advertisement
Space Probes 亚博棋牌平台
October 20, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Scientists Study the Rugged Surface of Near-Earth Asteroid Bennu

As the days count down to NASA's OSIRIS-REx spacecraft's Touch-And-Go asteroid sample collection attempt, scientists have determined what the spacecraft can expect to return from the near-Earth ...

Scientists Peer Inside an Asteroid

New findings from NASA's OSIRIS-REx mission suggest that the interior of the asteroid Bennu could be weaker and less dense than its outer layers -- like a crème-filled chocolate egg flying though ...

Explaining the Formation of a Hexagon Storm on Saturn

Researchers create a new 3D model that could explain the formation of a hexagon storm on Saturn -- a hurricane about 20,000 miles in ...

First Measurements of Radiation Levels on the Moon

In the coming years and decades, various nations want to explore the moon, and plan to send astronauts there again for this purpose. But on our inhospitable satellite, space radiation poses a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:02pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Solar Storm Forecasts for Earth Improved With Help from the Public

Scientists used observations recorded by members of the public to increase accuracy of computer model predictions of when harmful CMEs will hit ...

Student Research Team Develops Hybrid Rocket Engine

In a year defined by obstacles, a student rocket team persevered. Working together across five time zones, they successfully designed a hybrid rocket engine that uses paraffin and a novel nitrous ...

The Most Sensitive Instrument in the Search for Life Beyond Earth

Researchers have developed the highly sensitive ORIGIN instrument, which can provide proof of the smallest amounts of traces of life, for future space missions. The instrument may be used on missions ...

Aurora Mysteries Unlocked With NASA's THEMIS Mission

A special type of aurora, draped east-west across the night sky like a glowing pearl necklace, is helping scientists better understand the science of auroras and their powerful drivers out in ...

Perovskite and Organic Solar Cells Rocketed Into Space

Researchers have sent perovskite and organic solar cells on a rocket into space. The solar cells withstood the extreme conditions in space, producing power from direct sunlight and reflective light ...

Mystery Solved: Bright Areas on Ceres Come from Salty Water Below

Data from NASA's recent Dawn mission answers two long-unresolved questions: Is there liquid inside Ceres, and how long ago was the dwarf planet geologically ...

Huge Ring-Like Structure on Ganymede's Surface May Have Been Caused by Violent Impact

Image data reanalysis has revealed that ancient tectonic troughs are concentrically distributed across almost the entire surface of Jupiter's moon Ganymede. Computer simulation results suggest ...

NASA's Maven Observes Martian Night Sky Pulsing in Ultraviolet Light

Vast areas of the Martian night sky pulse in ultraviolet light, according to images from NASA's MAVEN spacecraft. The results are being used to illuminate complex circulation patterns in the ...

Ammonia Sparks Unexpected, Exotic Lightning on Jupiter

NASA's Juno spacecraft -- orbiting and closely observing the planet Jupiter -- has unexpectedly discovered lightning in the planet's upper atmosphere, according to a multi-institutional ...

Sun’s Bubble of Influence May Be Shaped Like a Deflated Croissant

Scientists have developed a new prediction of the shape of the bubble surrounding our solar system using a model developed with data from NASA ...

Lava Tubes on Mars and the Moon Are So Wide They Can Host Planetary Bases

Subsurface cavities created by lava on Mars and the Moon could provide a shield against cosmic radiation, new research ...

NASA Astronauts Safely Splash Down After First Commercial Crew Flight to Space Station

Two NASA astronauts splashed down safely in the Gulf of Mexico Sunday for the first time in a commercially built and operated American crew spacecraft, returning from the International Space Station ...

Mars 2020 Perseverance Rover Mission to Red Planet Successfully Launched

NASA's Mars 2020 Perseverance rover mission is on its way to the Red Planet to search for signs of ancient life and collect samples to send back to ...

Astrophysicist Investigates the Possibility of Life Below the Surface of Mars

Although no life has been detected on the Martian surface, a new study from astrophysicist and research scientist finds that conditions below the surface could potentially support ...

Hubble Sees Summertime on Saturn

Saturn is truly the lord of the rings in this latest snapshot from NASA's Hubble Space Telescope, taken on July 4, 2020, when the opulent giant world was 839 million miles from Earth. A new ...

Solar Orbiter's First Images Reveal 'Campfires' on the Sun

The first images from Solar Orbiter, a new Sun-observing mission by ESA and NASA, have revealed omnipresent miniature solar flares, dubbed 'campfires', near the surface of our closest ...

Higher Concentration of Metal in Moon's Craters Provides New Insights to Its Origin

There has been considerable debate over how the Moon was formed. The popular hypothesis contends that the Moon was formed by a Mars-sized body colliding with Earth's upper crust which is poor in ...

Quantum Entanglement Demonstrated Aboard Orbiting CubeSat

In a critical step toward creating a global quantum communications network, researchers have generated and detected quantum entanglement onboard a CubeSat nanosatellite weighing less than 2.6 ...

Scientists Provide New Explanation for the Far Side of the Moon's Strange Asymmetry

The Earth-Moon system's history remains mysterious. Scientists believe the two formed when a Mars-sized body collided with the proto-Earth. Earth ended up being the larger daughter of this ...

Spacecrafts Get a Boost in 'Aerogravity Assisted' Interactions

Researchers map the energy variations of the spacecraft orbits due to 'Aerogravity Assisted' ...

Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Sunday, August 2, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Saturday, May 30, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019