advertisement
Solar System 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Chance Played a Major Role in Keeping Earth Fit for Life

A study gives a new perspective on why our planet has managed to stay habitable for billions of years - concluding it is almost certainly due, at least in part, to luck. The research suggests this ...
Astronomers think planets can exist in orbits far from their star, and propose a two-step process: interactions with the ...

Water on Mars Not as Widespread as Previously Thought

Scientists created planetwide maps of where water might be found on Mars. It is probably scarcer than previously thought, they ...

A Look at the Sun's Dusty Environment

Scientists say that how dust moves and transforms around the sun may give them new insights to how Earth and its neighboring planets formed more than 4.5 billion years ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:02pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Floods of unimaginable magnitude once washed through Gale Crater on Mars' equator around 4 billion years ago -- a finding that hints at the possibility that life may have existed there, ...

Ancient Zircon Minerals from Mars Reveal the Elusive Internal Structure of the Red Planet

Analysis of an ancient meteorite from Mars suggests that the mineral zircon may be abundant on the surface of the red planet. By determining the age and hafnium isotope composition of these zircons, ...

Scientists Expand Space Instrument's Capabilities

Scientists have expanded the capabilities of the prototype spaceflight instrument Chemistry Organic and Dating Experiment (CODEX), designed for field-based dating of extraterrestrial materials. CODEX ...

Escape from Mars: How Water Fled the Red Planet

Mars once had oceans but is now bone-dry, leaving many to wonder how the water was lost. Researchers have discovered a surprisingly large amount of water in the upper atmosphere of Mars, where it is ...

Mining Rocks in Orbit Could Aid Deep Space Exploration

The first mining experiments conducted in space could pave the way for new technologies to help humans explore and establish settlements on distant worlds, a study ...

Life is deeply dependent on water, but where does water come from? Based on new research, researchers believe it may emerge in connection with the formation of ...

Clay Subsoil at Earth's Driest Place May Signal Life on Mars

Diverse microbes discovered in the clay-rich, shallow soil layers in Chile's dry Atacama Desert suggest that similar deposits below the Martian surface may contain microorganisms, which could be ...

The Craters on Earth

A two-volume atlas presents and explains the impact sites of meteorites and asteroids ...

New Remote Sensing Technique Could Bring Key Planetary Mineral Into Focus

The mineral olivine, thought to be a major component inside all planetary bodies, holds secrets about the early formation of the solar system, and a team of researchers has a new way to study it ...

Water on Ancient Mars

A meteorite that originated on Mars billions of years ago reveals details of ancient impact events on the red planet. Certain minerals from the Martian crust in the meteorite are oxidized, suggesting ...

Asteroid's Scars Tell Stories of Its Past

Asteroid Bennu only recently migrated into Earth's neighborhood, according to a detailed analysis of impact marks on boulders on its surface. The report provides a new benchmark for ...

New work reveals the likely original locations of Saturn and Jupiter. These findings refine our understanding of the forces that determined our Solar System's unusual architecture, including the ...

Juno Data Indicates 'Sprites' or 'Elves' Frolic in Jupiter's Atmosphere

An instrument on NASA's Juno mission spacecraft may have detected transient luminous events -- bright flashes of light in the gas giant's upper ...

Geologists Simulate Soil Conditions to Help Grow Plants on Mars

Humankind's next giant step may be onto Mars. But before those missions can begin, scientists need to make scores of breakthrough advances, including learning how to grow crops on the red ...

Mmore Complete View of Massive Asteroid Psyche

A new study discusses several new views of the asteroid 16 Psyche, including the first ultra-violet observations. The study paints a clearer view of the asteroid than was previously ...

NASA's Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA) has confirmed, for the first time, water on the sunlit surface of the Moon. This discovery indicates that water may be distributed ...

Data Reveals Evidence of Molecular Absorption in the Atmosphere of a Hot Neptune

An international team of scientists recently measured the spectrum of the atmosphere of a rare hot Neptune exoplanet, whose discovery by NASA's Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) was ...

Stars and Planets Grow Up Together as Siblings

ALMA shows rings around the still-growing proto-star IRS ...

New Study Details Atmosphere on 'Hot Neptune' 260 Light Years Away That 'Shouldn't Exist'

Astronomers have crunched data from NASA's TESS and Spitzer space telescopes to portray for the first time the atmosphere of a highly unusual kind of exoplanet dubbed a 'hot ...

New radio images from ALMA show for the first time the direct effect of volcanic activity on the atmosphere of Jupiter's moon ...

Friday, November 20, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Sunday, August 2, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Sunday, July 12, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020