advertisement
New Species 亚博棋牌平台
December 10, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Flightless Bird Species at Risk of Extinction

Bird species that have lost the ability to fly through evolution have become extinct more often than birds that have retained their ability to fly, according to new ...

Warbler Coloration Shaped by Evolution Via Distinct Paths

Two genes that are important for the diverse colors and patterns of warbler plumage have evolved through two very different processes, according to a new study. These evolutionary processes could ...

Cichlid Fishes from African Lake Tanganyika Shed Light on How Organismal Diversity Arises

Lake Tanganyika in Africa is a true hotspot of organismal diversity. Approximately 240 species of cichlid fishes have evolved in this lake in less ...

Henderson Island Fossils Reveal New Polynesian Sandpiper Species

Fossil bones collected in the early 1990s on Henderson Island, part of the Pitcairn Group, have revealed a new species of Polynesian sandpiper. The Henderson Sandpiper, a small wading bird that has ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:35pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

The Use of Wild Mammals in Traditional Medicine

Investigators identified 565 mammalian species that have been used to source products used in traditional medicine around the world, especially in Asia, Africa, and Latin ...

Tiny Cave Snail With Muffin-Top Waistline Rolls out of the Dark in Laos

Recent cave exploration has turned up a tiny, top-heavy snail that glistens under the light of the microscope lens. Only 1.80 mm tall, this transparent snail bulges at the middle, giving a natural ...

Genetic Code Evolution and Darwin's Evolution Theory Should Consider DNA an 'Energy Code'

Darwin's theory of evolution should be expanded to include consideration of a DNA stability 'energy code' -- so-called 'molecular Darwinism' -- to further account for the ...

The Popovich of Floral Nectar Spurs

Scientists identify the gene critical to controlling the development of these spurs in the common columbine, or Aquilegia. They found it acts as a master regulator that appears to control the ...

Wrinkle-Faced Male Bats Lower Face Masks to Copulate

The first behavioral observations of wrinkle-faced bats in their natural habitat reveal that this elusive species uses the rarest form of bat courtship behavior, according to a new ...

New Fossil Seal Species Rewrites History

An international team of biologists has discovered a new species of extinct monk seal from the Southern Hemisphere -- describing it as the biggest breakthrough in seal evolution in 70 ...

Fossil Shark Turns Into Mystery Pterosaur

Scientists have discovered the mystery creature amongst fossil collections housed in the Sedgwick Museum of Cambridge and the Booth Museum at Brighton that were assembled when phosphate mining was at ...

Researchers Identify New Rickettsia Bacteria Species in Dogs

Researchers have identified a new species of Rickettsia bacteria that may cause significant disease in dogs and humans. This new yet unnamed species, initially identified in three dogs, is part of ...

Ancient Crocodiles' Family Tree Reveals Unexpected Twists and Turns

Despite 300 years of research, and a recent renaissance in the study of their biological make-up, the mysterious, marauding teleosauroids have remained enduringly elusive. Scientific understanding of ...

DNA in Seawater Can Reveal Fish Diversity in the Deep Ocean

A new study demonstrates the effectiveness of a novel method for using DNA in seawater samples to determine which fish species are present in a given part of the deep ...

Gentoo Penguins Are Four Species, Not One, Say Scientists

First analysis combining genetic and physical differences of populations of gentoo penguins indicates they should be treated as four separate ...

From Nitrate Crisis to Phosphate Crisis?

The aim of the EU Nitrates Directive is to reduce nitrates leaking into the environment and to prevent pollution of water supplies. The widely accepted view is that this will help protect threatened ...

First Australian Night Bees Recorded Foraging in Darkness

Australian bees are known for pollinating plants on beautiful sunny days, but a new study has identified two species that have adapted their vision for night-time conditions for the first time. The ...

China's Most Important Trees Are Hiding in Plain Sight

Scientists have synthesized long-term biodiversity data from 12 immense forest study plots spanning 1,500 miles, from China's far north to its southern tropics. Their results point to maple ...

Radical Changes in Ecosystems

Earth and all the living organisms on it are constantly changing. But is there any way we can detect if these changes are occurring at an abnormal rate? Scientists have now developed a method of ...

Ancient Marine Predator Had a Built-in Float

About 240 million years ago, when reptiles ruled the ocean, a small lizard-like predator floated near the bottom of the edges in shallow water, picking off prey with fang-like teeth. A short and flat ...

Climate Change Drives Plants to Extinction in the Black Forest in Germany

Climate change is leaving its mark on the bog complexes of the German Black Forest. Due to rising temperatures and longer dry periods, two plant species have gone extinct over the last 40 years. The ...

Coral Researchers Find Link Between Bacterial Genus and Disease Susceptibility

Corals that appear healthy are more prone to getting sick when they're home to too many parasitic bacteria, new research ...

Australian Scientists Discover 500-Meter-Tall Coral Reef in the Great Barrier Reef

Scientists have discovered a massive detached coral reef in the Great Barrier Reef, measuring more than 500 meters high -- taller than the Empire State Building, the Sydney Tower and the Petronas ...

Discovery Adds New Species a Lab's Ghoulish Insect Menagerie

A horrifying insect soap opera with vampires, mummies and infant-eating parasites plays out on the stems and leaves of oak trees every day, and an evolutionary biologist found the latest player, a ...

Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020