and Remember Infections

Researchers have created the first full dynamic map of how cells learn to fight microbes and then preserve a memory of this for future infections, by mapping the activity of tens of thousands of ...

How an Egg Cell's 'Operating Manual' Sets the Stage for Fertility

Scientists have revealed in unprecedented detail the genetic instructions immature egg cells go through step by step as they mature into functionality. Their findings improve our understanding of how ...

Process for Regenerating Neurons in the Eye and Brain Identified

A team of researchers has identified networks of genes that regulate the process responsible for determining whether neurons will regenerate in certain animals, such as ...

High Throughput Screening Identifies Molecules That Reduce Cellular Stress

A new article describes the discovery of several promising small molecules that appear to reduce cellular stress in mouse skin cells and could lengthen ...

Biomedical Sciences Researchers Find New Way to Prevent and Cure Rotavirus, Other Viral Infections

A combination of two substances secreted by the immune system can cure and prevent rotavirus infection, as well as potentially treat other viral infections that target epithelial cells, which cover ...

Hidden DNA Fragment the 'Trigger Switch' for Male Development

Biology textbooks may need to be re-written, with scientists finding a new piece of DNA essential to forming male sex organs in ...

Repurposed Anti-Malarial Compounds Kill Diarrheal Parasite, Study Finds

A class of compounds used for malaria treatment also kill the intestinal parasite Cryptosporidium, a leading cause of diarrheal disease and death in children that has no cure, a multi-institution ...

Rodent Ancestors Combined Portions of Blood and Venom Genes to Make Pheromones

Experts who study animal pheromones have traced the evolutionary origins of genes that allow mice, rats and other rodents to communicate through smell. The discovery is a clear example of how new ...

Fine-Tuning Stem Cell Metabolism Prevents Hair Loss

An international research team has shown in mice that Rictor, a protein that helps to regulate the growth, energy, and oxygen consumption of cells, plays a key role in the cellular metabolism and ...

Primate Brain Size Does Not Predict Their Intelligence

A research team has systematically investigated the cognitive abilities of lemurs, which have relatively small brains compared to other primates. Conducting systematic tests with identical methods ...

Twinkling, Star-Shaped Brain Cells May Hold the Key to Why, How We Sleep

A new study suggests that star-shaped brain cells known as astrocytes could be as important to the regulation of sleep as neurons. The study builds new momentum toward ultimately solving the mystery ...

Something Old, Something New Combine for Effective Vaccine Against Parasitic Skin Disease

Scientists are planning for Phase 1 human trials of a vaccine they developed by using CRISPR gene-editing technology to mutate the parasite that causes leishmaniasis, a skin disease common in ...

How Microbes in a Mother's Intestines Affect Fetal Neurodevelopment

During pregnancy in mice, the billions of bacteria and other microbes that live in a mother's intestines regulate key metabolites, small molecules that are important for healthy fetal brain ...

Gut Microbiome Plays Important Role in Sleep Regulation

Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) affects more than one billion people worldwide. Evidence suggests OSA can alter the gut microbiome (GM) and may promote OSA-associated co-morbidities, including ...

New Mouse Model of Tau Propagation

Accumulation of assembled tau protein in the central nervous system is characteristic of Alzheimer's disease and several other neurodegenerative diseases, called tauopathies. Researchers have ...

Humans Develop More Slowly Than Mice Because Our Chemistry Is Different

Scientists have found that the 'segmentation clock' -- a genetic network that governs the body pattern formation of embryos -- progresses more slowly in humans than in mice because the ...

Could Breadfruit Be the Next Superfood? Researchers Say Yes

A fruit used for centuries in countries around the world is getting the nutritional thumbs-up from a team of researchers. Breadfruit, which grows in abundance in tropical and South Pacific countries, ...

New Path to Neuron Regeneration After Spinal Cord Injury

The astrocytic glial cell has the unique ability to form scar tissue around damaged neurons. The presence of scar tissue is associated with inhibitory effects on the regrowth of mature neurons that ...

Reprogramming Brain Cells Enables Flexible Decision-Making

Humans, like other animals, have the ability to constantly adapt to new situations. Researchers have utilized a mouse model to reveal which neurons in the brain are in command in guiding adaptive ...

Gene-Edited Livestock 'Surrogate Sires' Successfully Made Fertile

For the first time, scientists have created pigs, goats and cattle that can serve as viable 'surrogate sires,' male animals that produce sperm carrying only the genetic traits of donor ...

Monday, October 12, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020