advertisement
Trees 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Invasive Harlequin Ladybird Causes Severe Decline of Two-Spotted Ladybird, New Study Shows

Scientists have led an 11-year study which shows how the invasive harlequin ladybird (Harmonia axyridis) caused the severe decline of the two-spotted ...

Symbiotic Relationship Between California Oaks and Mutualist Fungi as a Buffer for Climate Change

'Happy families are all alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.' So goes the first line of Leo Tolstoy's 'Anna Karenina.' Little did ...

Area Burned by Severe Fire Increased 8-Fold in Western US Over Past Four Decades

The number of wildfires and the amount of land they consume in the western US has substantially increased since the 1980s, a trend often attributed ...

Warbler Coloration Shaped by Evolution Via Distinct Paths

Two genes that are important for the diverse colors and patterns of warbler plumage have evolved through two very different processes, according to a new study. These evolutionary processes could ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:35pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Massive explosions of energy happening thousands of light-years from Earth may have left traces in our planet's biology and geology, according to new ...

Chemical Clues in Leaves Can Reveal Ash Tree Resistance to Deadly Disease

Naturally occurring compounds in ash leaves could be linked to susceptibility of individual trees to the fungal disease ash dieback (ADB). But selecting trees with lower levels of these compounds and ...

Trees Set Sixth-Graders Up for Success

The transition to middle school is undeniably tough for many sixth-graders, even in the best of times. Mounting academic demands, along with changes in peer dynamics and the onset of puberty, result ...

Scientists Unravel How and Why Amazon Trees Die

The capacity of the Amazon forest to store carbon in a changing climate will ultimately be determined by how fast trees die - and what kills them. Now, a huge new study has unravelled what factors ...

Ancient Crocodiles' Family Tree Reveals Unexpected Twists and Turns

Despite 300 years of research, and a recent renaissance in the study of their biological make-up, the mysterious, marauding teleosauroids have remained enduringly elusive. Scientific understanding of ...

Beetles Cooperate in Brood Care

Ambrosia beetles are fascinating: they practice agriculture with fungi and they live in a highly developed social system. A biologist has now discovered new facts about ...

Drones That Patrol Forests Could Monitor Environmental and Ecological Changes

Researchers have created drones that can attach sensors to trees to monitor environmental and ecological changes in ...

Lizard Skull Fossil Is New and 'Perplexing' Extinct Species

A new species of extinct lizard, Kopidosaurus perplexus, has just been described. The first part of the name references the lizard's distinct teeth; a 'kopis' is a curved blade used in ...

China's Most Important Trees Are Hiding in Plain Sight

Scientists have synthesized long-term biodiversity data from 12 immense forest study plots spanning 1,500 miles, from China's far north to its southern tropics. Their results point to maple ...

Decades-Long Effort Revives Ancient Oak Woodland

Vestal Grove in Cook County, Illinois, looks nothing like the scrubby, buckthorn-choked tangle that first confronted restoration ecologists 37 years ago. Thanks to the efforts of a dedicated team ...

Shining a (UV) Light on the Glow-in-the-Dark Platypus

The fur of the platypus - an Australian species threatened with extinction - glows green under ultraviolet light, a new study finds. This is the first observation of biofluorescence in an egg-laying ...

Reforestation Plans in Africa Could Go Awry

An international team publishes the findings of a study on the biogeographical history of sub-Saharan ...

Discovery Adds New Species a Lab's Ghoulish Insect Menagerie

A horrifying insect soap opera with vampires, mummies and infant-eating parasites plays out on the stems and leaves of oak trees every day, and an evolutionary biologist found the latest player, a ...

Soil Fungi Act Like a Support Network for Trees

New research is first to show that growth rate of adult trees is linked to fungal networks colonizing their ...

The Effects of Wildfires and Spruce Beetle Outbreaks on Forest Temperatures

Results indicate that wildfires may play a role in accelerating climate-driven species changes in mountain forests by compounding regional warming ...

Trees Bring Benefits to Society, Regardless of Their Origin

Trees planted in urban spaces provide a multitude of ecosystem and social services. At the same time, trees can be a source of inconveniences. Scientists have analyzed trees found in the Geneva ...

Supercomputing Study Breaks Ground for Tree Mapping, Carbon Research

A new method for mapping the location and size of trees growing outside of forests helped scientists discover billions of trees in arid and semi-arid regions and lays the groundwork for more accurate ...

Red Maples Doing Better in the City

A new study examines how trees respond to different urban intensities by comparing tree size and age, foliage nitrogen signature, nutrient and heavy metal content and other factors in forests. Not ...

Laser Technology Measures Biomass in World's Largest Trees

Laser technology has been used to measure the volume and biomass of giant Californian redwood trees for the first time, records a new ...

Fuels, Not Fire Weather, Control Carbon Emissions in Boreal Forest

A team has found that the amount of carbon that burns in wildfires in western boreal forests depends more on available fuels than on fire weather such as drought conditions, temperature, or ...

Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020