advertisement
Space Telescopes 亚博棋牌平台
October 16, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Two Planets Around a Red Dwarf

Astronomers have detected two exoplanets orbiting the star TOI-1266. The telescope thus demonstrates its high precision and takes an important step in the quest of finding potentially habitable ...

Anemic Star Cluster Breaks Metal-Poor Record

In a surprising discovery, astronomers have found a star cluster in the Andromeda Galaxy that contains a record-breaking low amount of metals, calling into question the so-called 'metallicity-floor' ...

NASA's James Webb Telescopes Will Reveal Hidden Galaxies

Simulations show it's possible to distinguish host galaxy from quasars, although still challenging due to the galaxy's small size on the ...

Astronomers Find X-Rays Lingering Years After Landmark Neutron Star Collision

It's been three years since the landmark detection of a neutron star merger from gravitational waves. Since that day, an international team of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:03pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Some Planets May Be Better for Life Than Earth

Researchers have identified two dozen planets outside our solar system that may have conditions more suitable for life than our own. Some of these orbit stars that may be better than even our ...

Einstein's Description of Gravity Just Got Much Harder to Beat

Astrophysicists put general relativity to a new test with black hole ...

When a star unleashes as much energy in a matter of days as our Sun does in several billion years, you know it's not going to remain visible for long. Like intergalactic paparazzi, NASA's ...

First Study With CHEOPS Data Describes One of the Most Extreme Planets in the Universe

CHEOPS keeps its promise: Observations with the space telescope reveal details of the exoplanet WASP-189b - one of the most extreme planets ...

Faint Orbital Debris That Threatens Satellites Not Being Monitored Closely Enough, Warn Astronomers

Astronomers are warning that orbital debris posing a threat to operational satellites is not being monitored closely enough, as they publish a new survey finding that over 75% of the orbital debris ...

Shadow of Black Hole in M87 Galaxy Is Wobbling and Has Been for a While

A new analysis reveals the behavior of the supermassive black hole in the center of the M87 galaxy across multiple years, indicating the crescent-like shadow feature appears to be ...

Water on Exoplanet Cloud Tops Could Be Found With Hi-Tech Instrumentation

Astronomers have shown that water vapor can potentially be detected in the atmospheres of exoplanets by peering literally over the tops of their impenetrable ...

Astronomers Discover an Earth-Sized 'Pi Planet' With a 3.14-Day Orbit

Scientists have discovered a 'pi Earth' -- an Earth-sized planet that zips around its star every 3.14 days, in an orbit reminiscent of the universal mathematics ...

Hubble's sharp view is giving researchers an updated weather report on the monster planet's turbulent atmosphere, including a remarkable new storm brewing, and a cousin of the famous Great ...

Climate Change Impacts Astronomical Observations

Already, climate change is having an impact on the conditions of space observation at the Very Large Telescope in the Atacama Desert. In future, new telescopes will have to be adapted to the expected ...

Can Life Survive a Star's Death? Webb Telescope Can Reveal the Answer

When stars like our sun die, all that remains is an exposed core -- a white dwarf. A planet orbiting a white dwarf presents a promising opportunity to determine if life can survive the death of its ...

Enormous Planet Quickly Orbiting a Tiny, Dying Star

Thanks to a bevy of telescopes in space and on Earth -- and even a pair of amateur astronomers in Arizona -- astronomers have discovered a Jupiter-sized planet orbiting at breakneck speed around a ...

Unraveling a Spiral Stream of Dusty Embers from a Massive Binary Stellar Forge

With almost two decades of mid-infrared imaging from the largest observatories around the world including the Subaru Telescope, a team of astronomers was able to capture the spiral motion of newly ...

A Warm Jupiter Orbiting a Cool Star

A planet observed crossing in front of, or transiting, a low-mass star has been determined to be about the size of ...

Astronomers have discovered a rare molecule -- phosphine -- in the clouds of Venus. On Earth, this gas is only made industrially or by microbes that thrive in oxygen-free environments. Astronomers ...

Carbon-Rich Exoplanets May Be Made of Diamonds

Astronomers have determined that some carbon-rich exoplanets, given the right circumstances, could be made of diamonds and ...

Recent observations have found that something may be missing from the theories of how dark matter behaves. This missing ingredient may explain why researchers have uncovered an unexpected discrepancy ...

Revealing the Secrets of High-Energy Cosmic Particles

The 'IceCube' neutrino observatory deep in the ice of the South Pole has already brought spectacular new insights into cosmic incidents of extremely high energies. Astronomers observe the ...

Massive Halo Finally Explains Stream of Gas Swirling Around the Milky Way

Astronomers have discovered that a halo of warm gas surrounding the Magellanic Clouds likely acts as a protective cocoon, shielding the dwarf galaxies from the Milky Way's own halo and ...

Australian Telescope Finds No Signs of Alien Technology in 10 Million Star Systems

A radio telescope in outback Western Australia has completed the deepest and broadest search at low frequencies for alien technologies, scanning a patch of sky known to include at least 10 million ...

Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020