advertisement
Astronomy 亚博棋牌平台
December 10, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A Look at the Sun's Dusty Environment

Scientists say that how dust moves and transforms around the sun may give them new insights to how Earth and its neighboring planets formed more than 4.5 billion years ...
Researchers have discovered a new superhighway network to travel through the Solar System much faster than was previously possible. Such routes can drive comets and asteroids ...

Space Weather Discovery Puts 'Habitable Planets' at Risk

Stellar flares with a chance of radio bursts: that's the weather from Proxima Centauri. New research suggests exoplanets around red dwarf M-type stars will likely be exposed to coronal mass ...

Image-Based Navigation Could Help Spacecraft Safely Land on the Moon

Engineers have demonstrated how a series of lunar images can be used to infer the direction that a spacecraft is moving. This technique, sometimes called visual odometry, allows navigation ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:32pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Dark Coating Can Reduce Satellite Reflectivity

Observations confirmed that dark coating can reduce satellite reflectivity by half. There are concerns that numerous artificial satellites in orbit could impair astronomical observations, but these ...

Astronomers developed a new method to calibrate detectors to the light from dust in our Galaxy, thereby describing a new physics, with 99.2 percent accuracy, that may show parity symmetry ...

Experiments Unravelling the Mystery of Mars' Moon Phobos

There is no weather in space - but there is weathering: Celestial bodies are bombarded by high energy particles. On the Mars moon Phobos, the situation is complicated: It is hit by particles from the ...

The missing dark matter in certain galaxies can be explained by the effects of tidal disruption: the gravity forces of a neighboring massive galaxy, literally tearing the smaller galaxy ...

Earth Faster, Closer to Black Hole, in New Map of Galaxy

Earth 'just got' 7 km/s faster and about 2000 light-years closer to the supermassive black hole in the center of the Milky Way Galaxy. But don't worry, this doesn't mean that our ...

Fast-Moving Gas Flowing Away from Young Star Caused by Icy Comet Vaporization

A unique stage of planetary system evolution has been imaged by astronomers, showing fast-moving carbon monoxide gas flowing away from a star system over 400 light years away, a discovery that ...

Puzzling 'Cold Quasar' Forming New Stars in Spite of Active Galactic Nucleus

Using NASA's SOFIA telescope, researchers have found CQ 4479, a galaxy which never had been closely studied before, to be generating new stars in spite of a luminous AGN at the galaxy's ...

New Insights on Health Effects of Long-Duration Space Flight

Among the new findings, the research team found that chronic oxidative stress during spaceflight contributed to the telomere elongation they observed. They also found that astronauts had shorter ...

Space Travel Can Adversely Impact Energy Production in a Cell

Studies of both mice and humans who have traveled into space reveal that critical parts of a cell's energy production machinery, the mitochondria, can be made dysfunctional due to changes in ...

Blast from the Past

Astronomers have discovered that CK Vulpeculae, first seen as a bright new star in 1670, is approximately five times farther away than previously thought. This makes the 1670 explosion of CK ...

Galaxy Encounter Violently Disturbed Milky Way

The long-held belief that the Milky Way, the galaxy containing Earth and the solar system, is relatively static has been ruptured by fresh cosmic insight. The spiral-shaped disc of stars and planets ...

Growing Interest in Moon Resources Could Cause Tension

An international team of scientists has identified a problem with the growing interest in extractable resources on the moon: there aren't enough of them to go around. With no international ...

Milky Way Family Tree

Galaxies formed by the merging of smaller progenitor galaxies. An international team of astrophysicists has succeeded in reconstructing the merger history of our home galaxy, creating a complete ...

Floods of unimaginable magnitude once washed through Gale Crater on Mars' equator around 4 billion years ago -- a finding that hints at the possibility that life may have existed there, ...

Blue Ring Nebula: 16-Year-Old Cosmic Mystery Solved, Revealing Stellar Missing Link

Astronomers have solved the 16-year-old mystery surrounding the Blue Ring Nebula - an unusual, large, faint blob of gas with a star at its center. This object is unlike any they'd ever seen ...

Cosmic Flashes Come in All Different Sizes

By studying the site of a spectacular stellar explosion seen in April 2020, scientists have used four European radio telescopes to confirm that astronomy's most exciting puzzle is about to be ...

Building Blocks of Life Can Form Long Before Stars

An international team of scientists have shown that glycine, the simplest amino acid and an important building block of life, can form under the harsh conditions that govern chemistry in ...

Scientists Expand Space Instrument's Capabilities

Scientists have expanded the capabilities of the prototype spaceflight instrument Chemistry Organic and Dating Experiment (CODEX), designed for field-based dating of extraterrestrial materials. CODEX ...

An international crew of astronauts is en route to the International Space Station following a successful launch on the first NASA-certified commercial human spacecraft system in history. NASA's ...

History of Temperature Changes in the Universe Revealed

How hot is the Universe today? How hot was it before? A new study by an international team of researchers suggests that the mean temperature of gas in large structures of the Universe has increased ...

Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Monday, November 23, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Sunday, October 11, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020