advertisement
Odd Creatures 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

One's Trash, Another's Treasure: Fertilizer Made from Urine Could Enable Space Agriculture

From the perspective of future societies, in extremely closed environments such as a space station, self-sufficiency in food cultivation and waste ...

Chance Played a Major Role in Keeping Earth Fit for Life

A study gives a new perspective on why our planet has managed to stay habitable for billions of years - concluding it is almost certainly due, at least in part, to luck. The research suggests this ...

The Moon Controls the Release of Methane in Arctic Ocean

The moon controls one of the most formidable forces in nature - the tides that shape our coastlines. Tides, in turn, significantly affect the intensity of methane emissions from the Arctic Ocean ...

Researcher Adds to Timeline of Human Evolution by Studying an Island Fox

Nearly two decades ago, a small-bodied 'human-like' fossil, Homo floresiensis, was discovered on an island in Indonesia. Some scientists have credited the find, now nicknamed 'Hobbit,' as ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:39pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

'Spooky Interactions', Shocking Adaptations Discovered in Electric Fish of Brazil's Amazon

Researchers have shown how a cave-adapted glass knifefish species of roughly 300 living members (Eigenmannia vicentespelea) has evolved from surface-dwelling relatives (Eigenmannia trilineata) that ...

Tomatoes Offer Affordable Source of Parkinson's Disease Drug

Scientists have produced a tomato enriched in the Parkinson's disease drug L-DOPA in what could become a new, affordable source of one of the world's essential ...

Researchers used millimeter-sized crystals from the 1959 eruption of Hawaii's Kilauea Volcano to test models that offer insights about flow conditions prior to and during an ...

Reversible Stickiness Is Something to Smile About

Researchers report a cross-linker for dental cement that breaks down under UV light, making treatments easier to ...

Researchers Discover Life in Deep Ocean Sediments at or Above Water's Boiling Point

Biologists found single-celled organisms living in sediments 1180 meters beneath the ocean at temperatures of 120 degrees ...

Restoring a Rudimentary Form of Vision in the Blind

Restoration of vision in blind people through a brain implant is on the verge of becoming reality. Recent discoveries show that newly developed high-resolution implants in the visual cortex make it ...

Ancient Migration Was Choice, Not Chance

The degree of intentionality behind ancient ocean migrations, such as that to the Ryukyu Islands between Taiwan and mainland Japan, has been widely debated. Researchers used satellite-tracked buoys ...

Pilot Whale Study Reveals Copycat Calls to Outsmart Predators

New research has found southern Australian long-finned pilot whales are able to mimic the calls of its natural predator and food rival - the killer whale, as a possible ploy to outsmart ...

Cluster of Alaskan Islands Could Be Single, Interconnected Giant Volcano

A small group of volcanic islands in Alaska's Aleutian chain might be part of a single, undiscovered giant volcano, say scientists. If the researchers' suspicions are correct, the newfound ...

Roly Polies Transfer Environmental Toxins to Threatened Fish Populations in California

New research finds steelhead trout in a stream on the California coast accumulate mercury in their bodies when the fish eat roly polies and similar terrestrial bugs that fall into local waterways. ...

Researchers have discovered a brain molecule that functions as a 'thermometer' for the presence of others in an animal's environment. Zebrafish 'feel' the presence of others ...

Octogenarian Snapper Found Off Australia Becomes Oldest Tropical Reef Fish by Two Decades

An 81-year-old midnight snapper caught off the coast of Western Australia has taken the title of the oldest tropical reef fish recorded anywhere in the world. The octogenarian fish was found at the ...

How Does the Spider Spin Its Self-Assembled Silk?

Researchers report on a new model for spider silk assembly. The key to spider silk 'spinning' is a combination of acidification and a process known as liquid-liquid phase separation, or ...

Keyhole Wasps May Threaten Aviation Safety

A new study finds that invasive keyhole wasps at the Brisbane Airport were responsible for instances of fully blocked replica pitot probes -- vital instruments that measure airspeed. The results ...

Ancient Blanket Made With 11,500 Turkey Feathers

New research sheds light on the production of an 800-year-old turkey feather blanket and explores the economic and cultural aspects of raising turkeys to supply feathers in the ancient ...

Scientists have discovered that young alligators have the ability to regrow their tails up to three-quarters of a foot -- about 18 percent of their total body length. The researchers speculate that ...

T. Rex Had Huge Growth Spurts, but Other Dinos Grew Slow and Steady

By cutting into dinosaur bones and analyzing the growth lines, a team of researchers discovered that T. rex and its closest relatives got big thanks to a huge growth spurt in adolescence, while its ...

Largest Aggregation of Fishes in Abyssal Deep Sea

The largest aggregation of fishes ever recorded in the abyssal deep sea was discovered by a team of oceanographers during an expedition in the Clarion Clipperton ...

Greater Glider Species Triple

Researchers analyzed the genetic make-up of the greater glider -- a possum-sized marsupial that can glide up to 100 meters. The team confirmed a long-held theory that the greater glider is actually ...

Like humans who can instantly tell which friend or relative is calling by the timbre of the person's voice, zebra finches have a near-human capacity for language ...

Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Friday, December 4, 2020
Thursday, December 3, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Monday, November 23, 2020
Saturday, November 21, 2020
Friday, November 20, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Friday, November 13, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020