advertisement
Stars 亚博棋牌平台
October 19, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Two Planets Around a Red Dwarf

Astronomers have detected two exoplanets orbiting the star TOI-1266. The telescope thus demonstrates its high precision and takes an important step in the quest of finding potentially habitable ...

Anemic Star Cluster Breaks Metal-Poor Record

In a surprising discovery, astronomers have found a star cluster in the Andromeda Galaxy that contains a record-breaking low amount of metals, calling into question the so-called 'metallicity-floor' ...

Star Clusters Are Only the Tip of the Iceberg

Star clusters have been part of the Imaginarium of human civilization for millennia. The brightest star clusters to Earth, like the Pleiades, are readily visible to the naked eye. A team around ...

Astronomers Find X-Rays Lingering Years After Landmark Neutron Star Collision

It's been three years since the landmark detection of a neutron star merger from gravitational waves. Since that day, an international team of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:02pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Discovery of Close Binary Trans-Neptunian Object

A new study reveals the binary nature of a trans-Neptunian object ...

First Study With CHEOPS Data Describes One of the Most Extreme Planets in the Universe

CHEOPS keeps its promise: Observations with the space telescope reveal details of the exoplanet WASP-189b - one of the most extreme planets ...

Astronomers Model, Determine How Disk Galaxies Evolve So Smoothly

By developing better computer simulations, researchers have determined that the scattering of stars from their orbits by the gravity of massive clumps within galaxies leads to a common look in galaxy ...

Pair of Massive Baby Stars Swaddled in Salty Water Vapor

Astronomers spotted a pair of massive baby stars growing in salty cosmic soup. Each star is shrouded by a gaseous disk which includes molecules of sodium chloride, commonly known as table salt, and ...

Astronomers Discover an Earth-Sized 'Pi Planet' With a 3.14-Day Orbit

Scientists have discovered a 'pi Earth' -- an Earth-sized planet that zips around its star every 3.14 days, in an orbit reminiscent of the universal mathematics ...

Can Life Survive a Star's Death? Webb Telescope Can Reveal the Answer

When stars like our sun die, all that remains is an exposed core -- a white dwarf. A planet orbiting a white dwarf presents a promising opportunity to determine if life can survive the death of its ...

Enormous Planet Quickly Orbiting a Tiny, Dying Star

Thanks to a bevy of telescopes in space and on Earth -- and even a pair of amateur astronomers in Arizona -- astronomers have discovered a Jupiter-sized planet orbiting at breakneck speed around a ...

Scientist Searches for Stellar Phosphorus to Find Potentially Habitable Exoplanets

A scientist has identified stellar phosphorus as a probable marker in narrowing the search for life in the cosmos. She has developed techniques to identify stars likely to host exoplanets, based on ...

Unraveling a Spiral Stream of Dusty Embers from a Massive Binary Stellar Forge

With almost two decades of mid-infrared imaging from the largest observatories around the world including the Subaru Telescope, a team of astronomers was able to capture the spiral motion of newly ...

From Star to Solar System: How Protoplanetary Rings Form in Primordial Gas Clouds

The star HL Tauri is glowing at the center of a system of concentric rings made from gas and dust and producing planets, one for each gap in the ring. Its discovery has shaken solar system origin ...

Elements of Surprise: Neutron Stars Contribute Little, but Something's Making Gold

Neutron star collisions do not create the quantity of chemical elements previously assumed, a new analysis of galaxy evolution finds. The research also reveals that current models can't explain ...

A Warm Jupiter Orbiting a Cool Star

A planet observed crossing in front of, or transiting, a low-mass star has been determined to be about the size of ...

Unique Supernova Explosion

Astronomers have discovered a supernova that could help uncover the origins of the group of supernovae this star belongs ...

Massive Halo Finally Explains Stream of Gas Swirling Around the Milky Way

Astronomers have discovered that a halo of warm gas surrounding the Magellanic Clouds likely acts as a protective cocoon, shielding the dwarf galaxies from the Milky Way's own halo and ...

Peculiar Planetary System Architecture Around Three Orion Stars Explained

In our Solar System, the eight planets and many other minor objects orbit in a flat plane around the Sun; but in some distant systems, planets orbit on an incline -- sometimes a very steep one. New ...

Researchers have detected a signal from what may be the most massive black hole merger yet observed in gravitational waves. The product of the merger is the first clear detection of an ...

Astrophysics: A Direct View of Star/disk Interactions

Astronomers have for the first time directly observed the columns of matter that build up newborn stars. This was observed in the young star TW Hydrae system located approximately 163 light years ...

Can a Black Hole Fire Up the Cold Heart of the Phoenix Galaxy Cluster?

Radio astronomers have detected jets of hot gas blasted out by a black hole in the galaxy at the heart of the Phoenix Galaxy Cluster, located 5.9 billion light-years away in the constellation ...

New Observations of Black Hole Devouring a Star Reveal Rapid Disk Formation

When a star passes too close to a supermassive black hole, tidal forces tear it apart, producing a bright flare of radiation as material from the star falls into the black hole. Astronomers study the ...

Unveiling Rogue Planets With NASA's Roman Space Telescope

New simulations show that NASA's Nancy Grace Roman Space Telescope will be able to reveal myriad rogue planets -- freely floating bodies that drift through our galaxy untethered to a ...

Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Sunday, April 19, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020