advertisement
Black Holes 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A new technique may sift out universe's very first gravitational waves. Identifying primordial ripples would be key to understanding conditions of the ...

Research Suggests Our Galaxy's Brightest Gamma-Ray Binary System May Be Powered by a Magnetar Star

A research team has shed new night on the massive star and its neutron star companion, which are thought to be at the core of the gamma-ray binary ...

Puzzling 'Cold Quasar' Forming New Stars in Spite of Active Galactic Nucleus

Using NASA's SOFIA telescope, researchers have found CQ 4479, a galaxy which never had been closely studied before, to be generating new stars in ...

Earth Faster, Closer to Black Hole, in New Map of Galaxy

Earth 'just got' 7 km/s faster and about 2000 light-years closer to the supermassive black hole in the center of the Milky Way Galaxy. But don't worry, this doesn't mean that our planet is critical. ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:32pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Weak Equivalence Principle Violated in Gravitational Waves

New research proves theoretically that the Weak Equivalence Principle can be violated by quantum particles in gravitational waves - the ripples in spacetime caused by colossal events such as merging ...

Nobel Prize in Physics 2020: Discoveries About Black Holes

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics is being awarded to Roger Penrose 'for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity' and ...

Einstein's Description of Gravity Just Got Much Harder to Beat

Astrophysicists put general relativity to a new test with black hole ...

ESO Telescope Spots Galaxies Trapped in the Web of a Supermassive Black Hole

Astronomers have found six galaxies lying around a supermassive black hole when the Universe was less than a billion years old. This is the first time such a close grouping has been seen so soon ...

Shadow of Black Hole in M87 Galaxy Is Wobbling and Has Been for a While

A new analysis reveals the behavior of the supermassive black hole in the center of the M87 galaxy across multiple years, indicating the crescent-like shadow feature appears to be ...

How to Have a Blast Like a Black Hole

Scientists have created magnetized-plasma conditions similar to those near a black hole using very intense laser pulses. This work may help show how X-rays can be produced by astronomical ...

An Unexpected Origin Story for a Lopsided Black Hole Merger

A lopsided merger of two black holes may have an oddball origin story, according to a new ...

A 'Bang' in LIGO and Virgo Detectors Signals Most Massive Gravitational-Wave Source Yet

Researchers have detected a signal from what may be the most massive black hole merger yet observed in gravitational waves. The product of the merger is the first clear detection of an ...

Researchers Predict Location of Novel Candidate for Mysterious Dark Energy

New research explains what may be the cause of the universe's accelerating ...

Can a Black Hole Fire Up the Cold Heart of the Phoenix Galaxy Cluster?

Radio astronomers have detected jets of hot gas blasted out by a black hole in the galaxy at the heart of the Phoenix Galaxy Cluster, located 5.9 billion light-years away in the constellation ...

Rare Encounters Between Cosmic Heavyweights

Astronomers have discovered three pairs of merging galaxies. Each of the galaxies contain a supermassive black hole that's feasting on material surrounding it, creating a phenomenon called a ...

New Observations of Black Hole Devouring a Star Reveal Rapid Disk Formation

When a star passes too close to a supermassive black hole, tidal forces tear it apart, producing a bright flare of radiation as material from the star falls into the black hole. Astronomers study the ...

Spinning Black Hole Powers Jet by Magnetic Flux

A new letter has been found in the mysterious alphabet of black ...

Mystery Gas Discovered Near Center of Milky Way

Researchers have discovered a dense, cold gas that's been shot out from the center of the Milky Way 'like ...

Cosmic Gas Cloud Blinks in Sync With Circling Black Hole

Scientists have detected a mysterious gamma-ray heartbeat coming from a cosmic gas cloud. The inconspicuous cloud in the constellation Aquila is beating with the rhythm of a neighbouring precessing ...

'Black Dwarf Supernova': Physicist Calculates When the Last Supernova Ever Will Happen

New theoretical research finds that many white dwarfs may explode in supernova in the distant far future, long after everything else in the universe has died and gone ...

Unequal Neutron-Star Mergers Create Unique 'Bang' in Simulations

In a series of simulations, researchers determined that some neutron star collisions not only produce gravitational waves, but also electromagnetic radiation that should be detectable on ...

How Galaxies Die: New Insights Into the Quenching of Star Formation

Astronomers studying galaxy evolution have long struggled to understand what causes star formation to shut down in massive galaxies. Although many theories have been proposed to explain this process, ...

In a First, Astronomers Watch a Black Hole's Corona Disappear, Then Reappear

It seems the universe has an odd sense of humor. While a crown-encrusted virus has run roughshod over the world, another entirely different corona about 100 million light years from Earth has ...

Breakthrough in Deciphering Birth of Supermassive Black Holes

Scientists say they are closer to understanding how a supermassive black hole (SMBH) is born thanks to a new technique that has enabled them to zoom in on one of these enigmatic cosmic objects in ...

Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Sunday, July 12, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Sunday, October 6, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019