advertisement
Political Science 亚博棋牌平台
October 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Clean and Clear: How Being More Transparent Over Resources Helps Cut Carbon Emissions

Countries that sign up to improved financial transparency over oil, gas, and mining revenues benefit from significant reductions in carbon emissions, ...

The Unintended Consequence of Becoming Empathetic

Many people want to become more empathetic. But, these changes in personality may also lead to changes in political ...

Climate Engineering: Modelling Projections Oversimplify Risks

Climate change is gaining prominence as a political and public priority. But many ambitious climate action plans foresee the use of climate engineering technologies whose risks are insufficiently ...

Natural Disasters Must Be Unusual or Deadly to Prompt Local Climate Policy Change

Natural disasters alone are not enough to motivate local communities to engage in climate change mitigation or adaptation, a new study has found. ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:08pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Personality Traits Affect Shelter at Home Compliance

A worldwide survey conducted during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic found that people with certain common personality traits were less likely to shelter at home when government policies were ...

Men Less Likely to See Food as National Security Issue Amid Pandemic, Study Finds

On average, men not only showed less empathy toward temporary agricultural laborers but also were less likely to see food supply and production as national security issues, according to a new ...

Women Are More Concerned About COVID-19 Than Men, Study Finds

A new study finds that women are more concerned about COVID-19 than men, a difference that transcends party lines. This female perspective towards the pandemic may be overlooked due to the ...

New Model Examines How Societal Influences Affect U.S. Political Opinions

Northwestern University researchers have developed the first quantitative model that captures how politicized environments affect U.S. political opinion formation and ...

Higher Narcissism May Be Linked With More Political Participation

A politically engaged electorate is key to any thriving democracy, but not everyone participates in elections and other political activities. New research found that people who are narcissistic may ...

COVID-19 Shapes Political Approval Ratings

During the early days of the pandemic, COVID-19 created a rally effect around political leaders, according to new study. The rise of COVID-19 cases was associated with a 15- to 20-point boost in ...

COVID-19 Opens a Partisan Gap on Voting by Mail

A new study documents a growing divide in the United States on preferences for absentee ballots. Before the pandemic, there wasn't any difference in the rates at which Democratic and Republican ...

Political Ads Have Little Persuasive Power, Study Finds

Every four years, U.S. presidential campaigns collectively spend billions of dollars flooding TV screens across the country with political ads. But a new study shows that, regardless of content, ...

U.S. Political Parties Become Extremist to Get More Votes

New mathematical modeling shows that U.S. political parties are becoming increasingly polarized due to their quest for voters -- not because voters themselves are becoming more ...

When It Comes to Supporting Candidates, Ideology Trumps Race and Gender

Voters who express prejudice against minorities and women are still more likely to support candidates who most closely align with their ideologies, regardless of the race or sex of such candidates, ...

Affirmative Action Incentivizes High Schoolers to Perform Better, New Research Shows

Affirmative action is a contentious issue across the globe, hotly debated in countries such as India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Nigeria and Brazil, as well as in the United States. While the direct ...

Desire to Be in a Group Leads to Harsher Judgment of Others

In a time where political affiliations can feel like they're leading to tribal warfare, a research team has found that the desire to be part of a group is what makes some of us more likely to ...

Food Safety Model May Help Pandemic Management

No precedent exists for managing the COVID-19 pandemic, although a plan for working through major public food scares may point to the best ways of alerting and communicating with the ...

What the Rest of the World Can Learn from South Korea's COVID-19 Response

As the world continues to closely monitor the newest coronavirus outbreak, the government of South Korea has been able to keep the disease under control without paralyzing the national health and ...

Coronavirus: Social Distancing Accepted When People Understand Exponential Growth

When people fail to see the need for restrictions on public life, explaining the exponential increase of infections creates greater acceptance for measures taken to slow down the infection rate, ...

Twitter Posts Reveal Polarization in Congress on COVID-19

The rapid politicization of the COVID-19 pandemic can be seen in messages members of the US Congress sent about the issue on the social media site Twitter, a new analysis found. Using artificial ...

How Stimulus Dollars Are Spent Will Affect Emissions for Decades

The COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent lockdowns have led to a record crash in emissions. But it will be emission levels during the ...

How Is COVID-19 Affecting the Global Economic Order?

COVID-19 has triggered a global financial crisis and is forcing states to develop rescue packages on a scale not seen before. The crisis has called into question the US dollar's hegemony and ...

Elections: Early Warning System to Fight Disinformation Online

A new project is an effort to combat the rise of coordinated social media campaigns to incite violence, sew discord and threaten the integrity of democratic ...

Public Health Leaders Call for Coordinated Communication Response to COVID-19

Public health leaders have called for informed and active public policy leadership to employ strategically coordinated health communication and outreach on COVID-19 and other emerging global health ...

Thursday, October 15, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Monday, November 26, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018