advertisement
Black Holes 亚博棋牌平台
October 19, 2020

Top Headlines
 

NASA's James Webb Telescopes Will Reveal Hidden Galaxies

Simulations show it's possible to distinguish host galaxy from quasars, although still challenging due to the galaxy's small size on the ...
Astronomers have spotted a rare blast of light from a star being ripped apart by a supermassive black hole. The phenomenon, known as a tidal disruption event, is the closest ...
This year's Nobel Prize in Physics is being awarded to Roger Penrose 'for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity' ...
Astronomers have found six galaxies lying around a supermassive black hole when the Universe was less than a billion years ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:02pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Spinning Black Hole Powers Jet by Magnetic Flux

A new letter has been found in the mysterious alphabet of black ...

Mystery Gas Discovered Near Center of Milky Way

Researchers have discovered a dense, cold gas that's been shot out from the center of the Milky Way 'like ...

Cosmic Gas Cloud Blinks in Sync With Circling Black Hole

Scientists have detected a mysterious gamma-ray heartbeat coming from a cosmic gas cloud. The inconspicuous cloud in the constellation Aquila is beating with the rhythm of a neighbouring precessing ...

'Black Dwarf Supernova': Physicist Calculates When the Last Supernova Ever Will Happen

New theoretical research finds that many white dwarfs may explode in supernova in the distant far future, long after everything else in the universe has died and gone ...

Unequal Neutron-Star Mergers Create Unique 'Bang' in Simulations

In a series of simulations, researchers determined that some neutron star collisions not only produce gravitational waves, but also electromagnetic radiation that should be detectable on ...

How Galaxies Die: New Insights Into the Quenching of Star Formation

Astronomers studying galaxy evolution have long struggled to understand what causes star formation to shut down in massive galaxies. Although many theories have been proposed to explain this process, ...

In a First, Astronomers Watch a Black Hole's Corona Disappear, Then Reappear

It seems the universe has an odd sense of humor. While a crown-encrusted virus has run roughshod over the world, another entirely different corona about 100 million light years from Earth has ...

Breakthrough in Deciphering Birth of Supermassive Black Holes

Scientists say they are closer to understanding how a supermassive black hole (SMBH) is born thanks to a new technique that has enabled them to zoom in on one of these enigmatic cosmic objects in ...

Scientists Propose Plan to Determine If Planet Nine Is a Primordial Black Hole

Scientists have developed a new method to find black holes in the outer solar system, and along with it, determine once-and-for-all the true nature of the hypothesized Planet ...

Hidden Sources of Mysterious Cosmic Neutrinos Seen on Earth

A new model points to the coronoe of supermassive black holes at the cores of active galaxies to help explain the excess neutrinos observed by the IceCube Neutrino ...

To Find Giant Black Holes, Start With Jupiter

On a quest to find the Universe's largest black holes, researchers identify the center of the solar system within 100 ...

Beacon from the Early Universe

Often described as cosmic lighthouses, quasars are luminous beacons that can be observed at the outskirts of the Universe, providing a rich topic of study for astronomers and cosmologists. Now ...

Monster Black Hole Found in the Early Universe

Astronomers have discovered the second-most distant quasar ever found. It is the first quasar to receive an indigenous Hawaiian name, Poniua'ena. Data show the supermassive black hole powering ...

Black Hole Collision May Have Exploded With Light

Astronomers have seen what appears to the first light ever detected from a black hole ...

Mystery Astronomical Object in 'Mass Gap': Neutron Star? Black Hole?

Researchers have discovered what is either the heaviest known neutron star, or the lightest black ...

New Research Hints at the Presence of Unconventional Galaxies Containing 2 Black Holes

Astronomers have identified periodic gamma-ray emissions from 11 active galaxies, paving the way for future studies of unconventional galaxies that might harbor two supermassive black holes at their ...

Quasar Jets Are Particle Accelerators Thousands of Light-Years Long

An international collaboration bringing together over 200 scientists from 13 countries has shown that the very high-energy gamma-ray emission from quasars is not concentrated in the region close to ...

Insight Into the Black Hole at the Center of Our Galaxy

Like most galaxies, the Milky Way hosts a supermassive black hole at its center. The object has captured astronomers' curiosity for decades. And now there is an effort to image it ...

Ultra-Bright X-Ray Source Awakens Near a Galaxy Not So Far Away

A new ultra-bright source of X-rays has awakened in between our galactic neighbors the Magellanic Clouds, after a 26-year slumber. This is the second-closest such object known to date, with a ...

Large Simulation Finds New Origin of Supermassive Black Holes

Computer simulations conducted by astrophysicists have revealed a new theory for the origin of supermassive black holes. In this theory, the precursors of supermassive black holes grow by swallowing ...

Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Sunday, July 12, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Sunday, October 6, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018