advertisement
Human Quirks: Living Well
December 10, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Key Advance for Printing Circuitry on Wearable Fabrics

Electronic shirts that keep the wearer comfortably warm or cool, as well as medical fabrics that deliver drugs, monitor the condition of a wound and perform other tasks, may one day be manufactured ...

Luminescent Wood Could Light Up Homes of the Future

The right indoor lighting can help set the mood, from a soft romantic glow to bright, stimulating colors. But some materials used for lighting, such as plastics, are not eco-friendly. Now, ...

Research Lays Groundwork for Ultra-Thin, Energy Efficient Photodetector on Glass

Though we may not always realize it, photodetectors contribute greatly to the convenience of modern life. Also known as photosensors, photodetectors ...
In the nearly two centuries since 98.6 degrees Fahrenheit (37.0 degrees Celsius) was established as the standard 'normal' body temperature, it has been used as the measure by ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:09pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Using a Public Restroom? Mask Up!

Researchers report that flushing public restroom toilets can release clouds of virus-laden aerosols for you to potentially inhale. After running additional computer simulations, they've ...

Evolutionary Theory of Economic Decisions

When survival over generations is the end game, researchers say it makes sense to undervalue long shots that could be profitable and overestimate the likelihood of rare bad ...

'Drawn-on-Skin' Electronics Offer Breakthrough in Wearable Monitors

Researchers have reported a new form of electronics known as 'drawn-on-skin electronics,' allowing multifunctional sensors and circuits to be drawn on the skin with an ink ...

New Fabric Could Help Keep You Cool in the Summer, Even Without A/C

Air conditioning and other space cooling methods account for about 10% of all electricity consumption in the U.S., according to the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Now, researchers have ...

Neanderthals May Have Had a Lower Threshold for Pain

Nerve cells have a special ion channel that has a key role in starting the electrical impulse that signals pain and is sent to the brain. New research finds that people who inherited the Neanderthal ...

Giving Robots Human-Like Perception of Their Physical Environments

New model helps robots understand their environment as humans ...

Move Over, Siri! Researchers Develop Improv-Based Chatbot

Computer scientists have incorporated improv dialogues into chatbots to produce more grounded and engaging ...

Distorted Passage of Time During the COVID-19 Lockdown

A survey conducted in the U.K. suggests that social and physical distancing measures put in place during the Covid-19 pandemic significantly impacted people's perception of how quickly time ...

Our Animal Inheritance: Humans Perk Up Their Ears, Too, When They Hear Interesting Sounds

Many animals move their ears to better focus their attention on a novel sound. That humans also have this capability was not known until now. A research team now has demonstrated that we make minute, ...

What It Means When Animals Have Beliefs

Humans are not the only ones who have beliefs; animals do too, although it is more difficult to prove them than with humans. Researchers have now proposed four criteria to understand and empirically ...

Digitize Your Dog Into a Computer Game

Researchers have developed motion capture technology that enables you to digitize your dog without a motion capture suit and using only one ...

Turning Faces Into Thermostats: Autonomous HVAC System Could Provide More Comfort With Less Energy

As lockdown requirements ease, COVID-19 is changing the way we use indoor spaces. That presents challenges for those who manage those spaces, from homes to offices and ...

Personality Traits Linked to Toilet Paper Stockpiling

People who feel more threatened by COVID-19 and rank highly on scales of emotionality and conscientiousness were most likely to stockpile toilet paper in March 2020, according to a new ...

Will Lockdown Loneliness Make Us Loners?

Loneliness affects both mental and physical health, but counterintuitively it can also result in a decreased desire for social interaction. To understand the mechanics of this paradox, researchers ...

For University Classrooms, Are Telepresence Robots the Next Best Thing to Being There?

Telepresence robots help university students learning remotely to feel more a part of the class, new research ...

Designing Technologies That Interpret Your Mood from Your Skin

An international team of researchers have developed an innovative way of interpreting biological signals produced by the conductance of our skin. The system displays information in the form of ...

Hearts That Drum Together Beat Together

Researchers have found that in a structured group drumming task aspects of participants' heart function synchronized. In a subsequent improvisational drumming task, groups with high ...

What We Can't See Can Help Us Find Things

Anyone who's ever tried to find something in a hurry knows how helpful it is to think about the lost item's color, size and shape. But surprisingly, traits of an object that you can't ...

Our Ability to Focus May Falter After Eating One Meal High in Saturated Fat

Fatty food may feel like a friend during these troubled times, but new research suggests that eating just one meal high in saturated fat can hinder our ability to concentrate -- not great news for ...

Reduced Obesity for Weighted-Vest Wearers

Scientists have found a new method of reducing human body weight and fat mass using weighted vests. The new study indicates that there is something comparable to built-in bathroom scales that ...

Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Monday, December 9, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Sunday, October 20, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019