advertisement
Extrasolar Planets 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Astronomers think planets can exist in orbits far from their star, and propose a two-step process: interactions with the ...

Space Weather Discovery Puts 'Habitable Planets' at Risk

Stellar flares with a chance of radio bursts: that's the weather from Proxima Centauri. New research suggests exoplanets around red dwarf M-type stars will likely be exposed to coronal mass ...

Rapid-Forming Giants Could Disrupt Spiral Protoplanetary Discs

Giant planets that developed early in a star system's life could solve a mystery of why spiral structures are not observed in young protoplanetary discs, according to a new ...

Stellar Flares Can Lead to Diminishment of a Planet's Habitability

Researchers identified which stars were most likely to host habitable exoplanets based on the calculated erosion rates of the planetary ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:02pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Two Planets Around a Red Dwarf

Astronomers have detected two exoplanets orbiting the star TOI-1266. The telescope thus demonstrates its high precision and takes an important step in the quest of finding potentially habitable ...

Vaporized Metal in the Air of an Exoplanet

Researchers studied the atmosphere of the ultra-hot exoplanet WASP-121b. In it, they found a number of gaseous metals. The results are a next step in the search for potentially habitable ...

New Research Explores How Super Flares Affect Planets' Habitability

New research will help astrobiologists understand how much radiation planets experience during super flares and whether life could exist on worlds beyond our solar ...

Some Planets May Be Better for Life Than Earth

Researchers have identified two dozen planets outside our solar system that may have conditions more suitable for life than our own. Some of these orbit stars that may be better than even our ...

Venus Might Be Habitable Today, If Not for Jupiter

Venus might not be a sweltering, waterless hellscape today, if Jupiter hadn't altered its orbit around the sun, according to new ...

First Study With CHEOPS Data Describes One of the Most Extreme Planets in the Universe

CHEOPS keeps its promise: Observations with the space telescope reveal details of the exoplanet WASP-189b - one of the most extreme planets ...

Water on Exoplanet Cloud Tops Could Be Found With Hi-Tech Instrumentation

Astronomers have shown that water vapor can potentially be detected in the atmospheres of exoplanets by peering literally over the tops of their impenetrable ...

Astronomers Discover an Earth-Sized 'Pi Planet' With a 3.14-Day Orbit

Scientists have discovered a 'pi Earth' -- an Earth-sized planet that zips around its star every 3.14 days, in an orbit reminiscent of the universal mathematics ...

Can Life Survive a Star's Death? Webb Telescope Can Reveal the Answer

When stars like our sun die, all that remains is an exposed core -- a white dwarf. A planet orbiting a white dwarf presents a promising opportunity to determine if life can survive the death of its ...

Enormous Planet Quickly Orbiting a Tiny, Dying Star

Thanks to a bevy of telescopes in space and on Earth -- and even a pair of amateur astronomers in Arizona -- astronomers have discovered a Jupiter-sized planet orbiting at breakneck speed around a ...

Scientist Searches for Stellar Phosphorus to Find Potentially Habitable Exoplanets

A scientist has identified stellar phosphorus as a probable marker in narrowing the search for life in the cosmos. She has developed techniques to identify stars likely to host exoplanets, based on ...

A Warm Jupiter Orbiting a Cool Star

A planet observed crossing in front of, or transiting, a low-mass star has been determined to be about the size of ...

Carbon-Rich Exoplanets May Be Made of Diamonds

Astronomers have determined that some carbon-rich exoplanets, given the right circumstances, could be made of diamonds and ...

Meteorites Show Transport of Material in Early Solar System

New studies of a rare type of meteorite show that material from close to the Sun reached the outer solar system even as the planet Jupiter cleared a gap in the disk of dust and gas from which the ...

Peculiar Planetary System Architecture Around Three Orion Stars Explained

In our Solar System, the eight planets and many other minor objects orbit in a flat plane around the Sun; but in some distant systems, planets orbit on an incline -- sometimes a very steep one. New ...

Fifty New Planets Confirmed in Machine Learning First

Fifty potential planets have had their existence confirmed by a new machine learning ...

Unveiling Rogue Planets With NASA's Roman Space Telescope

New simulations show that NASA's Nancy Grace Roman Space Telescope will be able to reveal myriad rogue planets -- freely floating bodies that drift through our galaxy untethered to a ...

NASA's Planet Hunter Completes Its Primary Mission

NASA's TESS has completed its primary mission, imaging about 75% of the starry sky during a two-year-long survey. TESS has found 66 new planets, nearly 2,100 candidates, and much ...

Hubble Uses Earth as Proxy for Identifying Oxygen on Potentially Habitable Exoplanets

Taking advantage of a total lunar eclipse, Hubble used the Moon as a mirror to study sunlight that had passed through Earth's atmosphere. As a result, Hubble detected Earth's own brand of ...

Surprisingly Dense Exoplanet Challenges Planet Formation Theories

New detailed observations reveal a young exoplanet, orbiting a young star in the Hyades cluster, that is unusually dense for its size and age. Weighing in at 25 Earth-masses, and slightly smaller ...

Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019