advertisement
Space Missions 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Water on Mars Not as Widespread as Previously Thought

Scientists created planetwide maps of where water might be found on Mars. It is probably scarcer than previously thought, they ...

Image-Based Navigation Could Help Spacecraft Safely Land on the Moon

Engineers have demonstrated how a series of lunar images can be used to infer the direction that a spacecraft is moving. This technique, sometimes called visual odometry, allows navigation ...

Supercomputer Simulations Could Unlock Mystery of Moon's Formation

Astronomers have taken a step towards understanding how the Moon might have formed out of a giant collision between the early Earth and another massive object 4.5 billion years ...

Voyager Spacecraft Detect New Type of Solar Electron Burst

The Voyager spacecraft continue to make discoveries even as they travel through interstellar space. In a new study, physicists report on the Voyagers' detection of cosmic ray electrons associated ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:03pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Mining Rocks in Orbit Could Aid Deep Space Exploration

The first mining experiments conducted in space could pave the way for new technologies to help humans explore and establish settlements on distant worlds, a study ...

Life is deeply dependent on water, but where does water come from? Based on new research, researchers believe it may emerge in connection with the formation of ...

Clay Subsoil at Earth's Driest Place May Signal Life on Mars

Diverse microbes discovered in the clay-rich, shallow soil layers in Chile's dry Atacama Desert suggest that similar deposits below the Martian surface may contain microorganisms, which could be ...

New Mineral Discovered in Moon Meteorite

The high-pressure mineral Donwilhelmsite, recently discovered in the lunar meteorite Oued Awlitis 001 from Apollo missions, is important for understanding the inner structure of ...

New Remote Sensing Technique Could Bring Key Planetary Mineral Into Focus

The mineral olivine, thought to be a major component inside all planetary bodies, holds secrets about the early formation of the solar system, and a team of researchers has a new way to study it ...

Water on Ancient Mars

A meteorite that originated on Mars billions of years ago reveals details of ancient impact events on the red planet. Certain minerals from the Martian crust in the meteorite are oxidized, suggesting ...

Asteroid's Scars Tell Stories of Its Past

Asteroid Bennu only recently migrated into Earth's neighborhood, according to a detailed analysis of impact marks on boulders on its surface. The report provides a new benchmark for ...

NASA's OSIRIS-REx Successfully Stows Sample of Asteroid Bennu

NASA's Origins, Spectral Interpretation, Resource Identification, Security, Regolith Explorer (OSIRIS-REx) mission has successfully stowed the spacecraft's Sample Return Capsule (SRC) and ...

Geologists Simulate Soil Conditions to Help Grow Plants on Mars

Humankind's next giant step may be onto Mars. But before those missions can begin, scientists need to make scores of breakthrough advances, including learning how to grow crops on the red ...

Mmore Complete View of Massive Asteroid Psyche

A new study discusses several new views of the asteroid 16 Psyche, including the first ultra-violet observations. The study paints a clearer view of the asteroid than was previously ...

Tiny Moon Shadows May Harbor Hidden Stores of Ice

Hidden pockets of water could be much more common on the surface of the moon than scientists once suspected, according to new ...

NASA's Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA) has confirmed, for the first time, water on the sunlit surface of the Moon. This discovery indicates that water may be distributed ...

Two days after touching down on asteroid Bennu, NASA's OSIRIS-REx mission team received on Thursday, Oct. 22, images that confirm the spacecraft has collected more than enough material to meet ...

Magnetic Fields on the Moon Are the Remnant of an Ancient Core Dynamo

A long discussed theory about the local magnetic spots of the moon suggests that they are the result of magnetization processes caused by impacts of massive bodies on the moon surface. A new study ...

Looking for Pieces of Venus? Try the Moon

A growing body of research suggests the planet Venus may have had an Earth-like environment billions of years ago, with water and a thin ...

Moon's Magnetic Crust Research Sees Scientists Debunk Long-Held Theory

New international research into the Moon provides scientists with insights as to how and why its crust is magnetized, essentially 'debunking' one of the previous longstanding ...

First Measurements of Radiation Levels on the Moon

In the coming years and decades, various nations want to explore the moon, and plan to send astronauts there again for this purpose. But on our inhospitable satellite, space radiation poses a ...

Comet Discovered to Have Its Own Northern Lights

Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko has its own far-ultraviolet aurora, data reveal. It is the first time such electromagnetic emissions in the far-ultraviolet have been documented on a celestial object ...

Modern Theory from Ancient Impacts

It is generally accepted that the inner region of the early solar system was subject to an intense period of meteoric bombardment referred to as the late heavy bombardment. However, researchers have ...

Study Shows Difficulty in Finding Evidence of Life on Mars

While scientists are eager to study the red planet's soils for signs of life, researchers must ponder a considerable new challenge: Acidic fluids - which once flowed on the Martian surface - may ...

Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Sunday, August 2, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Saturday, May 30, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019