advertisement
Odd Creatures 亚博棋牌平台
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Multi-Drone System Autonomously Surveys Penguin Colonies

A new multi-drone imaging system was put to the test in Antarctica. The task? Documenting a colony of roughly 1 million Adélie ...

Mountain Gorillas Are Good Neighbors Up to a Point

Mountain gorilla groups are friendly to familiar neighbors - provided they stay out of 'core' parts of their territory - new research ...

Australian Scientists Discover 500-Meter-Tall Coral Reef in the Great Barrier Reef

Scientists have discovered a massive detached coral reef in the Great Barrier Reef, measuring more than 500 meters high -- taller than the Empire ...

Antarctica Yields Oldest Fossils of Giant Birds With 21-Foot Wingspans

Some of the largest birds in history, called pelagornithids, arose a few million years after the mass extinction that killed off the dinosaurs and patrolled the oceans with giant wingspans for some ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:09pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Colorful Perovskites: Thermochromic Window Technologies

Scientists report a breakthrough in developing a next-generation thermochromic window that not only reduces the need for air conditioning but simultaneously generates ...

Microbial Diversity Below Seafloor Is as Rich as on Earth's Surface

For the first time, researchers have mapped the biological diversity of marine sediment, one of Earth's largest global biomes. The research team discovered that microbial diversity in the dark, ...

Odors as Navigational Cues for Pigeons

Volatile organic compounds identified that can be used for olfactory navigation by homing ...

Primates Aren't Quite Frogs

Researchers have demonstrated the 'spinal motor module hypothesis' in the primate arm, opening a new pathway for recovery after disease or ...

Those Funky Cheese Smells Allow Microbes to 'Talk' to and Feed Each Other

Researchers found that bacteria essential to ripening cheese can sense and respond to compounds produced by fungi in the rind and released into the air, enhancing the growth of some species of ...

Thin tissue grafts and flexible electronics have a host of applications for wound healing, regenerative medicine and biosensing. A new device inspired by an octopus's sucker rapidly transfers ...

Fossil Footprints Tell Story of Prehistoric Parent's Journey

Hungry giant predators, treacherous mud and a tired, probably cranky toddler -- more than 10,000 years ago, that was the stuff of every parent's nightmare. Evidence of that type of frightening ...

World First Study Shows That Some Microorganisms Can Bend the Rules of Evolution

The dominant thinking in evolution focuses on inheritance between parent and offspring - or 'vertical gene transfer (VGT)'. But now scientists are paying more attention to 'horizontal ...

Scientists Engineer Bacteria-Killing Molecules from Wasp Venom

Scientists have engineered powerful new antimicrobial molecules from toxic proteins found in wasp venom. The team hopes to develop the molecules into new bacteria-killing drugs, an important ...

'Universal Law of Touch' Will Enable New Advances in Virtual Reality

Seismic waves, commonly associated with earthquakes, have been used by scientists to develop a universal scaling law for the sense of touch. A team used Rayleigh waves to create the first scaling law ...

Moles: Intersexual and Genetically Doped

Female moles not only have ovarian, but also testicular tissue that produces male sex hormones - which lets them diverge from the categorization into two sexes. A team describes which genetic ...

New Species of Aquatic Mice Discovered, Cousins of One of the World's Rarest Mammals

Scientists have discovered two new species of 'stilt mice,' semi-aquatic African rodents with extra-long feet that they stand up on like a kangaroo. The mice wade in streams and dip their ...

The banyan fig tree Ficus microcarpa is famous for its aerial roots, which sprout from branches and eventually reach the soil. The tree also has a unique relationship with a wasp that has coevolved ...

Zoologists Uncover New Example of Rapid Evolution -- Meet the Sulawesi Babblers

Zoologists have discovered that male and female Sulawesi Babblers (Pellorneum celebense, a species of bird) have evolved to attain different sizes on small islands, and in quick-fire time. They ...

Ants Adapt Tool Use to Avoid Drowning

Researchers have observed black imported fire ants using sand to draw liquid food out of containers, when faced with the risk of drowning. This is the first time this sophisticated tool use has been ...

Mammals Share Gene Pathways That Allow Zebrafish to Grow New Eyes

Working with fish, birds and mice, researchers report new evidence that some animals' natural capacity to regrow neurons is not missing, but is instead inactivated in ...

Paleontologists Identify New Species of Mosasaur

A new species of an ancient marine reptile evolved to strike terror into the hearts of the normally safe, fast-swimming fish has been identified, shedding light on what it took to survive in highly ...

Feline Friendly? How to Build Rap-Paw With Your Cat

A team of psychologists have discovered a new way for humans to bond with ...

Toothless Dino's Lost Digits Point to Spread of Parrot-Like Species

A newly discovered species of toothless, two-fingered dinosaur has shed light on how a group of parrot-like animals thrived more than 68 million years ...

This 'Squidbot' Jets Around and Takes Pics of Coral and Fish

Engineers have built a squid-like robot that can swim untethered, propelling itself by generating jets of water. The robot carries its own power source inside its body. It can also carry a sensor, ...

Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020